We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Brewery and Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 89 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pizza, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Brewery and Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good bar food and excellent beer. Very good sandwiches and sides. Ubu is a must have. ...and the beef dip is a very good sandwich.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    395
    113
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good beer and good food. Great combo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We tried the 6 beer/4ounce sampler. A great way to try everything on tap. Along with that, we had chili and a flatbread pizza. Both were excellent, and the prices were quite reasonable. We were in Lake Placid for four days, and this was our favorite meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A bit confusing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Parking was a nightmare, service so-so and the atmosphere confusing. We went in wanting to try the sampler. The first floor was crowded and suggested we go up a floor to the restaurant, that floor didn't have bar space only dining and sent us up another level. When reaching the third level and their bar they told us they only had some of the samples, downstairs would have them all. I felt like I was begging them to allow me to taste their flavors...really! Don't rest on your laurels when there are so many options out there

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went up Lake Placid for the Memorial Day weekend... Checked out this little microbrewery as the weather was terrible. Bartender was friendly and steered us in the right direction for what's beers to have. Great value at only $5 a beer, plus free popcorn on the bar to nibble on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Lake Placid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My hubby and I never miss a chance to eat there when we are in Placid. So much so that we are having our rehearsal dinner for our wedding there. There is a bar on the first floor that is cozy and rustic. The main dining area is on the second floor. And then have recently renovated and added another level for more diners and private banquet room (even a small room for kids to play). The menu is better than typical pub fare. Burgers, hearty soups, bbq, salads... my favorite is the grilled chicken maple melt. But the best reason to come is the brew. UBU is awesome but if you like a milk stout you must try Nippletop. The Moose Island Ale is great in the summertime. There is a small deck for outdoor seating that overlooks Mirror Lake. It's a small place so you might have to wait during busy hours but it's worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.