We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Northwoods Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

I had read several negative reviews and was very hesitant but called and made a reservation requesting one of the re-modeled king rooms. We were pleasantly surprised by a nice room on the 5th floor with a separate sitting room and large double room bathroom. The downtown location was nice as we shopped, ate and went to the movie theater. We woke early to a beautiful sunrise over Lake Placid and had an incredible breakfast in the restaurant downstairs - we were the only people in the restaurant.

  • Liked — Nice 5th floor rooms with great view
  • Disliked — Nothing negative
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    54
    51
    73
See reviews for
81
108
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

The room was large and clean, if somewhat barren. You have to ask for a hair dryer. Parking can be difficult in the evening, since they share a parking lot, but I always managed to find a space. No internet access in the rooms, but good wi-fi in the lobby. The location on Main Street is very convenient. The TempurPedic bed was passable. I will probably stay here again due to location and price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevator
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

The lack of competent management and poor room quality is what best describes this hotel. We booked our reservation through American Express Travel and the hotel did not honor the reservation as it was made. First off, the hotel attempted to pawn off a cheaper room to us. We were supposed to have a lake view suite, and we had a view of a brick wall. When we confronted management about this, they admitted they did indeed give us the wrong room but would adjust our room rate. This was never done. In fact, they overcharged us even beyond what our original reservation was quoted at (with the better room). When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, they attempted to do an adjustment, however it still came out to higher than our original reservation. I have never seen such incompetence. After returning from our trip, we called the hotel again for the proper adjustment. Management has yet to return our phone calls. Additionally, the condition of the room was poor- there were cracked tiles in the bathroom, no hot water for a shower, and holes in the blankets. When we attempted to put the heater on one night, we thought the room was on fire it smelled so bad. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

The Northwoods Inn is a very old building in the heart of Lake Placid's Main Street. Being in the middle of town is great, being old can have its problems. Our room looked out over Main Street, which was nice. Having a door that didn't quite close to its frame, no door on the closet, and curtains that wanted to gap wasn't as nice, hence the rustic lead in. The room was fairly clean. There was only 1 working elevator, not so good if you are handicapped. I think this is a great place to stay if you are in Lake Placid to ski all day and just need a place to crash.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Building has settled, leaving doors not meeting frames
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Location of this hotel was wonderful - right on the main street and seconds away from the lake. Only the higher up rooms will have a view of the lake and only on one side.
Our room was 79$ - it was obviously a nice place a long time ago but is now very tired and desperately in need of decoration and maintenance eg lights not working,holes in wall not repaired, flaking paintwork, dirty carpets. They do have tempurpedic mattresses but the base on my bed was broken - the money for these mattresses would be better spent on paint and plaster.
It was okay for one night - but not for any longer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs upgrading
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Booked reservation, 2 nights, $79.00 per. When I checked out paid bill, received receipt. Bill was under 200.00 no red flag.A couple weeks went by, lost reciept. Credit card showed $302.35 charged. Have been trying unseccessfully for 2 weeks to get some answers. Won't return my calls. Very unprofessional. Beware.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of management
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

As a part of the Summitt Lacrosse Tournament, Ohio Wesleyan University had a group of alumni who stayed at the Northwoods. We were in lovely suites, which had recently been renovated, on the sixth floor. The view was spectacular, and we had all the amenities we needed. The location was superb, and the service was tremendous. We were very well taken care of by all of the staff. Our university also hosted a rooftop party on a Saturday evening at the Northwoods. It was, by far, the best venue for a gathering in LP that we've utilized in the 7 years that we've been participating in the tournament. The food was excellent, and the view was breathtaking. I would definitely return to the Northwoods, and recommend it highly to others.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Address: 2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwoods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwoods Inn is situated on Main Street, a short walk to the Olympic Arena and Oval, public beach, numerous restaurants, movie theater, and quaint shops of Lake Placid. The hotel offers a sidewalk cafe, two restaurants and "The Cabin," a warm and cozy fireplace bar overlooking Main Street. Our rooftop bar offers a majestic view of the entire town plus the High Peaks and Whiteface Mountain. The breakfasts and our gourmet burgers have been voted "The best in Lake Placid." The Northwoods Inn is an all suite hotel and includes extended stay suites with kitchenettes with affordable rates. Our lakeside rooms offer spectacular views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack mountains. All other rooms have balconies where guests can sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV and separate sitting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.