We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn

Save Saved
You added Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northwoods Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Baldwinsville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed October 22-25, 2012 and was our thrid time at hotel. This time our room was 523. Never had problem staying here. First, the mattress was so comfortable that we had the best night sleep in years. Second, great location. Third, friendly bartenders in the Delta Blue, particularly on October 22. Have not seen Abita beer since our trips to New Orleans. DElat Blues has it on draft and bottle. Speaking of the Delta Blues, great blues music in the background and a menu that consists of some southern New Orleans meals. We go to New Orleans 2-3 times a year and would love to see Jambalaya, Red Beans and Rice, Fried Oyster Po-Boys added to the menu. We would love to see a Mardi Grass night with classic NOLA food, drinks and music.

We can't believe the negative reviews seen here. Look, this hotel is not the Hilton, Sheraton or Mariott. It's hotel with character, history and good value. The rooms are clean. Again, comfortable bed. The service was great. We never had problems parking in the lot.

We will be back in March 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    49
    49
    68
See reviews for
77
102
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Dated, dingy rooms, worn and tired lobby. Furniture in room is dirty and stained as is carpeting. Pitch a tent or sleep in your car instead of staying here; you will be happier. If you must stay,( we were placed here by Can/Am tournament) bring lots of Clorox wipes. Positive note, staff is very nice and mattresses very comfortable, but the property is terrible. Will not ever stay here again. Three star rating for this place is three stars too generous.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great weekend in Lake Placid. The hotel was terrific and really treated us well. The staff could not have been nicer and were very accommodating to our kids. We've been going to the other hotels for years and this was our first time at Northwoods. The food was great and we loved the new lounge. We will definitely recommend coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Old, smelly, dirty, small rooms. If you must stay, bring own linens, toiletries, pillows, air freshener. The food included in the 'Tournament Silver Package' was less than cafeteria quality. Staff was friendly. Best location good for hockey arena, shops and restaurant. Parking availability can be a challenge. With money and rennovation, this place could be a gold mine.

Room Tip: Place to stay if all you want is cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwoodsInn2011, Manager at Northwoods Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

Customer feedback is important to us which is why we actively solicit guest comments throughout the entire stay, in this case specifically, through a CanAm Experience comment card, delivered to each room requesting feedback about the food & beverage experience as well. This weekend we received over 30 responses!

While there were a few constructive comments regarding the age of the property, we were consistantly rated as clean. The food and beverage offering was also ranked very high, with a few good, but mostly excellent scores with several positive comments on the variety and the freshness. I believe that your assessment was unfair and according to the other reviews, did not reflect the opinions of all the others.

On a positive note, I felt very fortunate during the weekend to get to know several of the other parents from your team, who incidentally had very positive experiences. I wish the tournament had gone better for the players' recordwise and am sure however that their experience in Lake Placid will be positive one that they'll never forget. I wish them success throughout the rest of the season.

Regards, Garrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here October 5 & 6, 2012. I was forewarned about what we might be encountering by reading the many many reviews of this hotel so we came somewhat prepared. All of the reviews were spot on!!! We brought our own pillows, a hair dryer, a strong candle and our own towels. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a "semi" view of the lake. The room is definitely outdated and needs major renovation. The carpet was old with many pulls and tears in it - as well as stains. The TV was probably from the 1990's, but not a huge deal for me and the least of my concerns. The couch was old, stained. There was no hair dryer (as noted - I came prepared but still can't believe that one is not provided), the toiletries were minimal (a mini bar of soap and shampoo - thats it). The toilet was somewhat disconnected from the wall so everytime you "stood up" it slammed against the wall. The spout in the tub was also somewhat detached from the wall. The showerhead was clogged and water was shooting everywhere. The worst part of the bathroom was the many many hairs that were all over from previous guests - just gross and unnecessary. There is no full length mirror and whats funny is there is plenty of wall space for one as there is not one thing hung on the wall (what a shame that they don't show off beautiful lake placid with some local artwork). The bed was ok - a foam mattress - nothing spectacular. The windows open, but no screens. The ac/heating unit was old and dirty (I was sorry that I looked in the vent). I know that some posters noted renovations are underway, but there is not one indication that this is the case. The parking is very limited - good luck getting a spot if you show up later at night. Also if you have a large vehicle it can be challenging. If you don't want to hear the wonderful music from the venue below - Delta Blue - don't stay here because on weekends the music goes until at least midnight and you WILL hear it. We loved that part : ). I do need to mention though that the staff were very friendly and accomodating. I don't know why they don't use the beautiful room that is adjacent to the check in desk. It would have been SO nice to sit by a fire in the beautiful fireplace in this room as well as have a cup of coffee or tea. I'm assuming the room is for special events, but why not make the most of what you've got. Same for the "lobby" area. It is beautiful and spacious but not utilized AT ALL. I think that this place probably realizes that they do not need to make any changes because of the location and the fact that there is so much going on in Lake Placid all of the time that they will be a capacity most if not all of the time (why dump money into a place when you don't have to).

