We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnite stay in Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Save Saved
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
High Peaks Family Plan!
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overnite stay in Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night. The room was clean and very nice. Breakfast was good (didn't eat dinner in the 'world famous' Dancing Bear). We were just off peak for color, so thought the room was overpriced even at the AAA rate of $170. The view was ok, but you're not lakefront, though I had the impression we would be. From what I could tell, all rooms had balcony and some kind of view. I should've pricelined it. We also had some hallway noise due to kids hockey tourney in town, but they quieted down early enough (10ish). Overall, a very nice hotel, but for the season a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    231
    58
    23
    21
See reviews for
174
318
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highland Falls, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Lobby is beautiful, spacious and large. The rooms are well kept and many have great views. The restaurants are nice with fresh food. Be warned, this entire area, soup to nuts, is quite pricey all around. The hotel is in a great area close to town, many nice places within walking distance. A generous selection of wedding venues. The no-smoking anywhere rule was a bit annoying, especially since many of the rooms had balconies. The lake and activities offered are nice. Generally a very pleasant place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is great. Centrally located to town, has a pool on the lake and kayaks and a dock on the lake. Our room walked right out to lake. Our room was a nice size, clean and the bathroom was clean and big as well. The lake was clean, we went kayaking, swam and lounged by lake. I also love that allow dogs of all sizes (only complaint is that you can't leave your dog unattended). You walk right out and you are in town of lake placid. There is also a great walking/running loop right outside the hotel that loops around the lake.

I am already planning my next stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My new husband and I honeymooned in Lake Placid and after much research on Tripadvisor, decided to stay at the High Peaks Resort. Upon our arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded to a Lake View Suite. We were so pleased when we saw how beautiful and spacious the room was, not to mention the stunning view. We could not have been happier and hated to leave. It was very nice to be within walking distance of almost everything that Lake Placid has to offer and the fact that the resort is pet friendly was a definite plus. We didn't bring him along this time, but we will most certainly be back with our four-legged friend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our second stay at High Peaks and we have nothing but good things to say. First, the hotel provides a fine price point between the less than exciting mid-range and chain hotels in the area and the very high end like Mirror Lake, etc. that are pricier than High Peaks without offering a substantially better experience. Location at the more tranquil end of Main Street is excellent, the views overlooking Mirror Lake are great, and the service and cleanliness are similarly fine. The bathrooms are spacious and well-appointed. The Dancing Bears restaurant is casual but cozy and provides a tasty and full breakfast and a decent enough dinner for a night. If you have the time to stay there during the week, the hotel also offers some nice deals. We will definitely be returning for a third time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

HIgh Peaks is an older property that has been well-maintained and updated. They did a great job of updating the bathrooms and creating a spa-like atmosphere. To respond to some other reviews-yes, the rain-type shower head requires that you either wash your hair or utilize the provided shower cap, but in our room there was also a hand-held shower nozzle on the wall, so there is an option. If you are a tv/news junkie, the tv speakers in the bathroom are a nice treat! The bed was very comfortable and the pillows and linens were high quality. At this price point you usually don't find the luxurious bathrobes/slippers, but High Peaks has them.
If you are looking for a place that is walkable to everything, this is where you want to stay. Other than driving to a hiking trail about 10 miles away, we left our car in the hotel garage and walked everywhere during our entire stay. Ask for a higher floor to get a nice lake view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a king room with balcony and lake view. The room was very clean, with a very comfy bed, and nice shower. Overall, I was very impressed by the quality of the furnishing.

On the minus side:
- Room service food was so-so... not very tasty...
- Indoor pool looks outdated... but I did appreciate resting in the hot tub after a day of hiking
- Overpriced... the room is very nice, but not worth the price point.
- Breakfast was not included

On the plus side:
- Convenient location right in the heart of Lake Placid
- Beautiful room and views
- Parking is included

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.