We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting luge races, but be prepared for icy conditions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bobsled and Luge Complex

Bobsled and Luge Complex
Lake Placid, NY
518-523-4436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Attractions in Lake Placid
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Sports Complexes
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take an exhilarating ride on a bobsled at this former event site for the 1980 Winter Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Utica, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting luge races, but be prepared for icy conditions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I attended the World Cup luge races last weekend. The tickets were $10, but I have to say the facility is not spectator-friendly. First, you have to walk up a steep, snow-covered hill. Part of the luge track is about halfway up the hill and you can stand on a narrow walkway under a roof to see the lugers whiz past very quickly. Most of the spectators enjoy standing at the finish line. The day I was there, it was very cold and blustery. I saw one concession stand at the very top of the hill, but that was also a strenuous hike and it was slippery walking back down.
The awards ceremony was at the foot of the hill near the lodge, but I think the lodge was reserved just for VIPs and there was no place for spectators to warm up. There was also a large tent that had some food and drinks, but one of my friends said the items were very expensive. Still, the ceremony was a nice presentation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    84
    27
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“$2 per second - Even Elliot Spitzer can't spend that kind of money...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

went here with friends. some old bobsleds and stuff with descriptions of bobsled winners on the walls.

I had friends that did the bobsled (@$80 each). The run is 50 seconds long.

They said it wasn't worth the price. But the place itself is cool and if you aren't broke it probably is worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visitors from Scotland and I took a run down the track and had a super fast time( may have been the extra weight :-) what a rush of adrenaline we all ended up laughing and shouting at the bottom...Great FUN!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want a great, fun, different trip- try the bobsled! Our family had a great time! The drivers are fun and very talented! Safe, too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were in town for the weekend and had tried to get bobsled reservations prior to arriving without success. We stopped in on a whim on our way into town and were able to pay and do it right then with a very short wait. For a 48-second experience, it's extremely expensive. But we agreed it was totally worth it to say that you'd bobsledded. How many people can say that? On the flip side, we don't feel the need to do it again (at least not at that price). The drivers were personable and good natured. My family of four went two and two on two separate sleds. The drivers my husband and son had were a little forward about tipping, but other than that, all good. The pictures they took at the end were great. It would be cool if they took a shot while going down the hill (kind of like amusement parks do on roller coasters). As part of the fee we all got a t-shirt and a pin, as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobsled and Luge Complex also viewed

 

Been to Bobsled and Luge Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bobsled and Luge Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.