We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Save
You added Wildwood on the Lake to your Saves list
2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Utica, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great value. Clean, friendly and good location for the convention center, or just enjoying the town of Lake Placid. Very clean and good staff.
We really enjoyed the stay!
If we had more time we would have enjoyed the pool and sauna.
The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
90
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Myself and my husband travelled to Lake Placid from Ottawa for a long weekend of snowboarding and taking in the Olympic sites. Wildwood on the Lake was the perfect location - a short 10 mins walk to Main Street in Lake Placid meant we were close enough to the action but didn't pay the price tag of the hotels on Main Street.

The owner was super friendly and couldn't help us enough with recommendations for different restaurants and things to do.

The rooms were large, warm and clean - what more do you need! The beds were VERY comfortable!

Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return soon - maybe for a summer trip!

The free tea/coffee and muffins were an added bonus and set us up for the day's snowboarding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

While it was not the worst place I've stayed, I will not be back. Dirty dishes were left in the cupboard, the fridge was unplugged, a circuit breaker was tripped, and there were dirty sheets on two beds. Even after the sheets were changed, they were not very desirable. When washing dishes, the kitchen sink would loudly drip for upwards of an hour. Needless to say, all of this led to a couple of sleepless nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Firstly, thank you for choosing the Wildwood and we sincerely apologize that your experience was not as enjoyable in part due to our top priority, cleanliness. We aim to provide good value for your money, strive to correct anything that may interfere with that and provide all information necessary with regards operation of all facilities on property. The sheets were changed and fridge was plugged in immediately (fyi..all microwave and fridges are unplugged to conserve energy until needed). I have checked the drain and circuit breaker (code requirement near sink) and all is operating correctly. We appreciate all comments, good and the not so good, as it makes us better. While we have been described as many things, "Dirty" we are not and we'll be out there again tomorrow making sure the Wildwood is providing good clean affordable accommodation in the two-time Olympic Village. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently were in Lake Placid for a skating competition and stayed at Wildwood on the Lake. We have been to LP 10 times in the last 15 years or so for similar events and know that lodging is very expensive. This hotel was a nice surprise. It was very clean, and only a mile and a half from town. Although it is primarily a summer location ( right on the lake), it was super in the winter too. One small thing, there wasn't wifi in our room, which they did advertise, but we would absolutely stay there again. If you are looking for a clean room, good location, and good value in Lake Placid, look no further!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is a 1-2 minute drive to the start of Main Street in Lake Placid. The rooms are large , clean, beds are comfortable. Nice selection of complimentary pastries and coffee/tea. Hot tub is clean and a good temperature for soothing your muscles after a day of skiing. Location on lake Placid is scenic. Staff is very friendly. Price is reasonable. Would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We (My GF and I) stayed here January 3, 4 of 2013. We got in around 8 and had our keys by 8:10. Very nice Hotel/Motel. Reception is nice and smells and looks like Christmas. We had a room by the pool, so it smelt a little like chlorine but the showers were great and so was the heater. The rooms are dated but I think it adds to the charm. Pool was good, hot tub was great after a day on the hills.

It was a 10-15 minute walk to main street in Lake Placid which was fine for us. You go up a hill and then down it so if your older, I probably wouldn't recommend.

The price is amazing and plus you get lift tickets so you can't beat it. We only planned on staying 1 night but since the place was so cheap and we were having a good time in town, we opted for another night which was arranged easily.

Reasons for this place...location (10 minute walk to thes trip and about 10-15 minute drive to white face) and price!

Thanks again Wildwood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for a ski trip during the holidays. The place was very clean, staff very helpful and courteous, the hotel is very close to Main St. There was a big storm while I was there, in the morning the place was cleaned very well and there was no problem leaving to go skiing. Then after the skiing, there was a nice hot tub to relax in. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.