I wish I had the money to refurbish this place because could be amazing and the location is perfect. Gordon Ramsey would have a field day with this place! We would go back here if the place gets updated, but I'm not holding my breath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor - possibly a refurbished one (but I think they are limited). If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwoodsInn2011, Owner at Northwoods Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear cab1002,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Northwoods Inn and for recognizing the extraordinary potential of our hotel. I am glad that I had the opportunity to meet you during your stay in Delta Blue and regret that I wasn’t able to help create a more positive outcome for your stay. To share a little of our history, we purchased this Lake Placid landmark in 2005 with the sole intention of creating a one of a kind destination in one of the greatest little towns in a spectacular part of the world.

At the time of purchase, the hotel had already seen many years of financial difficulties, but we believe in the project and even more so, the surrounding community it could help support. From its inception, our goal was to stabilize the business through more sound operational management, improve the infrastructure through larger capital improvement projects such as new elevators, new property management systems, hot water delivery systems, telephone systems, wi-fi. (just to name a few), and create local and regional champions. We also listened. We actively polled our guests, many of which are world class athletes and found out what was most important to them. Overwhelmingly the response was a great night sleep and every mattress in every room is a Swedish made deluxe Tempurpedic mattress.

In just two short years, and a few hundreds of thousands of dollars in private investment and cash flow, we felt we were in a position to attract the capital needed to complete a substantial renovation. As you may recall however, a recession of unprecedented proportion hit this country and borrowing money was near impossible. This turn in events however forced us to get creative in order to ride out this slump and shift our immediate focus to providing clean, safe and friendly accommodations at an affordable rate which can allow many more people the opportunity to experience all that Lake Placid has to offer.

Our original goal however has not changed, although the process has taken a little longer. We are very aware of our shortcomings but conversely, our strengths. While we do not have the newest product in the market, our housekeeping and maintenance team are 100% committed to providing a clean product that is in good working order. Because of this commitment, these negative reviews, however constructive, are very difficult to swallow as our team works so hard to deliver a positive experience for every guest. I am happy that you had the opportunity to meet many of them during your stay. While some of the items we can’t control (yet), the hairs you found in your bathroom is very much within our control and I can assure you that measures are being taken to minimize and or alleviate such missteps.

As far as the owner’s not caring, this simply is not true. We work it from the ground every single day, trying to make repeat customers, of which we have made many. We’re sorry we did not create another raving fan in you, but are very proud of how far we’ve come and look forward to an even greater future, one that I hope you will come back to experience. On a positive note, we are in the process of seeking capital investment through a number of sources and will finish the job we’ve started.

Owner and General Manager,

Garrick Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you want to be right in the heart of Lake Placid, this is the place. Walk right out the front door onto the main street and go in either direction for great shopping and great eateries. We were on the 6th floor with a beautiful lake and mountain view. The efficiency kitchen came in handy as we were traveling with a toddler and the mattress was extra comfy. The bathroom appeared to be recently updated and sparkling clean.Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for lake view and the higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

One of the nicest things about this hotel is its location. It is situated right in the heart of Lake Placid and is within easy walking distance to many awesome restaurants and shops, not to mention the Olympic Complex and speed skating arena. In addition there is plenty of off-street parking behind the hotel with easy access to the lobby. Our room was a king size bed kitchenette lake-view. It was very cozy with a beautiful view overlooking Mirror Lake and the surrounding mountains. The bed was an extremely comfortable Tempurpedic mattress. The room was very clean, although the lack of window screens meant we couldn't keep the windows open. All of the hotel staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful. On the downside, the hotel and its furnishings are a little outdated. The elevators and rooms could definitely use a little modernization. Aside from the outdated appearance I can't think of anything bad to say about the accomodations at the Northwood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Address: 2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwoods Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwoods Inn is situated on Main Street, a short walk to the Olympic Arena and Oval, public beach, numerous restaurants, movie theater, and quaint shops of Lake Placid. The hotel offers a sidewalk cafe, two restaurants and "The Cabin," a warm and cozy fireplace bar overlooking Main Street. Our rooftop bar offers a majestic view of the entire town plus the High Peaks and Whiteface Mountain. The breakfasts and our gourmet burgers have been voted "The best in Lake Placid." The Northwoods Inn is an all suite hotel and includes extended stay suites with kitchenettes with affordable rates. Our lakeside rooms offer spectacular views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack mountains. All other rooms have balconies where guests can sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV and separate sitting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.