We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable accomodations for skiing at nearby Whiteface Mountain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn

Save Saved
You added Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Northwoods Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Acceptable accomodations for skiing at nearby Whiteface Mountain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Individual room heaters kept us cozy in the near 0 degrees F weather. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and generally good. Elevators were very old and cramped but functional. Room was pretty large- little kitchenette and separate bedroom. Small bathroom. All dated but okay. Location for visiting Lake Placid was excellent- right in the heart of Main Street- numerous restaurants, movie theater and shops all in walking distance. Dogsleds on nearby Mirror Lake. Extremely comfortable memory foam mattresses.

9 miles to Whiteface Mountain- our group had our own shuttle, but local free hourly service is also available. 1980 Olympic buildings etc. are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors avoid the bar sounds from the first floor lounge (live music)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    46
    48
    66
See reviews for
77
101
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel has a good location, right in the middle of Lake Placid. I stayed as part of a ski club trip. The staff was friendly, but the rooms need a freshening up (paint, carpet, counters, bedding, etc.). The rooms were generally clean. The parking is limited, but I was able to find a space. If you are looking for a lower priced option, the hotel will work for you. Do not expect brand new bathrooms or flat panel televisions. I have stayed at other hotels in Lake Placid with similar locations that were nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Main Street. You will get a better view. I had a room on the parking lot side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel has a great location--right in the center of town. The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous.

My recommendations: AVOID staying here during weekends or when there are a lot of other guests in the hotel or in town. There can be a lot of noise coming from other rooms and floors. Plus, there can be a lack of hot water in some rooms due to the demand of many other guests.

I'd suggest that the hotel have more procedures in place to deal with the noise level and partying that goes on in guests' rooms. HALL patrol and/or a place in the hotel for the younger crowd to hang out and listen to their own music RATHER than in their small hotel rooms.

I'd suggest that each and every guest/room occupant PAY a cash deposit for security that will be returned if that guest/room OBSERVES the hotel quiet hours of 11 pm - 7 a.m. MANY MANY guests don't care about observing hotel quiet hours. I called the front desk numerous times to have them deal with noisy neighbors. The front desk did respond, but I lost so much sleeping time.


HIRE a HALL/Room Patrol security officer to enforce quiet hours and for the sake of the guests WHO do want to sleep at night.

The hotel was very very busy with guests.

We did enjoy the band in the bar and the lively atmosphere in the bar area.

We would like to return, but not on the weekends.

Room Tip: Away from groups who are there to stay awake and party all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Was there with a ski club, rooms had clearly not been cleaned in a long time. My bathtub actually had pink mold in the tub, other friends bathrooms were full of hair. The photos must be very old, our room had no headboard (but still had the holes in the wall where it was mounted). It was freezing and we had to use the supplied spaceheater. When my bed was made the actually just left my stuff in the bed and made it over.
I am ok with shabby, but not with dirty. Hopefully they will address.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwoodsInn2011, Owner at Northwoods Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Marge, thank you for your most recent visit to Lake Placid and the Northwoods Inn. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations and, from what it sounds like, our own high standards. We are working diligently to begin a massive renovation that I think you will be very happy with and invite you to continue to check back with us as we continue to improve. All the best, Garrick Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel recently. We read all the 'reviews' prior to staying. We think how you rate the hotel depends on the type of traveler you are. The hotel is more suited for snowboarding/skiing/hiking groups or college friends on an inexpensive budget then families. For us, the hotel was booked as part of a package deal. Best thing about the hotel is its location in the center of town where you can walk to everything very easily. The staff was friendly. House cleaning crew normally were on the floor by 9:00am. The food was served buffet style. Some of it was good, some of it below average. The food in the bar/pub downstairs was overall better. The bar/restaurant is lively with a pool table, flat screen,, and music. Some good looking chicks came in from time to time as well, as did a few ski bunnies. The hotel is older, they give you room keys to use and not an electronic swipe card. The rooms are small. There are smoking and non-smoking rooms which son't seem to make sense. non smoking rooms should be the standard rule. The closets are small. You really don't want to hang out in your room, feels to enclosed. The elevators are small. The showers and bathrooms are small. The soap bar is small. There is no dryer in the room or ice machine on the floor. The water pressure in the shower is average to below average. We stayed on the 4th floor and you can definitely hear the music from the bar band late at night, up through to the 6th floor. You can also hear the noise on the street as well. The hotel needs to be modernized, right now is more suited for college kids on a trip w low budget in mind.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower level and not above the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwoodsInn2011, Owner at Northwoods Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Gerald,

Thank you for the very thorough review. We appreciate the constructive feedback, particularly as we move closer toward our major renovation. We hope to see you back soon. Warm regards, Garrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Northwoods. We chose it because the location is so convenient to the restaurants, shops, and the Olympic Center. We stayed for two nights at the end of December. Yes, it's old and the decor is somewhat tired, but this time we had a suite with a kitchenette on the fifth floor overlooking beautiful Mirror Lake, and snowy Main Street was all lit up for the holidays. Although we were near the elevator and the hotel seemed quite full, our room was quiet. There was plenty of room for all our heavy winter gear and lots of closet space for storage. The bed was very comfortable, and extra pillows made it even better. It was nice to start the day with breakfast right downstairs without having to go out in the cold.

From our prior stay, we know the parking area is very tight and usually full, but since we do a lot of walking while we're there, we park once and leave the car until we're ready to leave. I realize that may not be possible for some, so expect a tight squeeze when you park.

Checking in and out was quick and the staff were friendly and helpful, both in the hotel and the restaurant.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a good view and I think they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid
Address: 2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwoods Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwoods Inn is situated on Main Street, a short walk to the Olympic Arena and Oval, public beach, numerous restaurants, movie theater, and quaint shops of Lake Placid. The hotel offers a sidewalk cafe, two restaurants and "The Cabin," a warm and cozy fireplace bar overlooking Main Street. Our rooftop bar offers a majestic view of the entire town plus the High Peaks and Whiteface Mountain. The breakfasts and our gourmet burgers have been voted "The best in Lake Placid." The Northwoods Inn is an all suite hotel and includes extended stay suites with kitchenettes with affordable rates. Our lakeside rooms offer spectacular views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack mountains. All other rooms have balconies where guests can sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV and separate sitting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.