We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Fall evening in Lake Placid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Cafe

Cottage Cafe
77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-302-3045
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Enjoyable Fall evening in Lake Placid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful evening we had at the Cottage. It was so lovely to watch Mirror Lake bathed in light from all the surrounding homes and cottages. It was an anniversary to remember! Hope we can come back again someday!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! Happy Anniversary! We are glad that you had a wonderful evening and look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    116
    42
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Upon arriving in Lake Placid, we immediately hit Cottage Cafe for lunch. There is no beating the view as you are sitting and looking out their enormous window at the lake. Lunch was delicious, I had a lobster roll and my company had a chicken salad sandwich with apricots. Every item had a delicious little twist to it. Service was excellent. I would recommend this place again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! We are glad that you enjoyed lunch, the view and service! Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The restaurant is located at the end of Mirror Lake. We sat outside, the view is terrific. The sevice was good. The menu is interesting. Probably the only draw back is how difficult [t is to find a parking space but all of Lake Placid is that way. Definitely would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! We are happy that you enjoyed the service and view of the lake and mountains! Stop in again!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Upscale ADK pub w/good food, nice atmosphere, great setting on Mirror Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We weren't to sure what to expect as the Cottage Cafe is associated with the Mirror Lake Inn across the street which is a bit too "stiff" for our liking. In fact we skipped it the last two times we were in L.Placid for that exact reason. But...this time we decided to try it for Friday afternoon lunch and we were pleasantly surprised!
While full inside it was not overly crowded, and really not that long of wait. A cooler/misty day left that outdoor seating unavailable. The only precautionary statement is beware that the menu on Tripadvisor is not current (as of this review). My wife was looking forward to a number of the vegetarian dishes only to find out they had "recently" changed the menu and those she wanted were now unavailable. Our waitress Debra was exceptional and very accommodating and apologetic. My wife decided on the humus dish and while spicy she was still pleased with her lunch. I had the Apricot chicken sandwich which was excellent. Regarding the menu, that was our fault not to check their website directly because the "new" menu is listed there (and posted outside)
Being on the end of the lake it allows for a nice stroll around part of the lake from the main street area. Overall it was a positive experience and we would return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! We are glad that you enjoyed your lunches and found your server to be exceptional. We will be making additional changes to the menu, so keep checking back! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a light meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The views from this restaurant were spectacular. We enjoyed watching activity on Mirror Lake while waiting for our dinner. The service was excellent, food was very good. Prices were what one would expect in a resort town. The nice part about Lake Placid in early September is the lack of crowds. There was no sense of urgency on the part of the server, which just made our dinner even more enjoyable. Parking was no problem at all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner, service and the views! We look forward to having you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.