We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Ontario, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went here on a guys ski trip and we had a blast, great place, can't wait to go back. Went here for the ski+stay package and it was a great value, a lot cheaper compared to the places in Canada. The staff were very friendly and in the evening they had a bonfire which was a fun pre-drink. It's a 15 minute walk from the town, which is not too bad but there is a big hill around the area so I wouldn't recommend it for the elderly and it's a 20 minute drive to Whiteface. The walk to the bar is not great but after we had a few it's do-able.
We went here on a guys ski trip and we had a blast. To those thinking of going on a ski trip here, I'd highly recommend it. It's half the price as Tremblant, the atmosphere isn't as nice comparing the two but the mountain is bigger and overall much much better bang for your buck even with the CAD being so low.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    60
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
88
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Sometimes not so easy to find a spot for a vacation for 13
Wildwood on the lake is a great price and value!!
We came two years ago and this time just as last we feel that it is home away from home !
We love location and the owners make every effort to make your stay wonderful! Starting from coffee and cookies on arrival to bonfires on the lake, hot tub and great ibdoor pool!!!Love it!!
Thank you so much for a great time
We are coming back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a charming motel - not you usual chain. It's a bit dated but that just adds to the great atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and helpful. the location is great and our room looked out over Lake Placid. It's a really lovely spot and you can easily walk into town. There's an indoor pool and outdoor pool/lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We usually stay here at least twice a year. We have looked at other places but nothing in Lake Placid compares to this. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are always friendly. There are canoes and paddle boats available to take out into the bay and there is usually a fire every night depending on the weather. If the weather is bad there are small reading rooms with board games and magazines to read. The outside pool is very refreshing after a long hike.
We really like the location, it is close enough to the center of town without being too close. There are plenty of great restaurants within easy walking distance or you can just order a pizza and enjoy the sunset with a good bottle of wine. If you get a lake side upstairs room the view is priceless. I hope to come back every year.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms on the upper floor definitely have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after 6 looking for a place for 2 on the road mountainbike riders to stay. WOW... can't say enough about the fabulous service, from keeping the indorr pool and hot tub open late to the bonfire on the lake, just because they could. We will return for mountainbiking and skiing when that season arrives!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Wildwood on the lake hotel for one night last weekend and were quite happy with it. The rooms are old but we were not looking for something fency. It was cheap, conveniently located and we enjoyed the indoor pool. You can use the pedalboat and canoe, and have bunfire on the side of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A very nice clean, quite and comfortable room with a reasonable rate (off season for leaf change) A continental breakfast, but opened at 8am. We were long gone by then. Needs to be at 7am for the early travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wildwood on the Lake to your Saves list
;