We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bobsled and Luge Complex

Bobsled and Luge Complex
Lake Placid, NY
518-523-4436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Lake Placid
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Sports Complexes, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take an exhilarating ride on a bobsled at this former event site for the 1980 Winter Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just do it. How often do you get to take a ride on a Olympic bobsled track? Probably a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    92
    28
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“VERY IMPRESSIVE!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is mind-boggling! When we saw how long the bobsled run was and were then told by the tour guide that the ice on it was chiseled 3 inches at a time by over 100 workers.....unbelievable!!!!

The tour was short, but the tour guide was informative, especially since he is one of the workers who carves the ice on the bobsled run.

You can pay an extra fee to actually participate in a 1/2 mile bobsled run, but after we saw the bouncing and jostling of some of the riders, we decided to forgo that part of this experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a thrill! Did this in the summer, so it's on a dry track with wheels on the sled. A bit bumpy but an amazing experience! I would definitely come back in the winter to try it on ice. A bit expensive, $70 for one ride. Would have been more reasonable at $50 since you only go about 1/2 mile on the track.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duanesburg, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bus tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We headed here one afternoon on our weekend trip in early fall. The bobsled ride was a little too expensive for our taste $70 for 42 secs. Though we did understand the reason for the cost. Those guys put in a lot of work to keep those tracks up and running. We did however take the bus tour which was great. Loved the tour guy. He had a lot of great information and happily answered questions. I would recommend taking the tour bus ride for anyone who hasn't been there before. I also liked how they had some older bobsleds parked off to the side of the waiting area where you or your kids could climb on.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Bob sled ride 45seconds of thrill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I did the bob sled run this morning. My back side and neck is still recovering. Sled was on wheels as we are still in summer season, you only run half the track but still get to 55mph. There is no comfort here and end up sitting on a couple of steel chassis rails with an excuse for padding in between ( I really think they could improve the padding as I am sure I am going to have bruises for days). Great experience as it really shows what the real guys go through. Also a short bus tour give great insight to the height and steepness of the track. Your will have much more idea when you watch it on tv.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobsled and Luge Complex also viewed

 

Been to Bobsled and Luge Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bobsled and Luge Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.