We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prague Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Prague Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prague Motor Inn
6048 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This motel ended up being an excellent value and a great size for the 5 of us in our family. We had a room on the second floor of one of the "Chalets" which had 2 Queen beds, a small kitchen, table with chairs, bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a large balcony overlooking the swimming pool and river. Room is a bit dated but was clean, comfortable and large enough for 5 of us.
The proprietor, Charlie, was very friendly and welcoming.
Only thing that wasn't as advertised was the pool was not heated but the kids didn't really care!
I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Was doing a last minute search for a room for two nights for the Lake Placid Ironman and came upon an opening at the Prague. We jumped on it and we're glad we did. Yes, it's old and yes the office doesn't look too inviting BUT the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Everything worked. The pool was refreshing. The owner couldn't have been any nicer. What really made this perfect for us was the Prague is on both the bike and the run course and as a result we got to see our participant go out and back twice on the bike and out and back twice on the run. The owner told us to feel free to take the pool chairs to the front lawn to watch the event which we did. (and returned them when we were through) If you need granite countertops and a flat screen TV, this is not the place for you. If a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom and a very large living space (including full kitchen) are enough for you, give this place a try. One tiny shortcoming....bring your own shampoo. If we come back to Lake Placid for another Ironman, we'll definitely try to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wow. What a find. This is NOT a Hilton or Holiday Inn. it is a very reasonable- owner-lives here bunching of cottages and outbuildings. Our family of 5 enjoyed a spacious place with fireplace, full kitchen etc... Thank you to Charlie for the kind welcome, the firepit set up (he even left some nice long sticks when he heard we wanted to roast marshmallows!) It was very clean, wifi good. Had trouble with phones, but I think it was due to a storm. Very close to village. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were going to stay at a different property and it fell through last minute. The day before our trip I called Prague Motor Inn and booked a room for a the next day. I am so glad we found this place, it was the first call that I made. This place was perfect for us. We are simple people and do not need all the luxuries. We rented the 2 bedroom cottage w/ jacuzzi which has a full kitchen with gas range. It had everything we needed for a fair price. We brought the whole family. Myself, my wife, our 3 month old and our dog. The cottage was basically a house and it was clean and tidy. There was a fire pit in the back of the property which we took full advantage of and we also had internet access which was great. Charlie the owner was very nice to us and would setup a fire for us whenever we wanted. We had unlimited wood to burn also. The buildings may not look like much on the outside, but they fine on the inside. Do not expect a five star resort, but if you want value for your money this is the place to stay. The owner is very down to earth and was very good to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is great for any groups or just a couples weekend away. The property and owner (Charlie) are worth the stay. You can cook on grills, swim in the pool, and/or hang by a bonfire in the evening (owner supplies firewood and pit). What more could you ask for? My rugby team and I have stayed here several times and we always enjoy the trip. You are just a short walk to historic Lake Placid and many other local sights. Something different and a bit of a change from this fast paced World we live in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north pole, AK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Charles was very nice. We appreciated his hospitality. He lives on the property and that made us feel safer. Basically he lives in the front house and had his series of rooms in buildings in back that he rents out.

Yeah, 70,s but we rented his suite and it was very spacious! Huge actually especially compared to your typical hotel room. 
He Extended to us a military rate and we appreciated it.

CLEAN! Thank you!

Our suite was 2 adjoining rooms w kitchenette in the middle. Modern fridge and gas stove.
It was nice to be able to close doors for privacy if needed. 
2 beds in each room. 
 Plenty of storage space for unpacking. Fireplace well stocked w wood. 
LOVED the Water view from the room!  Beautiful woods surrounding. 
Also, room looks out directly on pool so you get to keep a perfect eye out on your children. 
Nice oversized window let's you take the entire view in. Practically like sitting right outside except in a/c room. Lol
Appreciated the use of the crib verses a pack n play. 
Highly recommend this place for a family due to the space. Bathrooms altough small, both had bathtubs and medicine cabinets. 
Large wide mantel above fireplace and right next to bathroom 1,  allowed us ample space to store additional toiletries. 
For us, having the space and view was far better than a swanky hotel. 
Very good deal! 
Great water pressure in showers. 
Tap water tastes like spring water.
Very good. 

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, VT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Sept. of 2011 for a simple weekend away. We decided on this place because the price was right and it was very near by everything we were looking to do. I had called ahead to say we would arriving late and the man who I presume to be the manager/owner was very nice and said it wasn't a problem and just to ring the doorbell when we arrived. Upon arrival, he personally showed us to our room, guiding with a flashlight. He took to the time to show us the ins and outs of the room and earlier had turned the heat on in the room (it was 20 degrees in September!) so it was nice and warm when we arrived. The room we had had 2 beds, a balcony over-looking some body of water, a newly remodeled bathroom, and complete kitchenette, which sold us completely. The decor was nothing to write home about, and the TV was tiny and old, but who goes to Lake Placid to sit in a hotel room and watch TV anyway?! Overall, it was a terrific hotel/inn experience. The room we had would be ideal for any family staying for longer than a weekend because of the kitchenette and the spacious room. If and when we come back to Lake Placid, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prague Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Motor Inn

Address: 6048 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Prague Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.