We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding modern Lake Placid hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lake House to your Saves list
Lake House
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs
1 review
“Outstanding modern Lake Placid hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Probably one of the few places with more modern design in the town. Very tasteful rooms and lobby area. Relaxing outdoor areas for every room. An ideal location downtown. Also, access to all of the amenities of High Peaks Resort right across the street.

Room Tip: Upper level has a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very clean. Amazing view. Access to room and car on the same floor - easy in and out. Amazing view. No frills. No restaurant or bar on site but has access to the High Peak sister hotel up front. Amazing view!! Dogs allowed. Easy Peking. Great location! Would come back!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great renovation. Simple design. Good service. Good price on our first stop but on the way back, it was much more expensive. Too expensive for the quality of the hotel. The location is great, beautiful walk around Mirror Lake. Easy to walk down the main street.

Room Tip: The view of the lake is over a road and around some other hotels. Its a nice place to stay but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed at the Lake House and loved it. The property is perfectly located close to everything. Every room has a great unobstructed view of Mirror Lake, steps to the downtown core, Lake Mirror path , everything. David the bartender was fabulous and made our visit feel very welcomed.Our room was very spacious and we loved the retro vibe it had. This place has it all view , location, great ambiance, friendly staff and reasonable priced. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: ASk for a second floor to get an elevated view, unless you are travelling with a pet the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was just "cute" in every way. Great view, great location, great staff and all for an incredible price we booked for. We looked and looked at the lake across the street and the beautiful view of the main street. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Room clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to take a room facing the water as its pretty and a very quiet town in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peskykitty,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your Lake House experience with the Tripadvisor Community!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the location and great views. I'll also be sure to let the whole team know their service was top-notch. The hosts and I look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

Matthew.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time staying in Lake Placid and needless to stay, it was amazing! Lake House was a great fit for our personality! It is recently remodeled so there's this old Adirondack charm to it that they maintained. The views are incredible! We were in room 30 and the view was amazing. The rooms are super spacious and the bathroom was the perfect size. It is smaller, but definitely manageable. And everything was so CLEAN! Since it's a part of High Peaks Resort (across the street) you get all of the amenities of both places, which is a huge plus! (You don't have to stay on the uppity side to enjoy uppity amenities!) We bought the king room with the bed and breakfast package with included breakfast across the street at The Dancing Bears. Great breakfast and the server was excellent. Overall, my husband and I would, hands down, give this place 5 stars for the hospitality, the bar/lounge area, amenities, but mostly the views. We will DEFINITELY be coming back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but ask for the lobby floor! It's built on a hill, so you really ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Brlyes,

Many thanks for your fantastic review of Lake House! I'm thrilled that it hit all the right spots, and that you enjoyed the aesthetic of the building - we all love it too.
I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you again in the summer - we will be offering a nice, hearty continental breakfast at Lake House in the summer, and I'm sure you'll enjoy it, as well as the other amenities and summer activities we will be offering.

All the best!

Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long drive, my wife and I arrived to a warm greeting from "AJ", the on duty "host" at the Lake House...We unpacked and went into the bar area to unwind...Eli, the bartender, provided a welcoming and entertaining evening...Being an early riser, I was able to watch a beautiful sunrise over Mirror Lake...I was greeted in the lobby by morning host, John, who told me a little bit about the town and provided a number of helpful suggestions of where to find early morning coffee and a good breakfast...
Clean, friendly personnel, and perfectly located in the village of Lake Placid...Any future trips to Lake Placid and I will be reserving a room here...And there will be future trips!

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Lake House Host at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review Plain_and_Peanut!!!

Glad you were able to take advantage of our beautiful sunrise here in Lake Placid. The view of the Adirondack Mountains and Mirror Lake from our lounge balcony is perfect for enjoying a hot drink in the morning. Really glad to hear John could help you find a nice place to find breakfast, he knows all the best restaurants in the area! Hope to see you again soon and feel free to come back any time!

AJ

Host, Lake House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: 1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1961, Lake House has been part of the Lake Placid community, with its rich Olympic history and beautiful, natural surroundings. We welcome you to share our home – as well as our trails, lakes and slopes – whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or an annual tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.