We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool bobsled track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Van Hoevenberg

Mount Van Hoevenberg
Lake Placid, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 67 Attractions in Lake Placid
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Van Hoevenberg is the starting point for 31 miles of beautiful cross-country trails that have seen both Olympic and World Cup competition.
Saranac Lake
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool bobsled track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to the first bobsled race of the season here with my son and had a great time. I would recommend wearing proper clothing and boots. Its a outside venue and some of the walkways are slippery. I watched several people slip on icy steps.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great Bobsled and Luge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's exciting to see bobsled, luge or skeleton competition here. Also, you may not know but there is a great trail up the back side of Mt. Van Hovenburg which is pretty easy but gives you an amazing view of the high peaks.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulmur
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Worth visiting I have been back to Placid more than enough times to never get tired of seeing this area on my road trip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bobsled track was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Spent the better part of the day here. We took the 8 dollar guided tour of the track and walked down inside the track. An experience we were not expecting and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff was excellent particularly Ernie the tour guide.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Light hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice hike from the truck road trailhead off Adirondack Loj Road. 2.2 miles each way. Easy until last half mile, but not difficult to the top. Great views from a granite rock of the High Peaks. Good young family hike, no steep spots, except for rock summit. be careful with little ones there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Van Hoevenberg also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Mount Van Hoevenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Van Hoevenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.