We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beer is great...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The beer is great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We come here a lot and I find the food has gone rapidly downhill over the last few years. How disappointing. The whole enterprise is becoming more gimmicky. Their beer is wonderful, the variety great. However, the food is not worth considering. You can sure get by with a burger (but mind the 'fries' are some reconstituted potato mush - why can't they serve real fries?). The burger buns used to be buns and now they are some kind of a mush. The flatbread pizza was a total insult. It comes on a thin, hard as a cracker base with a thin layer of sauce and mozzarella. Not particularly tasty and for $12 a total ripoff. So, I say, drink their delicious beer and wait till someone realizes that its worth spending the effort on making the food great. Not that hard with pub food. This is a wonderful place and I really hope they get it together. For our own sake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubuman, Owner at Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello - I am glad you enjoy our beers, but I am frankly stunned that you think our food has gone downhill and become gimmicky. We have made a very strong effort to increase the quality of every item in every recipe, as well as the general quality of our menu selections. Gone are the frozen mozz sticks and other pre-made items. Now, for example, we now use a custom-cut hanger steak for our steak sandwiches, tacos, and salads, we use a three-year aged Irish Tickler Cheddar on our cheese plate, we use dry-rubbed pork belly for an appetizer and on our flatbreads, we use imported Cippolini onions and olives on our olive plate, etc.

Specifically to your items mentioned, we use a top-quality french fry, and they receive multiple, daily compliments. We recently changed away from the generic burger bun to a top-quality, fresh bun - it also has received rave reviews. We also are very proud of our flatbreads - they are crispy, and lightly sauced, and topped with homemade mozz, exactly how we have asked our chef to prepare them. And again using top-quality ingredients every step of the way.

I apologize that you feel the way you do about the Pub's food, and again thank you for the compliments on the beers, but I feel I must defend the menu quality and concepts which we work very hard to improve, offering a better dining experience each season.
Chris Ericson. Owner and Brewmaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    294
    85
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is "ok"...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Atmosphere is great (building was a church at one point), food is "ok"... service is alright, but they are way too packed for the experience to be positive. They either need to expand, or raise their prices and improve their food choices. It's a cool little spot, but it is very, very busy. So unless you want to be head to head, elbow to elbow with your dining "neighbor", I would suggest to avoid this spot.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Third floor has a playarea! Kid friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for the Lake Placid Lacrosse tournament, so needless to say it was busy in town. We brought our family of four (including a six year old and a two year old) here without a reservation and were seated right away. There is an elevator to get to the third floor for those with strollers, like us. We enjoyed a beer as the kids played in the little playroom. How cool! Food was awesome, prices were reasonable and portions generous. Server was really nice. We highly recommend the place and will be back again. Definitely!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on two occasions while we were visiting Lake Placid. The main floor is noisy so head up to the next floor or eat outside on the deck. The food is typical pub fare and good. The beer is excellent. Parking can be a challenge.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We've been here the past 2 years during the lacrosse tournament. The food and beer are very good. There are 3 floors and outdoor seating so hopefully you can find a spot you're happy with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.