We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town and Country Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Town and Country Motor Inn to your Saves list
Town and Country Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 (67) Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Town & Country hotel is a cute place! The decor is straight out of the 80s; it doesn't look like the hotel's been renovated since the Olympics. For us, that just added to the charm. Everything was impeccably clean and the room was very large, and even included a small balcony with a table and chairs. It took about 5 - 10 minutes to walk to the main tourist area of Lake Placid and was only a 20 minute drive to some amazing hiking!

The only negative was some soundproofing issues: we could hear the guests in the room above us walking around. Otherwise, great motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay here last month, July, 2012. The owners were very kind, and the property was kept in very good, clean condition. We liked that they had a pool. It seems like most of the smaller hotels in Lake Placid did not have a pool, and the kids love a pool. They had free Wi-fi, which worked well. I will defintiely return to Town and Country. Very much in the middle of town, very close to everything. The Cowboy has great food, very close, and the Saranac Sourdough deli was close and had fantastic sandwiches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a neat, clean, well-kept place outside the bustle of downtown L Placid, opposite homes and a lake, given it a peaceful aura. Nice owners, close to restaurants (we dug The Cowboy). A good place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Reasonably priced little motel in a great location. Smaller rooms, but didn't really matter to us, we didn't spend alot of time in it. Convenient for walking, but away from the busy-ness of the town. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The owner was exceptionally helpful. We were close to town, and we had easy access to everything. The room was a bit small for 2 people and all the IM gear, but it works. Rooms were very clean. Ask for bikes- there are 2 for the taking at no charge and the owner provided a lock.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We wanted a reasonable place to stay and play golf at Lake Placid. We found Town & Country online and were extremely pleased with the friendliness and special treatment of the owners. The room was spotlessly clean, the prices to stay & play golf (Whiteface, Craig Wood) were reasonable, and it was really close to both Lake Placid and Mirror Lake. It's also close to main strip. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer, iron, and shampoo - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Would stay again, retro decor but plumbing has been updated. Clean room , free wi-fi , not on the main strip, but not too far either. Booked directly on the Lake Placid web site saved $20...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#22 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Motor Inn

Address: 2200 (67) Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Town and Country Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Town and Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town and Country Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.