We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake House to your Saves list
Lake House
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Come Play in the Snow!
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New York City, New York
1 review
“Rustic Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here while boarding at Whiteface Mountain the second weekend in January. The rooms were very clean, comfortable mattress and the view of the lake was spectacular. Everything that the village of Lake Placid has to offer was within walking distance.

Room Tip: They're all good. They all face the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendora
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time stay at the Lake House. Very satisfied with the room size and location. Used the pool and hot tub. And dog friendly! Very quiet for sleeping and the beds and pillows were awesomely comfortable. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear RMHausman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Lake House experience with the TripAdvisor community!

We are all very happy to read about you positive experience at our newly renovated hotel, and that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities - - and with your pooch too.

Wishing you a wonderful late-winter, and our whole team looks forward to welcoming you back to Lake House very soon!

All the best,
Matthew

Matthew Wheeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel last year and was pleasantly surprise by the renovations. The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. The staff was great especially Jon W, with his great smile and personality. The rooms are very clean and the views of the lake are superb. This hotel is also centrally located with many great restaurants and shops. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Jon Wright - Lake House Host at Lake House, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Iris,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us.I am glade we had a chance to meet, and appreciate your kind words. Wish you the best and hope to see you again soon!!

Thank You!!
Jon Wright
Host,Lake House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The recent renovations are top-notch, very European feel, but with nicely modernized "Adirondack" references and a great central location. Bar/lounge area very nice with a variety of seating options, including game tables. Suggest however greater seating in entry lobby area itself.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dwhale2015,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Lake House! We are thrilled with guests' responses to our newly renovated gem - and hope that you have the opportunity to return soon.
Thank you also for your comments about the lobby seating and amenities.

All the best,
Matthew.

Matthew Wheeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I must applaud The lake House for having the best, the most polite, and very professional gentlemen working on your staff. That I knew them by name because they where there when ever I had a question, needed help, or had a request for something. They are Mr. Johnny, Mr. AJ, and Mr. Kevin. Outstanding and above and beyond to you all. Thank you for making my stay a remarkable and memorial ski trip for me and my co workers. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: all rooms were comfortable & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear jorge p,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your experience at Lake House - The whole team is very happy that your group had such a wonderful stay - and we were all very happy to be your host hotel.
AJ, Kevin, and Johnny are all excellent hosts, and integral to the success of our newly renovated inn.
We all hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best,
Matthew.

M Wheeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was great. Came for a conference and the hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. Johnny High Peaks in particular went above and beyond what was expected and helped me obtain some items I had forgotten to pack. I would totally recommend giving this hotel a try. It's a multi building complex which is annoying in the winter but the views made up for that big time. Good people, good atmosphere = a good time!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 30n Traveling4Fun,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at Lake House, and for the shout-out to Johnny High Peaks - he's a great and charming host.

I hope you have the chance to return soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to High Peaks Resort and Lake House.

All the best,
Matthew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an amazing place to stay. Comfortable accommodations, beautiful views of the lake and mountains, easy stroll to shopping and restaurants.The lounge area was a very comfortable gathering place for the family. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with everything. They went above and beyond to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear GSullivan58,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Lake House with the TripAdvisor Community!

We are all thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our location, our amenities, and the amazing service provided by our Hosts and the entire Lake House Team.

We hope to have the opportunity in the very near future to welcome you back to Lake Placid and Lake House.

All the best,
Matthew


Matthew Wheeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: 1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1961, Lake House has been part of the Lake Placid community, with its rich Olympic history and beautiful, natural surroundings. We welcome you to share our home – as well as our trails, lakes and slopes – whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or an annual tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.