We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski Free Stay Free
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Weirton, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my second trip to High Peaks and I am still impressed with the experience. Our family loved the hotel and the staff. We definitely will be returning for a third trip.
First of all, you cannot beat the price for the amenities that they provide. I booked the Ski Free / Stay Free package and you simply cannot beat the deal. Hotel, breakfast and lift tickets for one low price. The breakfast provided this time around was a great way to start the day.
The hotel itself is well appointed, a great location and "comfortable." From the warm fireplace in the lobby and PR's bar to the cozy bed. Everything felt warm and inviting. The hotel is family and pet friendly.
The service offered by the front lobby was quick, helpful and knowledgeable. There was a mistake with our room assignment (computers were down during check-in) and the staff went out of their way to assure the mistake was corrected. They know the area and were able to offer suggestions and helpful advice to guests.
Dancing Bears is a fun place to end your day with good food and drinks, It was one of the busiest bars / restaurants in town, so the crowd kepts the evenings lively.
My wife and daughters took in the spa on our last day and they were impressed with the staff and services offered. It relaxed them for the long drive home and was the perfect ending for the trip.
Only recommendations that I would like offer to HPR is to increase your staffing in the Dancing Bears, but this seemed to be a trend in all of Lake Placid's restaurants and pubs. Service is slow, but the servers and working their tails off, but somewhat overwhelmed. I would also like to see an upgrade to the pool and hot tub area. it is nice, but doesn't meet the standards of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    242
    62
    23
    21
See reviews for
180
345
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We head to High Peaks every thanksgiving and always have a relaxing time. The hotel exceeds expectations in my opinion. The main hotel is tastefully updated and has lovely amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is an Aveda Spa in the hotel and the restaurant is reasonably priced. We ate there several times and were not disappointed once. The hotel is on the main drag so its a ideally located for walking around the lake or shopping. We did stay lakeside on time and didn't care for those rooms. There were beautifully situated on the lake but they need updating. The Staff will go out of their way to ensure you have a good visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The High Peaks Resort is exactly like advertised, what a wonderful hotel. The biggest draws that we saw with the hotel was an extremely cozy and well appointed lobby with fireplaces and a great Adirondack feel to it. The rooms are very nice and maybe the biggest feature is the ceramic showers with dual shower heads and a small set. One of the nicest showers we've seen in a hotel. The views from the room are also outstanding. The Fitness Center was also the best one I've used ever at a hotel with brand new equipment, top notch names in fitness, and a stocked fridge with plenty of bottled water. All cardio has tvs on them and the work-out options are excellent and it is open 24 hours, this is a huge selling point and a reason I will always go back now. The downsides are the pool area is a little dated and we had some knucklehead above us making noise all night with ski poles and banging that kept us up. Ohh, the beds are also the most comfortable we've ever had, this is the top hotel in Lake Placid other than the big three (LP Lodge, WF Lodge, Mirror Lake Inn) as I've stayed in most of the other. The Arrow is close, but a step below the High Peaks in bang for for the buck.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in Main Lodge, 3rd floor, for 3 nights, Dec 27 - 30 with family (2 parents and 2 older teens). Spacious room; comfy queen size; fantastic bathroom (great decor, the best shower stall, with awesome water pressure, great after long day of skiing - rainfall shower and handheld). Staff were super helpful ("Alison - aren't you so dry" ; Pamela - thanks for making it right.).Location is perfect - walking distance to best restaurants and shops. Loved the breakfast (at the Dancing Bears). But here is the true test: are we going back? You bet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a last minute trip to Lake Placid. Since it was our first time, we were flying blind. The reviews for High Peaks were great and the rates were reasonable. My wife and two children (9 & 7) checked into the High Peaks resort and we're greeted by a friendly and attentive front desk clerk. We found everyone at the Hotel to be extremely accommodating. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. We weren't sure what to expect checking in on Christmas Eve, but everything went smooth. Our room was ready early and we were excited to unpack and get settled in. The lobby is beautiful and modern with the inviting and glowing fire place next to the lobby bar. Since it was a Holiday week, the Hotel was beautifully festive.
Our room was clean, but small. Two Queen beds for the four of us was a little tight. We'll need a bigger room (suite) on our next trip. Fortunately, there is so much to do in Lake Placid we weren't in our room to often. It was a ski trip for us and we should have researched more ski and stay packages. High Peaks offered a lot of help in planning excursions and activities.

One evening, our truck wouldn't start and they had someone from maintenance at our car to help give us a jump immediately. Very impressive.
The restaurant on-site, Dancing Bear was very good. Awesome staff, great food/drinks at affordable prices. Venture out, Lake Placid has other great dining spots.

Would definitely recommend High Peaks to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception in the Lakeview Room at the High Peaks Resort on 12/15/2012, and I cannot say enough good things about the facility, food, and our coordinator Nancy Guthrie. The facility was elegantly decorated both with decor we provided and matching decor provided by High Peaks - it was beautiful! So much more than we anticipated. The staff really went above and beyond to set everything just right. The food was unbelievable. We received so many compliments from our guests......absolutely delicious! The scallops wrapped in bacon were cooked to perfection. Nancy Guthrie is everything you are looking for in a wedding coordinator. My husband and I looked at a lot of places and talked with a lot of coordinators, and we immediately felt comfortable and confident in Nancy. She is extremely organized, thorough, and patient. She must have put together over 10 proposals for us (we kept changing our mind), and always made us feel like it was her pleasure. She was an exceptional listener, and made great recommendations. I would absolutely recommend this facility for a wedding! Top notch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend in Lake Placid we stayed 2 nights in the High Peaks resort ( former Hilton). The location is perfect being right on the Main st. The hotel didn't just changed the name, all the rooms underwent a complete renovation. We stayed on the 5th floor and the view from the balcony included Main st. with the Mirror lake and the mountains in the background. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean ( see attached pictures). We got a great deal that included breakfast ( buffet and to order) and $50 dining credit which was more than enough for dinner for 2 of us.
We're very happy with our stay. The only thing that maybe negative for people with allergies or a huge positive for the pet owners is that hotel is dog friendly. However, the room and all public spaces were very clean and it didn't inconvenient us in any way.
Hope it helps.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.