We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the beer, stay for the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
813 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
+1 518-523-3813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Fairport, NY
1 review
“go for the beer, stay for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

reasonable prices, good tasting beers.
i had the 46'er which is a pale ale, i also had the cascade seasonal pale ale that was just a bit too hoppy for me. the moose island is a killer beer, kind of light like a blue light. steak sandwich was great and pulled pork was delicious. definitely going back before we leave. very good service!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    340
    99
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Had dinner here - three adults and four kids ranging from 11-13. EXCELLENT burgers of every kind - beef, black bean and turkey. Juicy, huge and delicious. One person in our group had the ribs. The half portion was more akin to a full slab but had a little too much BBQ sauce on it for our liking. None of our entrees was more than $12 and we could not finish everything. Service was fast and courteous and we were there on a Saturday night and the place was full.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful service. Be patient, you're on vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a table for 5 and great fun with the wait staff. They put up with our family shenanigans and played along nicely. It was a Sunday at noon and the place was packed with an array of young, old and locally familiar. Food was good but not great. It really is the atmospher; specifically the fun of being amoung people of all ages and sports affiliations. Even Yankee fans were tolerated and treated with all the respect they deserve. Be patient when awaiting your meal. Delivery is timely but not fast. Remember if you are out-of-towners you are probably on vacation or awaiting results of your childs latest sports event., the staff know this and do their darndest to be accomodating. It is loud both upstairs and down. I would not recommend for families with small children under teenage years. Good place to have fun for those of you with a sense of humor.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesville, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and hospitable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have now been here thrice and the atmosphere is always warm and inviting. I especially enjoy the large collection of college pennants in the upstairs bar and dining area. Our bartender was extremely patient with a couple of novice craft beer drinkers and made two great recommendations (I don't like the bitter beers, so Adirondack Gold and Moose Island were perfect for me). My girlfriend and I were also big fans of the waffle fries topped with beer chili.

I had first visited this bar in March of 2010 during the NCAA DIII Frozen Four and was pleased to see that it was popular among many alumni hockey players who had come to see the games. My second trip here was in December of 2010 and I came in alone to get away from my family for an hour or two (wound up being four). Every trip to the LPP&B has been a five-star experience thus far.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, Great beer! Lots of vegetarian options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Such a wonderful treat after a 4 hour death hike! Waffle fries were very good, and the the vegetarian french onion soup was amazing. They had a lot of vegetarian options-which was great for me, as a lot of places only have a few obligatory items :) The beer choices were very good, and we all enjoyed tasting each of them. The kids menu was diverse for a brew pub too. Good service made it even better. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.