We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not (!) 4 stars” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cilaos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Cilaos to your Saves list
Hotel Le Cilaos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40E, Chemin des Trois Mares, Cilaos 97413, Reunion Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cilaos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not (!) 4 stars”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you expect a 4star service you will b disappointed. Everybody is very helpful but it just doesn't fit with a 4star service. No help with the baggages (no elevator too), the rooms have very noisy minibars and are somehow sterile. Spa services are either not available (massages) or quite expensive. One final tip: don't go to the restaurant, you definitely find better places in Cilaos.
It's the details that count!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    38
    48
    17
See reviews for
33
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Maybe because it has had a re branding (now Les Cilaos) I thought this hotel was good value for the price. Remembering that Reunion has mainland France economics I'm not sure what other travellers were expecting for their money. The room was large and clean, as was the bathroom, the view from our balcony was great. Staff were pleasant, helpful and spoke a little English. Breakfast copious.

Agreed that wifi only worked in the lounge, but hey what lounges, big tv, squashy sofas and log fires!

My only caveats would be that, yes it is out of town but that is clear from any research you could do in advance, and yes it was very quite during the week, going from 3 set of guests to full from Thursday to Saturday. We didn't try the restaurant but it did look very quiet..

Room Tip: 201 good balcony with view but next to family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

While we were in Cilaos we stayed both in the Vieux Cep and the Chenets so this report can be read together with the other. Overall we are more likely to return to the Vieux Cep, maybe trying to get a bigger room.

The Chenets
This hotel is a little way out of the town but in easy reach of the little boating lake which is quite a pleasant place to walk to. There are two main buildings with a covered bridge between the two. Internet is available free but only close to the reception, although it is supposed to work in the rooms I could never get it to work in ours, a complaint brought no results.
The second building was built in 2000 and was where we stayed. We has a "superior" room which was quite spacious, in particular in comparison with the Vieux Cep. There was a much larger TV (with a remote) and the bed was larger although with blanket rather than quilt. Most importantly there was a small fridge which enabled us to keep milk for morning tea in our room made with out travelling kettle. This was a big plus for us.
According to your point of view here are some irritating/amusing features of the room. The first was a loo which was not fixed to the floor so every time you sit down there is a crash as it tips forward and then another crash as it tips back against the wall. Wardrobe with no handles. The complete opposite from the Vieux Cep the sinks had plugs but the lifters didn't work. The pool was warmed and totally enclosed by the building which we didn't like as much as the the Vieux Cep. There are fixed loungers and NO parasols, although there is shade from the buildings.

The resto is quite good, but be careful of the fixed meal with no al la carte we thought this expensive. House wine is adequate, we always have tap water. Breakfast time you are offered a bit more than is usual in French hotels including meat and cheese, and fresh fruit salad.
Overall I recommend this hotel with reservations but having then gone to the Vieux Cep that also is not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Set on a hillside on the perimeter of town, the front rooms have beautiful views over the town and to the mountains. I suppose the back rooms just look at the hill ! It's fairly modern and clean, but basic. No lift. Restaurant huge but empty (not a good sign, but it was off-season) and a bit pricey. Pool tucked away behind main building, so no views from there. Breakfast was sparse. Plenty of secure off-street parking and the centre of town is only a short walk by the lake. It passes muster but don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: get an upper floor, front room in the second building - the one away to the right as you approach th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The drive to Cilaos is an experience in itself. The hotel caters largely for the German tourist market and when we arrived it was low season and only 3 rooms were booked. Because of this the restaurant was closed and we had to walk into the town for dinner. No real problem with that but the walk back was through poorly lit streets and would have been intimidating for single guests.
The hotel itself is blessed with good views of the surrounding countryside and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly enough and the breakfast that we were offered was pretty good considering that the kitchen appeared to be closed.
OK for a night or two but no more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

After 40 minutes of very dangerous driving in the mountain, we arrived in the city, no signs to indicate the hotel. On honeymoon, the hotel booked a twin bedroom. Luckily, they gave another one. The bathroom was full of dumb, the bed was noisy,... The sauna can take only 2 persons, be prepared for queueing. The restaurant was extremely expensive for the food served. The breakfast is also very poor. Remember, the drive back is as dangerous as going there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We planned to stay two nights at hotel Les Chenets in Cilaos, but left after one. The hotel is probably the best you can get in Cilaos and maybe was a good hotel once, but is nowadays far from good. The hotel has a superb location and could be a really wonderful hotel if they would just put an effort into it. We found that the hotel and the restaurant rest on their laurels. The room we were given was rather small, the bed was not good at all, the floor in our room was not really clean and neither was the bathroom. We could not take a shower because the showerhead fell apart... The heated pool is actually the only good thing at the hotel. There is also a free sauna and hamam. However after having seen the sauna, we did not really dare to use the hamam. The sauna was, like our room, not clean and up for renovation. We were also disapointed that the onsite restaurant serves a buffet on Saturday evening. The food in general was ok, but not outstanding. This also goes for the breakfast. The restaurant does offer great views.
We left after having spend one night at the hotel and, upon check-out, mentionned our disapointement in the hotel. We did not mention anything earlier to the hotel staff, because we already decided in any event not to stay any longer. The receptionist was surprised by our comments and told us that the spots on the floor were due to the kind of tiles.... He also replied to our comment that our bathroom was not clean in the sense that we could have changed rooms, implying that other rooms have clean bathrooms... All in all, a not so good experience at Les Chenets in Cilaos.

  • Liked — The heated pool
  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Cilaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cilaos

Address: 40E, Chemin des Trois Mares, Cilaos 97413, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Pierre > Cilaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cilaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cilaos 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our creole-style establishment is the ideal place to rest and relax, and fully appreciate everything "Le Cirque de Cilaos" has to offer. The lounge, the bar, the rooms, the restaurant, the spa, offers you the best way to appreciate your stay, even for holidays or for business. Welcome in the heart of "Le Cirque de Cilaos, welcome to Cilaos, welcome at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Cilaos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Cilaos Reunion Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Cilaos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.