We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but interior is tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Northwoods Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location but interior is tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Location of this hotel was wonderful - right on the main street and seconds away from the lake. Only the higher up rooms will have a view of the lake and only on one side.
Our room was 79$ - it was obviously a nice place a long time ago but is now very tired and desperately in need of decoration and maintenance eg lights not working,holes in wall not repaired, flaking paintwork, dirty carpets. They do have tempurpedic mattresses but the base on my bed was broken - the money for these mattresses would be better spent on paint and plaster.
It was okay for one night - but not for any longer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs upgrading
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    54
    51
    73
See reviews for
81
108
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Booked reservation, 2 nights, $79.00 per. When I checked out paid bill, received receipt. Bill was under 200.00 no red flag.A couple weeks went by, lost reciept. Credit card showed $302.35 charged. Have been trying unseccessfully for 2 weeks to get some answers. Won't return my calls. Very unprofessional. Beware.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of management
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

As a part of the Summitt Lacrosse Tournament, Ohio Wesleyan University had a group of alumni who stayed at the Northwoods. We were in lovely suites, which had recently been renovated, on the sixth floor. The view was spectacular, and we had all the amenities we needed. The location was superb, and the service was tremendous. We were very well taken care of by all of the staff. Our university also hosted a rooftop party on a Saturday evening at the Northwoods. It was, by far, the best venue for a gathering in LP that we've utilized in the 7 years that we've been participating in the tournament. The food was excellent, and the view was breathtaking. I would definitely return to the Northwoods, and recommend it highly to others.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Northwoods Inn, but there were some problems. There were only a few rooms being used while we were there, but we had booked a king size bed but did not get one, and since there were 4 of us, we were using the pull-out sofa. The sheets we were given for the sofa were for a single bed and would not fit. The blankets for the sofa were full of holes, but we attributed this to being folded up continually in the bed. We had to leave notes for the housekeeping staff to leave enough towels and washcloths because they kept leaving only 2 of everything. We booked the room partly because it had a balcony, but although we could see it out the bedroom window, there was no way to get to it. When we did encounter problems and went to speak to someone, they were always helpful and apologetic. The hotel is undergoing renovations and it looks like it might be a wonderful place to stay in a couple of years. We would definitely stay there again, but we might wait until the renovations are closer to being completed. The mattress on the bed (not the sofa bed) was very comfortable, and the kitchenette was lovely and well-stocked. We were a little afraid to eat in the hotel after our initial impression, but we did have lunch there on the last day. The food was wonderful and the restaurant was attractive and we wished we had eaten there sooner.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Not really ready for guests until renovations completed.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

The room smelled like there had been water damage. It was mildew mixed with sewage and the odor got worse with time. That is probably why it smelled like a strong cleaning aerosol when we arrived...to cover the stink. There was also a hole in my tub, so I couldn't take a bath after camping for two days. The service was just not there either. I waited over 10 minutes to be helped, even though the front desk personal was just typing into the computer 1.5 feet from me and I was the only customer. I understand being busy, but he didn't even say Hi or I will be right with you. Then he argued with the housekeeping manager right in front of me. When I was acknowledged, he said something to the effect of...do you need something. Lastly, the night front desk person would not assist a friend who couldn't remember what room we were staying in. She asked if he could let us know she was there and he said he couldn't leave the desk, yet nobody was around when she got there. I think that this hotel has a great location, but the service needs severe improvement and the building needs basic upkeep. For the price of over $140 on a weekend, the price needs to be much lower as I have had a better stay at a Super 8 motel. I hate to give bad reviews, but I would suggest looking at other places to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room/Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

I stayed here for the Marathon and made the trip a week vacation with my boyfriend..We were delighted when we had a beautiful view of mirror lake in our hotel room!!
Yes this is a historical town and this hotel did burn down but they are trying there best to make it a great place to stay.
We did have trouble checking in though.,.they said our room would be ready after 3 and didn't get into our room until 430pm..also the restaurant downstairs it took us way too long to get service that we walked out..
The people here are very friendly and if you are adventurous and plan on doing things outdoors the whole time then this is a place to stay..its cheap and right in the heart of main street! I will surely book again here!!!!!

  • Liked — The view, the mattress was very comfortable!! and the location!!
  • Disliked — the restaurant, and the internet access could be better
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

My boyfriend and I wanted to spend a quiet weekend away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives and stumbled upon the Northwoods Inn. Let me begin with the most memorable, and perhaps hardest to forget, the night sleep. We honestly have never had a better nights sleep. The beds had TEMPUR-PEDIC mattresses!!!!!.


We are always hesitant about eating at “hotel” restaurants but decided to take the advice from the girl at the front desk who raved about it. We split the brie appetizer, (which was heavenly, by the way) with a bottle of wine. I ordered the sea scallops, while my boyfriend was a little more adventurous and ordered the Buffalo off of the “Guide’s Choice” menu. Can I just say, our server Tiffany was the best. We were told that all of the wines were handpicked by the owner as the best value wines available and all of them were $20. How can you beat that?!?!?

After dinner, we went upstairs to The Cabin and met Lauren, the bartender. After a relaxing evening in front of the cabin bar fireplace, we literally crashed. If you’re looking for a quick getaway, I would highly recommend the Northwoods Inn for any couple in need of a quiet getaway. Northwoods certainly was not the nicest place we’ve ever stayed, but it was very clean and the staff could not have been friendlier. We have to go there more often.

  • Liked — The Beds and the dinner..YUM!
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Address: 2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwoods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwoods Inn is situated on Main Street, a short walk to the Olympic Arena and Oval, public beach, numerous restaurants, movie theater, and quaint shops of Lake Placid. The hotel offers a sidewalk cafe, two restaurants and "The Cabin," a warm and cozy fireplace bar overlooking Main Street. Our rooftop bar offers a majestic view of the entire town plus the High Peaks and Whiteface Mountain. The breakfasts and our gourmet burgers have been voted "The best in Lake Placid." The Northwoods Inn is an all suite hotel and includes extended stay suites with kitchenettes with affordable rates. Our lakeside rooms offer spectacular views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack mountains. All other rooms have balconies where guests can sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV and separate sitting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.