We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Autumn To Remember
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Camden NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great room!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely well-appointed room, comfortable bed, great bathroom, clean, beautiful view of the mountains, friendly staff, great location - it's got it all (including spa robes!!) and a good value as well!!! Try the espresso martini!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    240
    62
    22
    21
See reviews for
178
338
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of everything! Excellent hotel at a reasonable price; room was spacious and modern with a good view of the downtown and the lake in the distance, and a beautiful view of the snow covered mountains. Bathroom was large and well appointed. Lobby area is super comfortable with a great Adirondack look. Restaurant was easily affordable and had tables for people watching right along the main street. All the staff were friendly and courteous. Food was good. We would love to stay here again, and would recommend it highly to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Checked in on January 5, 2013
We were able to get away for the week and decided to head to Lake Placid as we've never been there. The hotel was offering a mid week ski and stay package which was very reasonably priced. The reviews were ok so we decided to give it a try. What a pleasant surprise. We were greeted by very friendly staff and check in only took a minute or two. Being mid week there was lots of covered parking which is a good thing as it's been snowing since we got here. The room is very nice but were not expecting the slippers and house coats. My wife has them on now. The room is nice and clean and the shower has a rain head as well. Comfy couch and a nice big screen tv. Balcony with view of the lake that I'm sure would be quite nice in summer.

The drive from Toronto was really nice once we got off the 401 and into the US. It's a very scenic drive and took around 6 hours. If we enjoy the skiing at Whiteface we'll definitely be back before winter is over.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a great weekend at the High Peaks Resort. Perfect location, close to everything. Nice restaurant downstairs. The rooms were spacious. The bathroom was large and the shower was great. The room temp was easily controlled and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Friendly, helpful staff. The one downfall was that the pool and hot tub were on the other side of the building on the 4th floor and the halls were a bit too chilly to walk through on a cold night in January! I was under the impression there were robes in the rooms, but I was mistaken. I loved that you could sit in the lounge by the fireplace and have a cocktail. If you're going to be in the snow and cold, Lake Placid has got to be the prettiest place to be! We hope to come back in the warmer weather and enjoy the outside deck and pools.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my second trip to High Peaks and I am still impressed with the experience. Our family loved the hotel and the staff. We definitely will be returning for a third trip.
First of all, you cannot beat the price for the amenities that they provide. I booked the Ski Free / Stay Free package and you simply cannot beat the deal. Hotel, breakfast and lift tickets for one low price. The breakfast provided this time around was a great way to start the day.
The hotel itself is well appointed, a great location and "comfortable." From the warm fireplace in the lobby and PR's bar to the cozy bed. Everything felt warm and inviting. The hotel is family and pet friendly.
The service offered by the front lobby was quick, helpful and knowledgeable. There was a mistake with our room assignment (computers were down during check-in) and the staff went out of their way to assure the mistake was corrected. They know the area and were able to offer suggestions and helpful advice to guests.
Dancing Bears is a fun place to end your day with good food and drinks, It was one of the busiest bars / restaurants in town, so the crowd kepts the evenings lively.
My wife and daughters took in the spa on our last day and they were impressed with the staff and services offered. It relaxed them for the long drive home and was the perfect ending for the trip.
Only recommendations that I would like offer to HPR is to increase your staffing in the Dancing Bears, but this seemed to be a trend in all of Lake Placid's restaurants and pubs. Service is slow, but the servers and working their tails off, but somewhat overwhelmed. I would also like to see an upgrade to the pool and hot tub area. it is nice, but doesn't meet the standards of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We head to High Peaks every thanksgiving and always have a relaxing time. The hotel exceeds expectations in my opinion. The main hotel is tastefully updated and has lovely amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is an Aveda Spa in the hotel and the restaurant is reasonably priced. We ate there several times and were not disappointed once. The hotel is on the main drag so its a ideally located for walking around the lake or shopping. We did stay lakeside on time and didn't care for those rooms. There were beautifully situated on the lake but they need updating. The Staff will go out of their way to ensure you have a good visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The High Peaks Resort is exactly like advertised, what a wonderful hotel. The biggest draws that we saw with the hotel was an extremely cozy and well appointed lobby with fireplaces and a great Adirondack feel to it. The rooms are very nice and maybe the biggest feature is the ceramic showers with dual shower heads and a small set. One of the nicest showers we've seen in a hotel. The views from the room are also outstanding. The Fitness Center was also the best one I've used ever at a hotel with brand new equipment, top notch names in fitness, and a stocked fridge with plenty of bottled water. All cardio has tvs on them and the work-out options are excellent and it is open 24 hours, this is a huge selling point and a reason I will always go back now. The downsides are the pool area is a little dated and we had some knucklehead above us making noise all night with ski poles and banging that kept us up. Ohh, the beds are also the most comfortable we've ever had, this is the top hotel in Lake Placid other than the big three (LP Lodge, WF Lodge, Mirror Lake Inn) as I've stayed in most of the other. The Arrow is close, but a step below the High Peaks in bang for for the buck.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.