We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6034 Sentinel Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice little Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spruce Lodge B&B is located just off the main street in Lake Placid village.

Pros:-
The lodge overall is very clean, nice sized rooms and spacious bathrooms.
Good parking space
Peaceful & Convenient

Cons:-
Little away from all the hustle and bustle of the Main St. in Lake Placid
Breakfast is served from 8:00 AM as compared to hotels where it starts from 6:00 - 7:00.
We had to leave early morning, so could not have breakfast.

Overall a good value for money, will definitely book again for Lake Placid.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a Queen bed and 2 bunk beds, i.e. sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Be very careful. All the pictures shown here are for the newer buildings. I had reserved a room with one queen overlooking their pond. They had been quite nice on the phone. I had notified them of my late arrival - 8:30PM and was told that wouldn't be a problem. When I arrived the 'only' room available was right off the main reception area. The main reception area is one big room that includes the small reception desk, sitting area, dining table and it looked like that opened to a kitchen beyond. It didn't spell any privacy at all. There were 3 twin beds in a tight space and overlapping each other, no dressers and certainly no view. They tried to tell me that was the room that I had reserved. I had made the reservations through a travel provider on line and if it wasn't for them I wouldn't have been reimbursed for the whole amount of the two night stay. I had been a bit hesitant to pay the whole amount upfront and you can be sure I won't again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for three nights when visiting the Adirondacks region.
The Inn is well situated at the entrance of rhe village,some blocks from the main street, but with easy parking,even being there when the CanAm games took place.
The room was simple and comfortable in a country style setting.The included breakfast was more than enough to start the day.Excellent WIFI.
The owner was nice talking to and helpful.
Most of the guests staying then(July) were,like us, foreign visitors, making the breakfast table a very enjoyable experience.
Good value for the money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Spruce Lodge is a nice old house right on the main road into Lake Placid (which is filled with 1980 Winter Olympics venues). I arrived at midnight and the door was open and a note told me which room to go to. My room (in the main house) was large, with a separate bathroom. It felt like being at home-- so comfortable. I slept well (super quiet). Breakfast was laid out for me when i got up. I seemed to be the only guest. There were cereals, toast and other cold options (fruit). It was all i needed. I got to watch the 8 mo. old twin granddaughter's of the owners while i ate-- free entertainment! An easy place to be. Minutes from the center of town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast offers townhouses for rent while staying and enjoying the pleasantries of the Lake Placid / High Peaks region of the Adirondacks.

We rented three townhouses and stayed for two nights/ three days the week before Christmas for an affordable rate. In discussing the particulars of our stay with the owner prior to arriving, she was forth right in making customers aware of all of the policies. Her demeanor and the pictures on the website underscored the quality of the accommodations. The townhouses were clean, updated, and well stocked. We would recommend this establishment to others and felt that our stay was well worth the value!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Have stayed in both the cottage & townhouses. Fully furnished, clean, and in a nice area. Have stayed at other similar properties and were dirty, had cobwebs + were generally unkept but not here. Highly recommemded! We are picky so if we like it............it's good!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a friendly welcome, and a pleasant breakfast where we met some of the extended family! It is a very laid back establishment where you feel like a visitor in someone's home rather than a guest at a hotel, so if you prefer a more formal setting this may not be the right choice for you. The room and en suite bathroom were both very clean and comfortable, though undeniably old fashioned. It is not in the heart of Lake Placid but it is within walking distance of both Lake Placid and Mirror Lake, as well as all the shops, bars and restaurants that Lake Placid has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6034 Sentinel Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Lodge is a family run B&B, located in Lake Placid with a 3 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the center of town. We have 8 B&B units with one unit that has a kitchenette. We also have a cottage and 4 townhouses. In the B&B, all the rooms have their own bathrooms, bed size is twin, full or queens. We serve a continental breakfast. Spruce Lodge is within a 10 mile radius of the most of the activites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel Lake Placid
Spruce Lodge b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.