We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Madness
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love this resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We picked this hotel because we wanted to bring our dogs. Some hotels that allow dogs are run down and dirty but this hotel was perfect. It is a beautiful, clean, modern resort that offers so many amenities including a dock at the lake with Kayaks, row boats, pedal boats, a beautiful fitness center and three pools (one outdoor pool in the main building), one indoor pool and another outdoor pool by the lake.
Usually I complain about hotel mattresses and pillows but here they were so comfortable!
The location is right in the village so you can walk everywhere and the service was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    259
    71
    24
    24
See reviews for
206
372
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were offered a weekend by our children for an anniversary at the High Peaks resorts Super gift ,the site and our room a small suite overlooking Mirror Lake were just great .Location cannot be better walking distance to boutiques etc...
First draw back well organise for young or outdoor type of people ,no elevator ,depending on your location you have to walk from one building to another for meals ,bars or pool ( swimming in the lake is available well organised and super )
2- Food was good in a very friendly atmosphere but it lacks a nice dining room where you would like to relax and enjoy an above average meal in an upscale setting .
3-If I was to go back I would certainly compare with numerous similar resorts in lake Placid for price /quality ratio.
To me it remains great but........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on Priceline, arrived at the hotel 3 hours later (late in the evening) and the person working at the front desk was very patient and helpful in giving us the best room possible. It was late at night but we woke up to an amazing view of the lake and mountains. The room was very comfortable and clean. We really liked our (very short) stay and would go back in a heartbeat. It was a great place to rest before hiking in the Adirondacks. We'll most likely be back. We also got a great rate on Priceline.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the High Peaks Resort and had a wonderful stay. The location is fantastic, right around the corner from the main street in Lake Placid. Parking is included. The lobby is rustic and natural. Check in went smoothly. We booked a double queen bed room which was large and well appointed. It had a big flat screen tv, large bathroom with Molten Brown soaps and a huge shower with both a rain shower and a hand-held nozzle. Out our window was a gorgeous view of Mirror Lake. In the closet were a robe and slippers. I would absolutely give this property five stars except for the following small details: the bathroom had two tiny, thin bath towels. With all the other luxuries our room had, I would have expected to see better quality towels. Next, the air conditioner was temperamental and inconsistent. Last, neither the shades nor the curtains kept out the morning sun. Needless to say, we were up quite early. I would absolutely recommend this property for anyone staying in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

After spending an evening at an overpriced neighboring inn, we were delighted to enter our room and see the facilities, and appreciate the amenities The High Peaks offered. Our room cost $339. We had the Junior King Suite located in The Waterfront Building overlooking the lake. Absolutely beautiful!
The room had a king sized bed, pull out sofa, jacuzzi whirlpool tub, shower, double sinks, microwave, minibar, coffee and coffee maker, desk, fireplace, tvs in both the main room and bathroom, Bose speaker. The room was clean and seemed as though everything was very new. We were surprised with a lovely note, sparkling wine, and decadent chocolate covered strawberries. Wifi was included. The color palette was rustic, yet bright!
The staff was incredibly friendly! There were complimentary paddleboats and rowboats to use. The outdoor and indoor pools were lovely.
If we ever make a trip back to Lake Placid, The High Peaks Resort would definitely get our business again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Main building. Great location at the end of Lake Placid. Walk the streets for restaurants and shopping. Cross the street for Mirror Lake and sit in Adirondack chairs to view the lake and mountains, or take out kayaks, rowboats, paddle boats, all complimentary as part of your stay. Rooms are very clean with superior bedding. Air quality in this place is a definite plus! -note the special window treatment that allows fresh air to enter in hallways and rooms but does not interfere with air conditioning or heating. Did I mention the complimentary coffee available in the lobby way past 10 a.m. plus free WiFi and choice of daily newspapers like NYTimes, WSJ, exercise room, 2 outdoor pools and one indoor pool, etc? Oh, and do eat at the Dancing Bears-great breakfasts, burgers..just double check you are getting $2 draft specials during happy hour.. Staff very accommodating and pleasant. Can hardly wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We come to Lake Placid every year in February for a ski week (I know I'm late posting this review!).
We got an excellent deal, so good that we thought something would be wrong with the room or the resort. We got a room in the main building, viewing the road and a patch of the lake.
The room was perfect: large, with a modern decor, good bed and linen, beautifully decorated bathroom. The staff was friendly and accomodating.
The only complaint I have is about the cleanliness of the room (bathroom was spotless): the vacuum never reached under the coffee table.
The deal included breakfast at Dancing Bears, which was quite good: something for everyone, a little on the heavy side.
We had a great time and we shall probably return to High Peaks next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.