We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Most recent trip to Lake Placid had us once again visiting our favorite spot in the town. As a brewery, the LPP&B offers some of the best craft beers that you can find anywhere. Especially liked the UBU and the Nippletop Stout. They also offer samplers (which have increased in price), but still a nice way to get a taste of their selection.
They also offer very good food, for a "pub". The pizza and burgers are great. Tasty and good value. The renovations have increased seating capacity which is good news .... but may still have a wait on the weekends ...... a chance to enjoy a beer outside while waiting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    294
    85
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Brewery and Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good bar food and excellent beer. Very good sandwiches and sides. Ubu is a must have. ...and the beef dip is a very good sandwich.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good beer and good food. Great combo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We tried the 6 beer/4ounce sampler. A great way to try everything on tap. Along with that, we had chili and a flatbread pizza. Both were excellent, and the prices were quite reasonable. We were in Lake Placid for four days, and this was our favorite meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A bit confusing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Parking was a nightmare, service so-so and the atmosphere confusing. We went in wanting to try the sampler. The first floor was crowded and suggested we go up a floor to the restaurant, that floor didn't have bar space only dining and sent us up another level. When reaching the third level and their bar they told us they only had some of the samples, downstairs would have them all. I felt like I was begging them to allow me to taste their flavors...really! Don't rest on your laurels when there are so many options out there

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went up Lake Placid for the Memorial Day weekend... Checked out this little microbrewery as the weather was terrible. Bartender was friendly and steered us in the right direction for what's beers to have. Great value at only $5 a beer, plus free popcorn on the bar to nibble on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.