We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Delicious dinner! Well worth the wait. Arrive early. Parking is a pain! We were there for dinner and had an hour wait. Try the beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    340
    98
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“UBU Ale is King”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

That is really all you need to know.

However, if you want to know more, the food is great, service is friendly. Sometimes they get busy, never had a bad meal though. Specific point to stop there any time I'm in the area at least for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“was there 10 days visited LPPB twice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

UBU the best beer... Artichoke crab dip amazing... waffle fries perfect to watch superbowl... fried whole fish fillet on buffulo sauce nothing gourmet about it but surprisingly fun to eat. and the mecca of all smoked ribs...with maple and beear sauce..complimented by nice crispy large fries!!! seriously i 'm going to stop... bye... just go.
I wish that for every review they would send me a six pack and 1/2 rack.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, but poor management planning.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were on vacation in Lake Placid and chose not to eat out all week instead cooking in. On our last night we chose to go out to dinner. We are beer enthusiasts so we decided on the Lake Placid Brewery. When we arrived we noticed that there were three floors. The bottom looking like a dimly lit bar room, with what seemed a limited menu, The second floor a real brewery feeling bar, and the third a seemly classier restaurant. the first and the second floor having the same menu. we went into the second floor because we wanted the brewery feel. there were many tables available, but the hostess said she would have to seat us on the upper level. we saw her grab menu's so we assumed it was the same up there. we were seat and the very nice waitress came to take our order. I ordered the Beer Sampler off the front of the menu which had been placed in front of me. the waitress then informed me that they did not have the sampler on the third floor of the BREWERY. I was confused so I asked for a minute to think, when she returned I questioned why they didn't have the menu item on the third floor, and why they would seat us up there if the menu was not the same especially without first notifying us. she was very kind and helpful offering to fix the mistake by walking the single fight of stairs to grab the sampler from below. she returned about fifteen minutes later and informed me that her manager said that, "it would open up a can of worms" if she brought me a sampler on the third floor. she really wanted to fix the issue, but the management was not as concerned with keeping its customers. also out of the six beers they advertise on the menu only four are available on the third floor. I cannot understand why a brewery would do this to itself. your beer is why people are coming to eat there why wouldn't you want to show case it? the food was decent. we had honey garlic wings, which had a delicious sauce, but were a bit soggy even though we asked for extra crispy. my boyfriend had a burger which was cooked perfectly and very large for the price. I had the fire fish with was also very good. my beer I ordered off the limited menu was also good, but I would have liked to have more of the brewery experience I can get good food and good beer many places, but at a brewery I expect the beer to be the showcase.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubuman, Owner at Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Pokerlady29. Thanks for taking the time to write about your Pub experience, and for acknowledging the parts of your visit that you enjoyed. We are a rare brewer-owned brewpub and I do not think you could find a brewpub or brewpub owner that is more passionate and dedicated to their beer and the industry. I believe your experience is the result (unfortunately) of the timing of your visit. And I do apologize. We have been under renovations and conducting an expansion since May (so in our 10th month). This includes a 60% expansion of the brewery so we can brew up to 56 barrels per week. You visited us during the second week of operation of the new, third floor area. Months of decreased brewing capacity had caught up with us and we were low on beer. We were still ironing out our systems and procedures for service on the new floor. In fact, we didn't even realize that the 6 beer sampler was still on the front of the menu. We have now reprinted the cover as well as offer full 6 beer samplers on every floor of the Pub. Again, when you visit the Pub you see beer lists on every menu and on each table, chalkboards with the beer lists on many walls, next to the many awards we have won in our 17 years in business. We are incredibly dedicated to our craft beer industry and brewpub offerings and I hope you will give us another shot when back in Lake Placid. Chris Ericson, Owner and Brewmaster, The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rush, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lake Placid Pub & Brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I had skied at Whiteface Mtn. and came to Lake Placid for a room and food. We stumbled across The Lake Placid Pub and Brewery and had the best service and food in a long time Its not your usual pub with "bar food"! We were seated immediately and our server came over within minutes. The menu has many different foods along with "regular" food. Our drinks and soup came out right away and was hot and delicious. We didn't have to wait for our server after we were done with our apps. ,she was very attentive and took our dinner order. I ordered the pear salad with goat cheese and my husband ordered the shepherds pie. we were both pleased with our choices. The atmosphere was quite pleasant. They are doing some remodeling but we could hardly tell. There seemed to be a steady crowd coming in. We are looking forward to returning again. We go up to the adirondacks about 5 times a year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.