We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Save Saved
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
High Peaks Family Plan!
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seriously Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in Main Lodge, 3rd floor, for 3 nights, Dec 27 - 30 with family (2 parents and 2 older teens). Spacious room; comfy queen size; fantastic bathroom (great decor, the best shower stall, with awesome water pressure, great after long day of skiing - rainfall shower and handheld). Staff were super helpful ("Alison - aren't you so dry" ; Pamela - thanks for making it right.).Location is perfect - walking distance to best restaurants and shops. Loved the breakfast (at the Dancing Bears). But here is the true test: are we going back? You bet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    228
    56
    21
    21
See reviews for
173
315
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a last minute trip to Lake Placid. Since it was our first time, we were flying blind. The reviews for High Peaks were great and the rates were reasonable. My wife and two children (9 & 7) checked into the High Peaks resort and we're greeted by a friendly and attentive front desk clerk. We found everyone at the Hotel to be extremely accommodating. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. We weren't sure what to expect checking in on Christmas Eve, but everything went smooth. Our room was ready early and we were excited to unpack and get settled in. The lobby is beautiful and modern with the inviting and glowing fire place next to the lobby bar. Since it was a Holiday week, the Hotel was beautifully festive.
Our room was clean, but small. Two Queen beds for the four of us was a little tight. We'll need a bigger room (suite) on our next trip. Fortunately, there is so much to do in Lake Placid we weren't in our room to often. It was a ski trip for us and we should have researched more ski and stay packages. High Peaks offered a lot of help in planning excursions and activities.

One evening, our truck wouldn't start and they had someone from maintenance at our car to help give us a jump immediately. Very impressive.
The restaurant on-site, Dancing Bear was very good. Awesome staff, great food/drinks at affordable prices. Venture out, Lake Placid has other great dining spots.

Would definitely recommend High Peaks to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception in the Lakeview Room at the High Peaks Resort on 12/15/2012, and I cannot say enough good things about the facility, food, and our coordinator Nancy Guthrie. The facility was elegantly decorated both with decor we provided and matching decor provided by High Peaks - it was beautiful! So much more than we anticipated. The staff really went above and beyond to set everything just right. The food was unbelievable. We received so many compliments from our guests......absolutely delicious! The scallops wrapped in bacon were cooked to perfection. Nancy Guthrie is everything you are looking for in a wedding coordinator. My husband and I looked at a lot of places and talked with a lot of coordinators, and we immediately felt comfortable and confident in Nancy. She is extremely organized, thorough, and patient. She must have put together over 10 proposals for us (we kept changing our mind), and always made us feel like it was her pleasure. She was an exceptional listener, and made great recommendations. I would absolutely recommend this facility for a wedding! Top notch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend in Lake Placid we stayed 2 nights in the High Peaks resort ( former Hilton). The location is perfect being right on the Main st. The hotel didn't just changed the name, all the rooms underwent a complete renovation. We stayed on the 5th floor and the view from the balcony included Main st. with the Mirror lake and the mountains in the background. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean ( see attached pictures). We got a great deal that included breakfast ( buffet and to order) and $50 dining credit which was more than enough for dinner for 2 of us.
We're very happy with our stay. The only thing that maybe negative for people with allergies or a huge positive for the pet owners is that hotel is dog friendly. However, the room and all public spaces were very clean and it didn't inconvenient us in any way.
Hope it helps.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We decided to stay here for a mini honeymoon so we decided to get the "Celebrating Your Love" Package. This package included a 2 night stay in deluxe accommodations, a 50 min couples massage, breakfast in bed each morning, and Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival. In the beginning it was a little pricy but we thought we should spluge since it was our "minimoon" . We checked into our room and our "deluxe accommodations" weren't anything spectacular the view was nice though. As soon as we got there we left for our massage (which wasn't that great) and later found out that our credit card was charged $200 when it was supposed to be included in what we had already paid. Upon arrival we received two slips to order breakfast for the next morning to enjoy in bed. We called to front desk to have someone pick it up, so someone prompty came and got it however, somewhere our slip got misplaced. Our breakfast in bed was supposed to be delivered at 8:30. We didn't receive our breakfast until 9:50. This was even after a phone call to room service. The breakfast that was provided for us didn't come with half the things it listed on the menu, like homefries and fresh rolls and they didn't provide enough syrup for our pancakes either. The next night we called roomservice to pick up our slip for the next morning. NOONE showed up. We waited for more than an hour and then decided to stick the slip in the hallway because we couldn't wait in our room all day for someone to come pick it up. The next morning we woke up expecting to get breakfast at 7:30... however the slip was still in the hallway NO ONE ever came to get it. So rather than having a breakfast that was included in what we paid, my husband had to go out in a snowstorm to get us breakfast. When we got home we looked at our credit card statement and there were two additional charges on it from the hotel that should have been included in the price we paid or should have been "free". Another issue with the hotel was that the internet in our room was down for at least two days which was a HUGE inconvience in trying to find restaurants to eat at and other things to do in Lake Placid. It also hindered us in being able to look at an accurate weather forecast so we could have a safe drive home. The only really nice thing about the hotel was the shower and that it was pet friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife andnimstayednhere forms wedding foe one night. The room was very clean and decorated nicely. But the best part easy the view and balcony overlooking mirror lake and the mountains. I think every room has this view but I recommend one of the upper floors. Another big plus is that the hotel is right at the end of town steps away from all the shops. Even being close to everything it still has good parking. All around good experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a perfect resort for our family, age ranging from 63 to 3 and the dog. The rooms accommodated us all comfortably. 2 Queens and a King with pull-out sofa and fabulous spacious bathrooms. Even my 3 year old grandson who hates baths, loved the center ceiling rain shower. This was almost a wet shower room but with a door and so spacious, 2 could share ! Loved the stone walls. Overall these were great rooms and excellent value, however, there were some minor housekeeping details missed. The mirror in the bathroom of the King had been left very, very dirty and so were the bathroom glasses. They had not been replaced from previous guests and like a previous travelers had mentioned they do not clear away anything from room service left over from the night before. So the empty champagne bottle and dirty plates stayed with us the entire stay. I guess you have to put them outside your room. Also, regarding room service. My daughter had ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival but they were not in our rooms when we arrived very late at night. They were found in a fifth floor room and were delivered to us eventually. We were welcomed warmly by the front desk staff and they remained so throughout our stay. They are knowledgeable and friendly did respond quickly to the whereabouts of our order. They kept the lobby fireplace roaring and there was hot chocolate and cookies during the afternoon. At 6pm a small bar opens up so this was ideal place for us a family to meet and linger. The Hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the resort ideally situated in town just across the road from the lake and close to charming shops, restaurants and cafes. It even snowed on our second day adding more magic to our location. Sorry not to have given 5 stars we had such a lovely stay but the housekeeping let them down. Word of warning, the attached spa is expensive and not that good but I doubt it's run by the Hotel. The restaurant is ideal for a large group and adequate but there is plenty of fabulous choices outside. Take a dip in the indoor pool but longer stay in the Hot Tub !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.