We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prague Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Prague Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prague Motor Inn
25 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Guilford, VT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Sept. of 2011 for a simple weekend away. We decided on this place because the price was right and it was very near by everything we were looking to do. I had called ahead to say we would arriving late and the man who I presume to be the manager/owner was very nice and said it wasn't a problem and just to ring the doorbell when we arrived. Upon arrival, he personally showed us to our room, guiding with a flashlight. He took to the time to show us the ins and outs of the room and earlier had turned the heat on in the room (it was 20 degrees in September!) so it was nice and warm when we arrived. The room we had had 2 beds, a balcony over-looking some body of water, a newly remodeled bathroom, and complete kitchenette, which sold us completely. The decor was nothing to write home about, and the TV was tiny and old, but who goes to Lake Placid to sit in a hotel room and watch TV anyway?! Overall, it was a terrific hotel/inn experience. The room we had would be ideal for any family staying for longer than a weekend because of the kitchenette and the spacious room. If and when we come back to Lake Placid, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We just stayed the weekend and honestly, we enjoyed the stay. Charlie was very nice, very helpful and polite. We stayed in the cabin #1 with a closed bedroom and fireplace. It was very warm and cozy. We knew it was going to be a little rustic and old fashioned and we weren't disappointed.
Firewood was supplied both days and they even prepared the firewood for us while we were skiing. We had internet in our rooms and both tv's were new HDMI models however only half of the electrical sockets were grounded 3-prong.
Being a bit of a country boy, I felt comfortable in this type of room and setting but I can see how some cityfolk may have issues feeling at home here. The decor was old and the walls were wood panels/presswood. I'm sure Charlie would kick himself if I had told him that he forgot to turn on the hot water tank breaker before we checked in. I figured out what the problem was myself and flicked the switch. We were lucky we didn't need to shower right away lol
I agree that the main lobby (reception building) seems to be falling apart but that is Charlie's home. Who cares what he does there!
At the end of the day, I wanted an affordable room with a fireplace and we got it. We had a good stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This place is worth $30 a night at best. It looks like nothings been updated since the 70's. I was way overcharged, had to shorten my stay from two to one night for legitimate reasons beyond my control & owner would not give any refund; said it was because it was an internet reservation. Someone obviously needs an education in customer service & what the lack there of is costing him. As another reviewer put it the Office is creepy. The walk way wasn't even shoveled. When you go to the office at 9AM on a Saturday morning you don't expect to have to ring the doorbell and then get greeted by a disgusting old man who obviously just rolled out of bed. The room had an easily compromised single lock doorknob. The Decor is tacky to put it mildly. The bathroom had a rusted radiator, a tiny makeup mirror, no tissue, no shampoo, and of course scratchy towels. Don't give this thief your money. You'll do better at Motel 6.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on this website I was a little nervous but our room is very nice. Our room has a little balcony overlooking the pool and a pond, and you can smell the piney air and see a big mountain in the distance. The room is spacious and comfortable, with a little kitchenette with plenty of cookware. It's right near a lot of restaurants and you could walk to the downtown area from here. The pool is full of dead bugs so that wasn't so great but it was still nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

There are so many folk who demand the Ritz, but will not pay the price --- but then complain they were not treated as the king and queen of complain-ville.

I've stayed here twice. Both times the rooms were clean and offered all amenities one would desire. There is a nice pool for the summer.

For the owner and proprietor, Charlie, a most thankful thanks. You made my stay most pleasant. And you allowed me to shower, past check out, after a race, when you had already cleaned the room. Small business focused on customer needs at its best!

For you folk used to a chain or the Ritz, you are not welcome. This is not a chain; this is a small business. Enjoy being treated as a person; not simply as yet another of the "unwashed" masses by a chain hotel where no one cares about you because staff only work there at low wages.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

The reviews were so mixed for this facility that we didn't quite know what to expect, but the other half wanted a wood-burning fireplace and it limited where we could go. Also wanted to take the dog for a change and not worry about him disturbing anyone if he barked, so the cottage was perfect. It was the same price as a nice hotel room in the center of town, but those didn't have the fireplaces nor the pet friendliness.

Charlie the owner was very cordial when we made reservations on the phone. We had none of the problems stated here, which seemed to be more with Priceline and its ilk than with this facility.

Minuses: If you want elegance, this isn't a quaint B&B-decorated cottage. The word "rustic" pretty much describes it. The kitchen is separated by bare plywood-type material and the decor is minimal/functional. We were there two nights but there was no maid service - probably because we were in the cottage??? (We were supplied with more than enough towels etc....). Buildings are nicely kept up from the front, but behind tend to be a bit tatterdemalion, if that sort of thing bothers you. Aforementioned towels are sandpapery (washcloths ok). Soap is supplied, and a wall-mounted hair dryer (surprise) but no other amenities...not a biggie. Some water damage on bathroom wall in cottage and a bit of rust on baseboard heat. Not close to downtown (if you want to walk).

Pluses: The place is clean; all fixtures in bathroom look brand new. Kitchen has all appliances including coffeemaker, microwave, toaster, stove and fridge, all very clean. Cookware and dishes are more than sufficient, Water pressure in bathroom shower is reminiscent of Seinfeld episode with the elephant shower - it'll blow you away! Hot water comes up fast and there is plenty of it. Cottage is plenty big and fireplace is wonderful. Wood, newspaper, matches supplied. Beds comfortable. In season, lovely flowers in windowboxes (big magenta geraniums finished up the season when we were there). Property overlooks a dammed river - very nice; has a walk to a little grove and a firepit; there is a charcoal grill under two towering pines. Charlie was a very up guy and very nice. Free wi-fi, good tv's and cable. Other half threw himself into the easy chair and exclaimed, "With the fire going and the ball games on in this easy chair, isn't this great?" Pet friendly as I said (and no extra charge for the dog, unlike most places).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We have been coming to this motel for many years and enjoy the cottage very much. The rooms are clean, comfortable and we enjoy the quiet surroundings. There is a beautiful veiw of the river and mountains. You are able to walk downtown; enjoy an ice cream and still walk it off!! The host, Charlie, treats us like family!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prague Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Motor Inn

Address: 25 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Prague Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.