We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 95 restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The food, beer, and atmosphere are great; we look forward to stopping by whenever we make it up to Lake Placid. The food can take a while but its a busy place. We went with 6 adults and 1 18 year old, all the adults had 2 to 3 beers each but the 18 yr old was never offered a refill on her water but beer refills were right on time, also one of the adults was never brought the water he asked for. The service could be better and certainly friendlier.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    241
    234
    59
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
larabe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice brewery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went for lunch. I had a pork sandwich, was really good, my husband had a steak sandwich, was really good. We both had beer made right there, really good. Price was reasonble for everthing. You could see where the beer was made and you could buy it to take home. It was a little crowded but they are fixing the third floor for more space. It is walking distance from main street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good, but very long waits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is probably one of the best restaurants in Lake Placid. I'm not a beer drinker, but many compliments about it. Everything was very good, except the wait. If you want to get here about 5:45, you could expect to eat around 5:20. If you get there about 6:45-7:00, expect about a 2 hour wait. As most every other restaurant in Lake Placid, they charge 2.50 for a Coke, and for every refill.
Overall- very good.

(Wouldn't suggest for small children as it is pretty loud downstairs, in the waiting area+ bar, where you will probably be for a while)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit, but long waiting times due to the popularity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

There is definitely a reason why this pub is rated so well. It makes its own beer, which is not bad at all, it offers a good variety of food on the menu, the service is courteous and it is really for everyone. I saw a lot of families coming in with their kids, since the ambiance is quite reasonable for everyone. The waiting times are long regardless of the time of the day, but I mean, it is popular, so what do you expect? At least you can wait downstairs in the bar and not outside or on the stairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Beer & Buger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had lunch Here on our first day in Lake placid and loved it. The Bartenders were all very nice and gave some great recommendation for some awesome local Beer. The food was also very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.