We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shepherd's Pie ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 87 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pizza, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Shepherd's Pie ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The beer was really good too. I had the UBU and it was also very good. We had the cheese platter and the maple cheddar was a real joy. We got the 1/2 platter and ended up taking some home it was so much. The service was very good and loved the setting in the old church.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    346
    100
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must in lake placid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Yummy beer, and fried pickles!! All food was delicious. Three floors of seating, plus a patio.
Prices reasonable. Oh and my husband says the "Ecto wrap" was killer

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Restaurant and Pub...Very Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery on a very busy Saturday night with 2 other families...lot of little kids. The service was far beyond expectations. Even though we had to wait ~45 minutes for a large table - which any parent can tell you can be tough with several kids under 5 years old - it wasn't an issue since they put in a great little playroom for younger children. We all really appreciated they went above and beyond to cater to families, and it in no way takes away from the pub itself for those without kids. Food was great, beer was great...we'll be back next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The mark is a bit generous for the experience we had here, but it wasn't as bad a 'poor'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had had a beer at Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood and would have preferred to stay there, but the menu (as would be expected from the restaurant's name) is very limited for vegetarians, so came to Lake Placid for the menu.
The vegetarian French onion-style soup (to quote the menu) is what drew me to this place and would possibly (as a European) not be recognised as advertised, but it was good.
Also had a half order of the new york platter and the cheeses were very good, especially the goat's cheese. Unfortunately the local-baked Ubu baguette had mold/mould on the bottom (luckily noticed before biting into it) which was replaced with some toasted baguette.
When the check came there was no reduction for the first offering of bread. When I pointed this out to the server she immediately gave a $7 reduction (from an $8 price this was most generous, especially as the bread had been replaced), but I had to ask for the reduction and as a shy and retiring Brit this is not an easy thing to do - why not just take the money off in the first place and give the customer a warm, fuzzy feeling?
The beer was disappointing too. Pity, wanted to like this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beware the UBU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great evening that began at the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery! Our server, Tim, was excellent, and the food was even better. We suggest the cheese and crackers appetizer - which had the best goat cheese we've ever had, sausage, salami, and this fabulous maple cheddar that you MUST try! It really complimented the UBU, as well, which was smooth and tasty (all of them). We finished our meal with fresh fish fry, wraps, thin pizza, and more. It was a fabulous meal to wrap up a wonderful day in Lake Placid!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.