We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We did not intend to stay in Lake Placid for more than a night or two. Upon checking out the property and all the added bonuses we stayed 4 nights. Great price for a simple but clean room. The views are outstanding and it felt like camping without the work. Made many memories and friends. We'll return next year and book a cabin. Our kids will love it. Fires each night overlooking lake, use of all boats and kayaks free of charge. The pools were amazing too. Where else can you get all this for so little. Bbq pits right on water. Loved it...Thank you Webers...

Your Canadian fans

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    57
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
86
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I spent two nice nights at Wildwood on the Lake. We took advantage of the $119 per night special on a Monday & Tuesday, and while we were initially booked for a Pool Building room over the phone, at check-in we were upgraded (without needing to ask) to a Hillview suite for the same price. Nice!

The room turned out to be very nice with a partial lake view and a small patio with a table and chairs (it was a first-floor room). The room and bathroom were clean (although somewhat dated), and the beds were comfortable. The grounds were well-kept with lots of tables and seating. We didn't get a chance to sit around the nightly campfire, which was disappointing. We did, however, get a take out a free canoe and enjoy Paradox Bay by water. The bay itself is pretty shallow, but there is a lot to see on the water, and we had a fun time paddling around.

The motel is within a short (less than five-minute) walk of several restaurants, a Rite Aid drug store, a Stewart's Shops convenience store/gas station, and a Hannaford supermarket. A slightly longer walk (about 20 minutes) brings you right onto Main St. in Lake Placid. There is also a free trolley-type bus that can be taken if you'd rather not walk.

The owners and staff seemed friendly and helpful, although we didn't have a lot of interaction with them. The WiFi needs some work. We actually got a stronger signal from the Comfort Inn next door, although it required logging in multiple times. If a motel is going to advertise WiFi these days, it needs to have strong signal throughout the property at the very least. High speeds, while nice, are not as important as a strong signal since unusable signal or frequent disconnects can be much more frustrating that slower speeds.

Although we didn't get to use the lake-fed swimming pool, we know our kids would have loved it had they been traveling with us. The sandy beach and playground equipment are nice touches as well. The indoor pool and hot tub didn't look as appealing, though (we didn't get to use them either).

Compared to other motels in the area with fewer amenities, Wildwood on the Lake is a pretty good value. It's not the newest motel in Lake Placid, nor the most ritzy, but it's a very nice place to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Motorcyclist tip: Parking for Lakeview/Hillview rooms is paved with a steep hill before the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The property is right on the lake, with lots of amenities, the rooms were clean if somewhat dated and the staff helpful. One drawback, the rooms are far from soundproof
so if you are a light sleeper, try and get as far away from the road as possible. It gets busy very early. It is good value and a good location for families.

Room Tip: Not poolside building, tends to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location across from Rite Aid and being close to town were the only things which were positive about our stay. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the bed sheets and mattress pad collapsed into the center when you got into bed, leaving us sleeping on the raw bed itself. The tall blonde woman who checked us in and out was extremely rude and very unpleasant. After dealing with her, I did a sanity (gut) check and asked my wife "Did that lady seem rude to you?" She responded: "She was extremely rude and seemed like she cared less and was the same way to me when I booked on the phone". She then said "she doesn't seem very welcoming and was very abrupt to us".

The rooms were relatively clean, but most everything was a bit worn and in disrepair (window would not lock, lamp posts were coming apart, screen door was filthy, air conditioning unit sounded like it was gasping for air and kept us up at night even on "Fan" setting, etc). There didn't seem to be to a concerted effort to take care of anything which needed to be fixed. It wouldn't take a lot to spruce this hotel up a little, buy new towels (very worn) and get a new and more pleasant front desk person!!!! The lady clearly does not care and probably wished she was someplace else.

Also, if you're at all professional and need the internet - red flag warning - the Wi-Fi is extremely slow and almost non-functional. The 2nd night of the 2 night stay was even more interesting at 2:30AM with a man/woman fighting and yelling (sounded drunk) out by the water. Our high class neighbor yelled out his window : "Hey You - Shut Up!". My wife and laughed after she said "hey - wow, we are vacationing in the city projects". This is definitely more of a blue collar/family place for those on a strict budget than those who are professionally oriented. I will NEVER stay here again when there are better, cleaner options elsewhere!!!! I would highly recommend staying at another hotel closer to town. You get what you pay for, but this was not really worth any price.

I am personally amazed at all the positive reviews of this place following our horrible stay. In my humble opinion, this place is not anything close to deserving 3, 4, or even 5 stars. If you look way back in history, you'll see other reviews for rude front desk person as well (buried back in history).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a cottage or room on the end which will be quieter and away from all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have no relation to the hotel and had never been here before our recent stay (contrary to the suspicions of STEBAY711 who suspects phony reviews are being posted). I don't know when I'll be back in Lake Placid, but this would be the first place I would choose to stay again.

We visited (family with 3 kids aged 9 to 13) and the main benefits of staying here are the nightly campfires and the access to the boats on the water. This made the trip memorable for the kids and they loved being able to canoe/kayak/paddleboat daily and they looked forward to the campfire before bed. Location is great (near the town center without being in it). The view over the lake is wonderful (I don't know if every room has a view, our view was from the balcony).

The price is fair, given what the competition in town charges in the high season. We found the owners and staff very helpful in recommending dining choices and things to see and do, and they were quite friendly and helpful, we had a few casual chats over the course of our stay. The housekeeping staff remembered we like an extra towel and soap and we didn't have to ask each day.

It isn't a luxury resort - the beds are good but not great, the TV is a CRT but it works and gets more channels than we need, the towels are OK but not decadent. Maybe the only complaint is that the sauna takes longer to heat up than I had patience for, but maybe if I started it and came back 30 minutes later it would be hot. We met and chatted with some other guests, everyone seems friendly enough and happy to be there. We arrived the day after the triathlon and there were still some competitors staying a few days after, but there were also many families with kids. We had no problems with noise or late night shenanigans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wildwood on the Lake for the first time a week ago and had a really wonderful time. The view from our balcony was spectacular with a beautiful sunset one night and a double rainbow, with its reflection in the lake another. We brought our own kayaks and loved being able to get up and go. There are kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats for guests to use. The lake water pool is very unique. Every night there was a bonfire on the lake front. A mother duck and her 5 ducklings came to visit a few times a day. The guests were friendly and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Stuart Hemsley, son-in-law of the owners the Webers, was always there to be helpful. It is an easy walk to town, as well as some great restaurants a stones throw away. A charming trip for a relaxing stress-free long weekend. I am already trying to make plans with friends to go up in the fall.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I found this place by chance and so glad I did ,It was a last minute planned getaway to Lake Placid . First off the manager was super friendly and accommodating . We booked a simple room with two queen size beds. This hotel is in a perfect spot and it has everything !!!
Our room had all we needed . it had plenty of room with all the comforters of home and for me the best part of our room was the balcony with a lake view . The grounds are beautiful ... and nothing beats getting up early and going for a swim or taking a paddle boat on the lake . My kids had a wonderful time making smores on the open fire in the evening or taking a dip in the heated indoor swimming pool . Plenty to do in the area as well and all in waking distance . Shops , restaurants and other activities .

Room Tip: room 136 had a perfect view of the grounds and beautiful view of the lake . If you have kids , on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wildwood on the Lake to your Saves list