We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & friendly family, peaceful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Save
You added Wildwood on the Lake to your Saves list
2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice & friendly family, peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Steve was great, very helpful and friendly.
The gentleman who checked us in was also friendly and accomadating.

Our lakeside room was large, clean and the bed was so comfortable. Woke in the morning to a beautiful sunrise over Lake Placid lake.

The grounds are well kept and make for a peaceful spot to have lunch or dinner. Saw a few people using an outdoor grill.

Nice to have the option of taking boats out.

One thing that we would have appreciated is a kettle in the room, but most people probably don't care. We asked for one but they didn't have an extra. The coffee maker ended up being a fine substitute.

Wifi signal pretty weak in our room (131)

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are obviously more scenic if you can get one. First floor rooms exit directly to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
90
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the Lakeside rooms the nights of the 3rd & 4th of July. The view from our balcony was beautiful -- lake & mountains, ducks & sloping lawn with gazebo & adirondack chairs . . . . The bed was very comfortable, the room spotless and roomy. The table & chairs welcome for map perusal and coffee & the balcony perfect for late nights and early mornings. It was close enough to everything, yet once there we felt like we were in an idyllic setting away from the madding crowds. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

nice hotel but don't expect fancy.
rooms and facility overall were very clean. Overall looks from road are deceiving rooms are quaint. We had a lake view room on the ground floor, small patio (enough room for two chairs and a small table ) overlooked a beautiful cove on Lake Placid with views of the mountains in the background. grounds have several plastic Adirondack chairs and a gazebo also on the lake cove. fire pit and use of several Kayaks canoes row and paddle boats for guests. Indoor hot tub , swimming pool and sauna ( we couldn't get the sauna to work but it did day to ask at desk)
Approximately 1.5 miles from the town. Rite-Aid Pharm across street. We enjoyed a rainy evening eating an array of cheeses, crackers, fruit and bread and drinking wine looking out at the cloud covered hills in the background. very relaxing.

Room Tip: ask for lake view room, but more expensive. if on a budget ask for cheapest room and just us the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I rented a lakeside standard room for two nights over the July 4th holiday, and absolutely loved my stay. The hotel is well-maintained and the staff is all extremely friendly. A lake-fed pool and an indoor pool (with an adjacent whirlpool) are lovely, but you are also on the actual Lake Placid (this is one of the only hotels actually on the lake, hence the name) and you can take out boats (kayaks, canoes, rowboats, etc.) for free from the hotel. There is also a bonfire every night by the lake. The grounds are beautiful, views fantastic, and it's a great value for the price. You're within walking distance from town (shops and restaurants) but may need a car to reach trails and other local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on the 2nd floor overlooking the lake.
Room - VERY CLEAN. Equipped with basically all you need - fridge, microwave, coffee machine. Balcony overlooking Lake Placid with 2 chairs. We watched the entire fireworks show right from there! A/C didn't work the best, but turning the fan on at night with the window open really worked well. Two double beds with memory foam with 2 pillows each, firm and soft, and 2 to spare. Sheets and blankets were spotless. Dresser with large closet, ironing board and colour flatscreen TV. Washroom was clean and had been updated. New towels were supplied daily. We left a tip out on the dresser for the maid but she didn't take it the first day and left an envelope with a "maid" graphic on it - thought that was great. I guess she didn't realize it was for her and didn't touch it.
Hosts - fantastic. Couldn't do enough for you. Really nice owners, very helpful and courteous staff.
Grounds - well taken care of. Canoes and kayaks free for the taking. You simply signed them out at the front desk, got your life jackets and paddles, and off you went.
Pool - there was an indoor pool, sauna and hot tub. It didn't appear to be open for the summer - more of a winter thing anyway, as we spent most of our time outdoors.
Pool - outdoor. This one was fed from the lake. It had chairs and loungers available and tons of kids toys. It was located beside the road but kept private with a fence.
Free bus - there was a free bus that stopped at the Comfort Inn next door and the mall down the street (go there for groceries and drinks).
Restaurants - try "Deperatos" down the road within walking distance. The food is good, service great and cold beer. Ho Jo's was right next door too and had a nice breakfast, reasonably priced.
Downtown - lots of neat shops and various eateries. It's all metered parking or lots. It is about a 20 minute walk downtown from the resort or catch the free bus.
All in all, a solid 3 star. There were families and couples there enjoying the lake and they had bonfires at night for everyone. Pets were welcome.
If you are passing through for a few days or planning a wkd of skiing, I would recommend it. Price is right and it is very clean. It's about 20 min from Whiteface.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Lakeside for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I rented a lakeside standard double for our family of 3 (including our 8 year old daughter) to stay in during the weekend of the Lake Placid Marathon (my husband ran the half). Even with "just" a standard room, our view was spectacular! Lake Placid was literally a few steps from our door, with canoes and paddleboats for guests' use (FREE--you just sign them out at the desk where they have lifejackets to loan guests).
My husband and daughter had a fantastic time out on a double paddleboat, but she had an even better time "survival" fishing! This was an unexpected bonus, as we didn't have a scrap of gear with us and she had never fished before. She asked me for some of my embroidery floss and a safety pin, and before you knew it, she & my husband had caught 5 fish-2 rock bass and 3 bluegills! All safely released afterwards, of course. But she had a total blast.
Our room was very clean and the double beds were comfortable. The bathroom had been nicely updated, excellent hot water and water pressure control in the shower (I appreciate this, having experienced problems elsewhere).
I also greatly appreciated the "family lounge" that was just around the corner from our room. I ended up having to do some unexpected work from home, and it was perfect for that purpose. Although unsecured, the Wildwood wi-fi had a reasonably strong signal and--it was FREE!
We did not have breakfast in the lobby, but it's nice to know it is available. We also did not have time to use the heated indoor pool OR the lovely, lake-fed outdoor pool. I really wanted to try the outdoor pool, but we were under time pressure and had lots of activities going.
I did enjoy taking a little reading and wine-sipping time in the gazebo outside our room overlooking the lake.
The staff (front desk and room service staff I met in the halls) were all very friendly and unpretentious. We were very comfortable and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been staying at the Wildwood since 1981. Each year the second generation of Webers add more nice things to the motel. It is one of a very few motels in Lake Placid that is actually on Lake Placid and the swimming pool that you see from the road is actually fed with free flowing water from Lake Placid so there is no chlorine in it. They also have the usual swimming pool, too. It is indoors for those who stay there in the winter. Since they are on the lake they offer paddle boats and canoes so that you can actually enjoy the lake. There are excellent restaurants within an easy walk, including the last Howard Johnson restaurant in the country.

Room Tip: ask for room 34 or 35 and you will get a great view of Whiteface Mountain as you look across Lake Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.