We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comments” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Schulte's Family Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schulte's Family Lodge
Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No comments”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The place is quite good if the weather outside is nice,
you may take care of yourself (don't even think about continental breakfast
or room service), and you pay cash (don't give Mrs. Schutes you credit card
information - she may impose unreasonable non-negotiated charges).

Room Tip: Don't stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to get one of their one bedroom cabins for the long NYE weekend and it was excellent! The wood burning stove kept us cozy, we put the full kitchen to use and were able to fit our big group of friends at their giant dining room table for a fun home cooked meal. We were up and out at the crack of dawn every morning but the friendly couple was there with hot coffee and delicious food to offer local advice and see us off. They also have a beautiful orange tabby that added to the coziness and helped damper how much we missed our own animals! The price was extremely reasonable for everything we got, and we are literally battling with other members of our ski group to score the cabin for future visits. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights at this family owned lodge at the beginning of June. It was a very reasonable price for the room we stayed in (~$60 per night, with one night free). The room had a small fridge; we also asked for a microwave which was provided at no extra cost. The free continental breakfast consisted of apples, packaged donuts and cake. Unfortunately, the wi-fi kept dropping. It certainly went away during a heavy rain storm!

However, though the place is located just along highway 73, along the marathon route (and Ironman bike/run routes)...I'd prefer to spend a few more dollars down the street for a less of a rustic feeling and to have my own room key (I had to ask the property managers to unlock the door each time I needed into the room as my friend had the only key).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The booking process seems a little odd, but our reservation was fine. The family that owns this place is very nice and will try to get you anything you need (even a couple tlbs of butter). The cabins are rustic, but have everything you need. We stayed here for Ironman Lake Placid with another family and had a great time. we stayed in cabin "Oak 2" which has 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen and dinner area. The kitchen is small and we wish there would have been a living room area, but the front porch served as that for us. The pool was great for the kids and the location to town was great. For Ironman the course passes by 5/6 times.

The biggest parts we found were to be disappointing was that we were told there was s full fridge and it was small and if it's hot you'd better hop you have a fan or two. Other than that can't complain. It was VERY reasonably priced for that weekend especially. We fit 4 adults and 4 children into this cabin. The only times it seems tight were while cooking dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo,ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Schulte's has housekeeping cottages (I stayed in Cedar) and a motel, which I'm not familiar with. The cottage was clean and comfortable. For a place that sleeps four, there weren't enough dishes or silverware. However, sheets & towels were provided, and the latter were changed daily. (Sheets might have been too - I know they were changed at least once in a week!)
With no waterfront and no view of the mountains, this isn't a place, for me, to hang out. But it's 5 minutes outside Lake Placid village, maybe 20 minutes to Whiteface and Saranac Lake (using backroads for the latter). So getting out to do anything from shopping outlets to canoeing the wilderness area is easy by car.
Mrs. Owner is very happy to accommodate; overall, the place is fine but showing its owners' age. They've had it 40 years.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

after several glasses of wine on a recent thursday night, my friends and i made the dubious decision to register for the xterra lake placid triathlon that sunday. another friend who had previously stayed at the lodge, called schultes that night and confirmed that they had a room for us. when we arrived two days later, we were warmly greeted by our host, birgit schulte (and the lodge kitty!). even though the one room was spacious enough for our party of four, birgit was kind enough to allow us an extra room--gratis! it was great to have the extra space for our bikes and gear. the rooms are actually little hansel-and-gretel-like cabins: charming, cozy, and clean. we left before dawn the next day to register for the race--a grueling off-road triathlon in the pouring rain! though we were way past checkout by the end of the race, birgit let us return to our rooms for hot showers--even though the rooms had already been cleaned. both of these gestures were the ultimate in hospitality...something you'd be hard pressed to find in a chain hotel and truly appreciated by our exhausted and muddy group! on top of that, this hidden gem is a great value for the money--even without the free extra room. we will definitely be back to the lodge for the xterra in 2011. and next time, we'll add on an extra day so we can relax and regroup in lovely lake placid before the long drive home!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Schulte’s Family Lodge this Memorial Day weekend and just wanted share a little of my experience to help others who are thinking of staying in Lake Placid. The lodge is located minutes away from the center of town but even closer to mesmerizing beauty of the Adirondacks. The room was very neat, clean, and had an amazing private balcony with a view of mountains. The lodge and rooms are definitely unique and not you’re average Days Inn. It looks like it has been picked up from Southern Germany in the Alps and placed in Lake Placid with wonderful wood work and a very open country feel. It also has cabins and for sure next time I would like to stay in one. It seems weird to me to go to the Adirondacks and say that I stayed in a place like the Econolodge. Not only is the place great but the warmth, friendliness, and family atmosphere that the Schulte’s give you when you stay makes you feel like part of the family. I would definitely recommend staying with the Schulte’s and enjoying all of the beauty that the Adirondacks and Lake Placid has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schulte's Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulte's Family Lodge

Address: Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty lodging in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Schulte`s Family Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schulte's Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Schulte's Family Lodge to your Saves list