We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maple Leaf Inn to your Saves list
Maple Leaf Inn
2234 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Batavia, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just a friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After an absolutely horrendous night at a place that offered "newly remodeled cabins" we thankfully found this property. The owners are friendly & will bend over backwards to do whatever it takes to make your stay perfect. Our room was clean & bright, had plenty of room, & felt very homey. It also had a small kitchenette in case we felt like not going out for meals.

If you're looking for a four star hotel, keep on going. If you're looking for a very clean motel with owners on site that are amazing friendly & offer a great value for your money, stop here. It's close to downtown but far enough to be quiet at night. There's a pool, a fire pit, & a family feeling that makes you want to come back year after year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bridgeport Pa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a small no frills place to stay. It was clean & the beds were comfortable the TV had lots of channels. No breakfast not even a donut. It was a bit over priced for just a bed but that is just the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did a lot of research about the accommodations options in Lake Placid, as we planned on a couple nights there. Maple Leaf Inn kept coming up as a great value, and we decided to give it a try. What a cute little place! It reminded us of the old-fashioned motor inns that we stayed in as kids traveling with our parents. The room we had had one king size bed, a small fridge, and a bathroom with a green bathtub and a sparkling bathroom floor that you could have eaten off of, it was so clean. The tub was a bit off-putting, but as we discovered the next morning, the shower was awesome! The shower head looked like it was actually missing, but nope...just a little jet with lots of great water pressure! We didn't use the pool, but it looked really nice...steam was rising off of it in the morning, so we know it was nicely heated. The proprietor was--as others have noted--extremely helpful with maps and restaurant recommendations. We would definitely stay here again! Very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Definitely a high value, comfortable, clean, and quiet motel. The owner welcomed us and was very accommodating to us as first-time visitors to Lake Placid. Downtown was only a 1km walk away. The breakfast restaurant he recommended was perfect, also a short walk from the motel. The pool was clean and the right temp. The A/C was quiet. We had a great night's sleep and will definitely return and recommend this place to our friends who look for value. If I were to make a couple suggestions to showcase this little gem, I'd recommend replacing the worn-out facia and rain gutter, repair and paint the fence around the pool, and fresh coat of paint everywhere in contemporary colors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family (2 adults, one teenager, one preteen) stayed for two nights at this motel. I had read lots of reviews ahead of time and knew just what to expect. Is it fancy and plush? No, but then it doesn't pretend to be. It's a really good price (we've stayed in Lake Placid on four occasions before and we've priced many options).

We had a basic room (two doubles); it was very clean (except the mini refrigerator smelled when my daughter opened it, but we didn't plan to use it anyway). It's close to town (take the free shuttle to town) and it has an outdoor pool. I like supporting mom-and-pop places, and the owners were friendly and helpful. We all swam in the pool 2 or 3 times; it's heated and nice.

The room was unexceptional and the bathroom is quite small (no towel bars; one hook behind the door). But who wants to spend time in a motel room on a family vacation anyway? Let me emphasize again: if you know what to expect and are OK with older fixtures/furnishings, etc., this is a very nice place at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This motel was recommended on one of the motorcycle sites I visit as a good value and a decent place to stay, a recommendation I'm glad I found.

Check in was handled quickly and the owner gave us a quick but nice overview of where to find things in town, as well as a couple of dining recommendations.

Our room was a nice older motel room with some dated and mismatched fixtures but it was clean and well presented. The grounds looked nicely cared for and while I never used the pool it looked like a decent pool. Wifi worked well as well.

Overall it was a very positive stay and given it was high tourist season in a high demand area I felt it was a decent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Staying overnight in the King room, and right from check-in I knew it was true.
All the positive reviews here....no, they were not exaggerating and they weren't paid off either , other than in superior service. :)
I had two questions on my list when i checked in.. and the first they answered before I could ask! That was the WiFi password. My 2nd question was what time the pool opened in the morning, and he said 11am, but without missing a beat, continues they would uncover the pool for me early.. (holy cow). And that pool ..so well kept and perfect temperature..My room.. well spacious, clean, well renovated, tile entrance, blackout drapes with ball bearing runners....and on and on. Did i mention the hair dryer in the bathroom, ironing board and fresh white towels galore?
So Shhhhh.... this place too good to let everybody know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: 2234 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Leaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.