We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews were WRONG!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Northwoods Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Johnstown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The reviews were WRONG!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After reading reviews (of course, after I had made my reservation) I almost changed my reservation but I'm so glad I didn't. The hotel is going through renovations but still it was very clean and nice. You can tell this hotel has been there a long time and the location couldn't be beat! Right on Main Street in Lake Placid, this hotel features a southern style bar & grill called the Delta Blue which is really nice & accomodating. The hotel also has a breakfast spot, but since we were visiting during an "off season" it wasn't open. The rate we received for the hotel was really great. We had a king suite overlooking the downtown & Mirror Lake, that had a small kitchenette, which included a stove/oven, sink, refrigerator and all the needs you'd have to cook and serve food in this room. The bedroom even had doors for extra privacy. Excellent value and a nice clean room. I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    62
    56
    55
    75
See reviews for
86
112
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Before my husband and I went to Lake Placid I read all the reviews for this hotel (I almost changed my reservation) But I have to say this time the reviews were wrong! Since it was kind of the "off season" the rates were very low so I couldn't resist, the hotel was more then I expected! It was a bit run down,but in a great location, rooms were very clean and large and the bed was very comfortable! I got a great nights sleep. The man that greeted us (John) was very nice! I asked to switch rooms because I wanted a balcony and he gave me just what I wanted! (thank you John) A great band was playing downstairs in the restaurant. We really did have a great time! I would go back again and again! I think we found our new hotel in Placid!

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the lake, but the back rooms with a balcony seem bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

But it's not funny. The rooms, halls and elevator reminded us of a men's college dorm that had been thoroughly trashed. Dirty, ripped up carpeting, (very) used furniture, paper thin walls through which one can hear everything. I've never paid money to spend the night in a place like this. After driving 5 hours to Lake Placid for a funeral, my husband wanted to drive another 5 hours to return home rather than spending the night there. We were so tired we eventually relented. But we couldn't wait to leave. All in all, an outrage that not even it's good location makes up for. There are SO many choices in Lake Placid. No reason to subject yourself to this. I wish I had taken a photo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I love Lake Placid, and we really needed a getaway, so Lake Placid was an easy choice for us. We always stay at the Northwoods Inn. I love this classic hotel for so many reasons, one of which is the location! There is no better location in Lake Placid. Period. It's right on Main Street, right in the middle of LP's main drag. You won't need your car if you stay here. You just park your car -- the hotel has its own free parking lot -- and walk.

We happened to be in town on the weekend of the NCAA Div. III hockey championships, and my alma mater, SUNY Oswego, was in the finals! So we were able to watch two hockey games for $50 (for two tix) and walk back to our hotel room. Perfect.

We were on the fifth floor, so our views of Mirror Lake were magnificent! We overlooked the lake and Main Street, so it's fun to people watch when your eyes aren't glued to the lake or the mountains. The view is stunning in the summer, when the lake isn't snow covered, like it was the weekend we were there.

The rooms are roomy -- they have a good-sized refrigerator, a stove, dishes, cups and whatever you need if you wanted to cook in. There's also a couch and a chair in that room that you can lounge on if you want.

What's nice is the kitchen/eating area is separate from the bed area, which can be closed off with doors. We had an amazing king-sized Tempur Pedic mattress that I fell in love with and slept like a rock on. Our room was clean, comfortable, and close enough for us to get back to if we wanted to take a midday break after exploring LP.

The Northwoods Inn isn't the Ritz or the Waldorf, so if you're looking for five-star elegance, go stay somewhere else. I love the Northwoods Inn because of its history -- it was built in 1926 and played host to stars such as George Burns and Kate Smith -- and its unpretentious charm.

Everyone was very polite and helpful, including the hotel's owner, who sat down and chatted with us in the lobby.

Sunday was St. Patrick's Day, so we went down to the hotel's restaurant, Delta Blue, to hear an Irish band that was playing. The place was pretty packed and everyone was having a great time, us included. The band was excellent. So was the food, which had a New Orleans theme. I had a blackened shrimp po'boy that was delicious! And the prices are reasonable, which is always a good thing. The restaurant is also a bar after 9 p.m. and they have live music on the weekends, which we love.

If you're looking for convenience, some of the best views of Mirror Lake and the mountains, and the perfect location, check out The Northwoods Inn. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Northwoods Inn has going for it THE best location in all of Lake Placid, right on Main Street in the middle of the strip. It has it's own free parking, some beautiful views of Mirror Lake and Whiteface Mountain. What this place doesn't have going for it is a clean, comfortable atmosphere. First, the public areas, aside from the main lobby, are old and run down. Walking up the stairs and down the hall you get the feel of walking through a low income tenament. The rooms are old and run down as well. The couch and carpet had multiple stains. The wall paper was peeling off. The drywall needed some patch work. The bathroom was somewhat moldy and took a good 20 minutes before the shower was warm enough to get in. If you want to have a night on the town and be able to have a short walk to your hotel, save a few bucks and can get past the dirty rundown feel, then this is the place. If you can't look past the 1970s paint job and stains everywhere, move onto another hotel.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a balcony room. You overlook the back alley parking lot and have flood lights shining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently returned from a weekend stay at this hotel in the quaint village of Lake Placid. I have to say it is the worst hotel my family and I have ever stayed in. The hotel has a great location, right in the middle of town on Main Street, so it is very convenient. The rooms are large. But that's about all it has going for it. Doesn't look as if there have been any updates/upgrades in about 20 years. It's very shabby. Even an investment in paint would go a long way - our bathroom door was a door that only had the original prime paint on it from the factory. Heating in the rooms are provided by a air conditioner that is set to the heat mode. It pumps out heat, while simultaneously allowing a cold draft from the frigid Adirondack air to seep through the unit. The breakfast buffet was fair. The hotel and restaurant staff appear to be awkward and reluctant in their service roles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We needed a weekend away and wanted to enjoy some outdoor winter activites. We arrived at the hotel and check-in went quick and easy. We went up to our room and were pleasently suprised by the size of the room and the private baclony. the locatrion was perfect, it was right on main street and we were able to park our car and walk to anywhere we wanted to go. We ended up eating at the Delta Blue Grill downstairs and having some cocktails. The staff was extremely friendly and the atmosphere of the hotel was great. You could tell everyone was exicited to escape life for a few days and relax. I will surely be returning.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Address: 2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwoods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwoods Inn is situated on Main Street, a short walk to the Olympic Arena and Oval, public beach, numerous restaurants, movie theater, and quaint shops of Lake Placid. The hotel offers a sidewalk cafe, two restaurants and "The Cabin," a warm and cozy fireplace bar overlooking Main Street. Our rooftop bar offers a majestic view of the entire town plus the High Peaks and Whiteface Mountain. The breakfasts and our gourmet burgers have been voted "The best in Lake Placid." The Northwoods Inn is an all suite hotel and includes extended stay suites with kitchenettes with affordable rates. Our lakeside rooms offer spectacular views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack mountains. All other rooms have balconies where guests can sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV and separate sitting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.