We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prague Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prague Motor Inn to your Saves list
Prague Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6048 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were going to stay at a different property and it fell through last minute. The day before our trip I called Prague Motor Inn and booked a room for a the next day. I am so glad we found this place, it was the first call that I made. This place was perfect for us. We are simple people and do not need all the luxuries. We rented the 2 bedroom cottage w/ jacuzzi which has a full kitchen with gas range. It had everything we needed for a fair price. We brought the whole family. Myself, my wife, our 3 month old and our dog. The cottage was basically a house and it was clean and tidy. There was a fire pit in the back of the property which we took full advantage of and we also had internet access which was great. Charlie the owner was very nice to us and would setup a fire for us whenever we wanted. We had unlimited wood to burn also. The buildings may not look like much on the outside, but they fine on the inside. Do not expect a five star resort, but if you want value for your money this is the place to stay. The owner is very down to earth and was very good to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is great for any groups or just a couples weekend away. The property and owner (Charlie) are worth the stay. You can cook on grills, swim in the pool, and/or hang by a bonfire in the evening (owner supplies firewood and pit). What more could you ask for? My rugby team and I have stayed here several times and we always enjoy the trip. You are just a short walk to historic Lake Placid and many other local sights. Something different and a bit of a change from this fast paced World we live in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north pole, AK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Charles was very nice. We appreciated his hospitality. He lives on the property and that made us feel safer. Basically he lives in the front house and had his series of rooms in buildings in back that he rents out.

Yeah, 70,s but we rented his suite and it was very spacious! Huge actually especially compared to your typical hotel room. 
He Extended to us a military rate and we appreciated it.

CLEAN! Thank you!

Our suite was 2 adjoining rooms w kitchenette in the middle. Modern fridge and gas stove.
It was nice to be able to close doors for privacy if needed. 
2 beds in each room. 
 Plenty of storage space for unpacking. Fireplace well stocked w wood. 
LOVED the Water view from the room!  Beautiful woods surrounding. 
Also, room looks out directly on pool so you get to keep a perfect eye out on your children. 
Nice oversized window let's you take the entire view in. Practically like sitting right outside except in a/c room. Lol
Appreciated the use of the crib verses a pack n play. 
Highly recommend this place for a family due to the space. Bathrooms altough small, both had bathtubs and medicine cabinets. 
Large wide mantel above fireplace and right next to bathroom 1,  allowed us ample space to store additional toiletries. 
For us, having the space and view was far better than a swanky hotel. 
Very good deal! 
Great water pressure in showers. 
Tap water tastes like spring water.
Very good. 

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, VT
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Sept. of 2011 for a simple weekend away. We decided on this place because the price was right and it was very near by everything we were looking to do. I had called ahead to say we would arriving late and the man who I presume to be the manager/owner was very nice and said it wasn't a problem and just to ring the doorbell when we arrived. Upon arrival, he personally showed us to our room, guiding with a flashlight. He took to the time to show us the ins and outs of the room and earlier had turned the heat on in the room (it was 20 degrees in September!) so it was nice and warm when we arrived. The room we had had 2 beds, a balcony over-looking some body of water, a newly remodeled bathroom, and complete kitchenette, which sold us completely. The decor was nothing to write home about, and the TV was tiny and old, but who goes to Lake Placid to sit in a hotel room and watch TV anyway?! Overall, it was a terrific hotel/inn experience. The room we had would be ideal for any family staying for longer than a weekend because of the kitchenette and the spacious room. If and when we come back to Lake Placid, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We just stayed the weekend and honestly, we enjoyed the stay. Charlie was very nice, very helpful and polite. We stayed in the cabin #1 with a closed bedroom and fireplace. It was very warm and cozy. We knew it was going to be a little rustic and old fashioned and we weren't disappointed.
Firewood was supplied both days and they even prepared the firewood for us while we were skiing. We had internet in our rooms and both tv's were new HDMI models however only half of the electrical sockets were grounded 3-prong.
Being a bit of a country boy, I felt comfortable in this type of room and setting but I can see how some cityfolk may have issues feeling at home here. The decor was old and the walls were wood panels/presswood. I'm sure Charlie would kick himself if I had told him that he forgot to turn on the hot water tank breaker before we checked in. I figured out what the problem was myself and flicked the switch. We were lucky we didn't need to shower right away lol
I agree that the main lobby (reception building) seems to be falling apart but that is Charlie's home. Who cares what he does there!
At the end of the day, I wanted an affordable room with a fireplace and we got it. We had a good stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This place is worth $30 a night at best. It looks like nothings been updated since the 70's. I was way overcharged, had to shorten my stay from two to one night for legitimate reasons beyond my control & owner would not give any refund; said it was because it was an internet reservation. Someone obviously needs an education in customer service & what the lack there of is costing him. As another reviewer put it the Office is creepy. The walk way wasn't even shoveled. When you go to the office at 9AM on a Saturday morning you don't expect to have to ring the doorbell and then get greeted by a disgusting old man who obviously just rolled out of bed. The room had an easily compromised single lock doorknob. The Decor is tacky to put it mildly. The bathroom had a rusted radiator, a tiny makeup mirror, no tissue, no shampoo, and of course scratchy towels. Don't give this thief your money. You'll do better at Motel 6.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on this website I was a little nervous but our room is very nice. Our room has a little balcony overlooking the pool and a pond, and you can smell the piney air and see a big mountain in the distance. The room is spacious and comfortable, with a little kitchenette with plenty of cookware. It's right near a lot of restaurants and you could walk to the downtown area from here. The pool is full of dead bugs so that wasn't so great but it was still nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Prague Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Motor Inn

Address: 6048 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Hotel Class:2 star — Prague Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Motor Inn is a family operated Inn which started in 1956 by the Lejcek family. We cater to individuals, families and small groups and are located directly in the village of Lake Placid on Route 73 just over half a mile form the Olympic arena and speed skating oval. Most Olympic venues and other popular attractions are only minutes away. We are situated on 2.5 Acres of land bordering on the Chubb River on one side and Route 73. Our landscape features mostly lawns, trees, flower gardens, a dam across the Chubb River forms a beautiful pond, which gives you a feeling of being in the country and yet we are only a minute from the Main Street. Most of our units are back from the highway and along with our pool area offer a beautiful view of the Chubb River and the Sentinel Mountain Range. During the warmer months we offer a picnic area with BBQ fire pit, which includes firewood for cookouts or just to sit around and relax and enjoy a fire outside under the White Pines. We offer comfortable up to date, quite rooms, cottages and spacious suites some with stone, wood burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, balconies and kitchenettes. We provide all linens, chambermaid service, firewood and our kitchenettes are fully furnished with refrigerators, freezers, electric ranges and ovens, microwave ovens, dinnerware, cookware, silverware, coffeemakers, and toasters. All units are fully air-conditioned, have color cable TV, phones, alarm clocks, fridge, microwaves, self-control electric heat and we are pet friendly and our large open grounds offer ample space to exercise your pet. Our only restriction is that pets not be left unattended in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Prague Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.