We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Trip and Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added High Peaks Resort to your Saves list
High Peaks Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski Free Stay Free
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Hamburg, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Trip and Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I have traveled to Lake Placid many times over the past 20 years. This was the first time we stayed at High Peaks Resort and loved every moment. The hotel is spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room on the 5th floor overlooked Mirror Lake and was immaculately clean and comfortable with lovely amenities such as robes, slippers, flat screen television, etc. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Having such warm weather (in the 80's) we were able to enjoy the two outdoor pools on very comfortable lounge chairs and plenty of towels provided for guests who want to swim. We also loved the fact that a nice restaurant was in the hotel with good food and friendly waiters and waitresses. Being right in the Village is also a HUGE plus. We walked and biked around Mirror Lake and really enjoyed shopping in the Village. I highly recommend this hotel, not only because of its great proxmity but it is a really is a "resort."

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the Resort and all that Lake Placid has to offer, we call this the "High Peaks Experience".
Thank you for sharing your comments, we look forward to your next visit.

Don Reaser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    244
    63
    23
    22
See reviews for
182
352
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at High Peaks this previous weekend (room 706) which is in the Lakefront Collection. First impressions - very nice property; checked in late and individual at main desk was super friendly and helpful.

The room itself was beautiful - two large queen beds, and nice bathroom. The hotel itself is very laid back, which I love.

Here's the part that I think should be tweaked. In fairness, when you book one of the lakefront collection rooms, unless you pay extra for one of the junior suites, it is a bit "luck of the draw" meaning, that some of the lakefront rooms face the lake (amazing view), but the others face squarely into the pool (zero lake view).

While it is clearly stated when you book that it's "best of luck to you" when you book in the lakefront collection, the more I thought about it, the more I was thinking they really should change their policy so that the true lakeview rooms should either pay a little more (I'd happily have paid an extra $10 / $20 a night to get the lakeview) or have the pool view room people pay less because there truly is a discrepancy here in the experience.

Just so you're aware, I checked out the lakefront collection rooms with zero view and from what I could tell those were room 702 (701 is partially obstructed) I believe up to about room 709. (mine was squarely in the middle of the pool).

Other than that some of the perks / other things for you to be aware of. The gym / fitness room is much nicer than those of comparable hotels I've stayed at. Also if you stay in the Lakefront Property, you have free use of kayaks and paddleboats which is lots of fun and worth it. The pool also has nice tables that are right up over the water which is a nice touch.
The only downside to the lakefront property is that you are first floor, meaning everyone is walking right in front of your place (but honestly this is comparable to other beachfront type places I've stayed at). If your neighbors are pretty loud, you *will* hear them. I could literally hear every word going on next door the first night (what a beautiful shower! Do you think the tap water is safe to drink? followed by a call to the front desk to confirm that it is).

Breakfast is not included but the town is literally right there (the hotel has a great location),

Again, great property, but definitely change the rates such that there is a clear distinction between "lakeview" rooms and "poolview" rooms in the Lakefront property

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The location was ideal, close to Shopping & Eating. The area was also great for Cycling. The room was relaxing and the view from the room of the Lake and the Mountains in the morning was neat. The lobby had many comfy chairs and sofa's, and the Pool area was well outfitted with lots of place to relax. The Dancing Bears Restaurant had great food and Friendly staff. Would love to return again some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed at High Peaks Resort through a Travelzoo 2-night deal. Well worth it. Only complaint about the hotel room was that it wasn't well sound-proofed....but the rooms are well-appointed, clean, spacious, staff helpful and friendly, lovely sitting area around fire to relax...great bar/restaurant downstairs called the Dancing Bear. The food was quite good....lots of it. The
cocktails were great...certainly not watered down!! Great location for walking Lake Placid's main street. Great shopping at four small outlet stores on the main street. Great get-away weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My first visit to Lake Placid, I can't wait to go back. We will make it an annual! Great view of Mirror Lake from our luxuriosly appointed room. All staff members were very couteous and helpful. The resort had affiliation w/area golf courses for great savings. Many walk to bars and restaurants as well as things to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed two nights in the junior suite which is in a separate building across the street from the main hotel. It's right on Main Street near plenty of shopping and restaurants. We enjoyed the gas fireplace on the chilly nights and in the mornings enjoyed the great view from the small deck overhanging the lake. It was a very nice sized and tasteful room. The bathroom had a separate shower and jet tub as well as double sinks. We had trouble with opening the sliding glass door and also the TV remote needed batteries, but the friendly staff came immediately and took care of everything. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of housekeeping. The bed was comfortable and had clean linens and the room seemed tidy and clean. However, we stepped on a straight pin and some hardened candy near the back door. Also, upon check in we found a clothes tag and tissue under the sink area which remained the following day after housekeeping left. Also, the first night we enjoyed the hot tub but it was not cleaned the second day so we weren't able to use it the last night of our stay. Very disappointed with that. Everything else seemed clean and tidy and we were checking out in the morning or else we would have complained while we were there. One more disappointment was that the indoor pool and surrounding area was not very clean. Back to more positive comments, the lobby and lounge area is very nice and comfortable. The gym area was clean and provided bottled water. The outdoor pool area was spacious and well maintained. Hopefully, housekeeping will step it up because we would really like to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear yankeesgal:
Thank you for your great comments about the resort. We are glad you were able to enjoy the High Peaks Experience with us. Even though it was chilly outside we are happy you got to experience the fireplace in our junior suites. I am very sorry about the issues you had with housekeeping and you can be assured they will be addressed. . We look forward to having you back as part of the High Peaks resort family in the future.
All the best,

Don Reaser
General Manager
High Peaks Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Always wanted to visit Lake Placid area so when TravelZoo offered a spring special half price 3 day get-a-way, I jumped on the deal. What a pleasant surprise to discover High Peaks Resort as the perfect location for our visit. The view from our huge window is perfect with snow covered Whiteface Mountain across gorgeous Mirror Lake. I could sit on the balcony for hours just soaking up the view (if it wasn't the chilly days of April.) The location is absolutely wonderful. Just leave the car parked in the free hotel lot and walk down Main Street visiting shops, restaurants, former Olympic sites and keep wandering through this lovely village. We journeyed around the Saranac Lakes and visited Paul Smith College on our all day drive throughout the area. The staff at High Peaks Resort was warm, friendly & helpful. Accommodations were perfect for us and we would definitely stay here again, maybe when the snow is falling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.