We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lake House to your Saves list
Lake House
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Lake House - which is affiliated with the High Peaks Resort-from December 17th-19th. I took the train from Saratoga and arrived at the Lake House around 4:00pm. Check-in was entirely seamless, as John Driscoll (aka Johnny High Peaks) had everything ready for me, including my Olympic Sites Passport that I had indicated to the staff there that I wanted at the time of my reservation. John was so sincere in his service and helpful with all of the questions I inevitably had as a result of being a first-time tourist to the area. When I got to my room I was overjoyed -it looked out right onto Mirror Lake and was impeccably clean. The resort has apparently undertaken some substantial renovations, and they have done a wonderful job. The room had both a modern and rustic vibe that synced perfectly with the rural, snowy setting. My room led out onto a little deck, which was great for quiet reflection while looking at the lake. I went upstairs to the hotel bar, and my experience at the Lake House got even better. John was there with the bartender, Kevin, who is the most competent and adroit bartender I have ever experienced. They brought me up to speed with recommendations about what to do, how most efficiently to do it, and where to eat. I really enjoyed their company and they really made me feel like they enjoyed mine as well. This bar is a total gem and would undoubtedly be a place I would frequent if I were a local.

The activities I had planned to do while in Lake Placid didn't go off as planned bc of the weather, but these two guys really salvaged my stay. Even though it was dark before 5pm, the light in their hearts illuminated the entire town and the entire experience for me.

I also had the pleasure of interacting with Jon Wright, a front-desk employee at the High Peaks, who, after hours, answered more of my questions about the facility, the local shuttle and trolley services, and who also made great breakfast recommendations.

Bill, also a High Peaks employee, was around at various points throughout my stay, and he, too, was gracious and sincere and helped me feel at home.

The location of this hotel is perfect for traipsing around Lake Placid-whether you'd like to take a leisurely walk around the lake or do a little holiday shopping -and the service I experienced here is not unlike the experience I have received at 5 star hotels around the world. This will be the only place I ever stay when I come to the area. Other resorts and hotels may get more publicity or recognition, but service of this caliber is hard to come by. Thanks again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sarah K,

I have been sharing your review with our entire team here in Lake Placid at Lake House and our High Peaks Resort Property as an example of the power of genuine and personalized service.
It is great to know that you experienced precisely that, and that you encountered the same care and attention with each interaction.

John, Kevin, Jon, and Bill will be thrilled to read your kind comments.

I hope to have the opportunity to meet you on your next visit.

Wishing you a happy Holiday Season,

Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Every room has a view of a Mirror Lake. But the bar, a large, unbarlike room, has the best views. it was a quiet place with comfortable sofas to relax in.

The rooms, which all have a lake view, had recently been renovated and are quite comfortable. In fact, the whole hotel seems to be recently renovated.

Lake House's only facility is a swimming pool/hot tub. But, since it's affiliated with High Peaks across the road, you're welcome to use their facilities. The exercise room is excellent. In the warmer months,

Not that Lake Placid is a large town, but Lake House is adjacent to the main street and it's a short walk to restaurants and shopping. I recommend Players Bar and Grill, practically across the street from Lake House. I'd call it a sports bar. Food is good and, in the warmer months, you can sit outside above the lake.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I looked the Lake House last minute as previous plans fell through. I booked the hotel as part of a getaway where I would propose to my girlfriend. The hotel looks great after the remodeling, with a beautiful lobby/bar that includes a fireplace, comfortable lake view seating, and activities for the family.

The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and was able to facilitate the room being stocked with flowers via a local retailer, chocolate covered strawberries, and champagne. The staff, primarily Jon (Johnny High Peaks) and Kevin made our stay a wonderful experience and something we will both cherish for years to come.

We will certainly be back in Lake Placid in the next year and I am already looking forward to booking at the Lake House.

Room Tip: Great lake view rooms, fun lobby/bar area, great access to other High Peaks properties, excellent st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We went here just for a drink and was welcomed by the manager JP. Beautifully redone inside with lots of lounging for family's and board games for a friendly family night. Has a balcony that has a view of Mirror Lake. Next trip we definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Hotel is located within walking distance of the Lake Placid main street.
Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Great view on the lake.

Lounge area is pretty bare. Looks like being unfinished (e.g. bare concrete floor).
Strangely enough there is no reception, just a little shield telling you to go to the more luxureous hotel across the street for check in. In the afternoon somebody may be in the hall who can help with check in, but one has to go and search for him/her.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. View of Mirror Lake from our balcony was gorgeous. Malorie was very helpful at check in. She gave me information about a local attraction and suggested a very good place to eat. We visited a few local attractions but mostly took in the beauty of the area. When booking your room, be sure and ask for a room on the upper level so you can enjoy the view of Mirror Lake, which is just across the street.
When the hotel sent me their survey, one of the questions was "what could we do to make your stay more enjoyable?". My response was "make it free."

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Aubrey A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Lake House!

I'm happy to hear that Malorie provided you with excellent and helpful service. I will be sure to share your comments with her.

All of us at the resort are thrilled with the outcome of the renovation to Lake House, and are excited to share it with our guests.

I hope you have a chance to visit us again during the winter season.

All the best,
Matthew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The new High Peaks owners did a very fine job of renovating this hotel, which had been in definite need of TLC. The rooms are clean, cozy and well-appointed, with excellent views of Mirror Lake. The addition of a "great" common room with bar and fireplace is a nice touch. The High Peaks across the street has a more luxurious feel, with bigger rooms and bathroom, but Lake House offers a solid alternative, particularly on weekends when rates at High Peaks bump up.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear WorldTrav55,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our newly renovated Lake House!

It's great to hear the positive feedback from repeat guests experiencing the "new" environment and great views.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again during the winter season!

All the best,
Matthew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: 1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1961, Lake House has been part of the Lake Placid community, with its rich Olympic history and beautiful, natural surroundings. We welcome you to share our home – as well as our trails, lakes and slopes – whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or an annual tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.