We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Albany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great place to stay. We stayed one night but wish we were able to stay longer. The staff was very helpful. Ask for a room with a lake view. You won't be disappointed. After our first room did not have a lake view, they quickly and without hesitation moved our room. The facilities are great. The fitness center, pool, and whirlpool were all clean and well maintained. It was nice to be able to leave our car there and walk to the shops on Main Street. You can't beat the location. We had drinks at the Dancing Bear restaurant, seems like a nice place for a burger or nachos, but we didn't eat there. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for ask lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    207
    47
    19
    19
See reviews for
157
289
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I don't understand all the negative reviews here. It's a 4 star hotel and felt like a 4 star hotel. Nice location - we weren't on the main property but on the part of the property that faced onto mirror lake. So nice views from the room. On the downside, our room was a little further away from main resto/bar/pool (as in across the street). Our part of the hotel had a nice outdoor pool that was "very frozen". Would be gorgeous to use that outdoor pool in the summer but in the winter you'd have to trek up to the main hotel to use the indoor pool or hot-tub (which we didn't try). Hotel restaurant was also good value, even for a 4 star. Can't argue with a basic $6 2-egg breakfast and $18 for prime rib. Prime rib!! I think the hotel allows pets into the rooms - which is good if you're a pet owner but not if you are next door to a room with a yapping dog. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east williston,ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lobby was a highlight to our stay here. The weather outside during the Christmas break was extremely cold for me, so I did not go out often. The lobby was my getaway and it did not disappoint. There was always a roaring fire and hot chocolate, cookies and coffee available to enjoy at your leisure while reading a book on the couches around the fireplace. The room was nice as well. The restaurant downstairs,The Dancing Bear was wonderful and the servers were terrific! The location is good since it is on the strip at the opposite end of town. The only complaint I had was that a tray with remnants of room service breakfast was left outside the door of a room and it stayed there all day and night, no one picked it up til late in the eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Two families have stayed here the last few years over Easter weekend and we have had a great experience every time. The price is a great value for its location in the village, room quality and views of Mirror Lake and the high peaks. It is an old building with some parts having been renovated within the last few years. The indoor pools and hot tubs are older but satisfactory and there is a small but nice fitness facility. The main lobby is very nice and the Dancing Bear bar/restaurant is a great place for a cocktail and some light fare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The section of the hotel across the street from the main hotel is older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here in a room that ran us $209./night. At first I was sick at how much we were spending for a room, but...when we walked into our room it was beautifully done in a contemporary manner...there are speakers in the bathroom hooked to the tv...so you can listen to the news as you shower or whatnot. The beds...now...I don't typically sleep well away from home, but these beds were so lush! They have a cushy mattress pad on them that supports your back...it was such a good night sleep that the next day after I got home I bought one of these mattress pads! Also, it was so super quiet. A phenominal stay and well worth the money!!! LA :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the portion of the property across the street from the main building. It used to be a hotel but HPR added it to their property. Here is the good and he not so good:

Good
-wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful
-great location on the main street
-3 swimming pools
-very comfy beds
-fridge and coffee maker in room
-large lounge which no one seemed to use, we played cards each night and had take out food there
-balcony with view of the lake

Not so good
-the place is very tired looking
-our bath tub was very old, it had that permanent dirty look even though it was clean
-dated interior, needs the décor refreshed
-parking was very tight as the place was full

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed with our 3 young boys and had a great experience. Rooms and bathrooms are nicely decorated with an updated Adirondack style. Very close to great skiing at Whiteface and boys loved indoor pool and we loved hot tub. We had a room with a great view of the mountains and lake. We will definitely be back! We also look forward to coming back in the summer, as there is a outdoor pool and lots of outdoor activity to experience. For the cost it is an Excellent value.

Room Tip: Bring your own blow dryer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Lake Placid
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list