We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tsilaosa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tsilaosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tsilaosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Pere Boiteau, Cilaos 97413, Reunion Island   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Cilaos
York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in the Tsilaosa and enjoyed it. Not a posh hotel but comfortable, decent room, good location in a really beautiful area. The breakfast was great, various home baked breads & buns, home made jams, meats, cheese, fruit, nice coffee.
Staff friendly (a bit of French will help).
It is very central (I worried about noise but had no problems) and close to several reasonable restaurants sering good local food.
The village and all the surrounding area is stunningly beautiful. But it is worth pointing out that the roads are very "interesting" indeed. Drive very carefully, especially if you are not used to mountain roads (I've driven mountain passes lots of times over the last 50 years but the roads here aren't easy). DON'T aim to arrive after dark!
Be aware but don't be put off. Fabulous area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
851 reviews 851 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I liked it. Good value too I thought for the standard of hotel.

Its a very charming building and the staff are friendly and were accomodating of my less than ideal French language skills (at least I was trying!!!).

Its very central to this pleasant highland town (the drive up from the coast is sensational). I was only staying a night before getting the 5.50am bus 15 minutes up the road to the drop-off point for the walk over Col du Taibit to Marla.

I had a hire car that the hotel kindly let me leave in their undercover car park whilst I was hiking.

I spent two nights away (day 1 went Col du Taibit-Marla-La Nouvelle and slept there. Second night I went La Nouvelle-Roche sur Plat-Marla and slept in Marla and day three I returned over Col du Taibit to Cilaos - a great walk).

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We walked the GR-R2 this summer, crossing La Réunion on foot in thirteen days. And we had one restday during our walk. And the place we chose to spend that idle day was in Cilaos. It turned out to be a good choice. Cilaos is the only place on the trail where you could really spend a whole day. And the hotel is a charming place to enjoy a day off. The room was comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They did our much-needed laundry for just a few Euros. Breakfast was varied and tasty. And we partook in the local wine tasting with the hotel owner.
The room is not a bargain, but then nothing in La Réunion is cheap. And we definitely enjoyed our rest day here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

On first impressions (that is once you get over the treacherous drive up and over the mountain), Hotel Tsilaosa appears to be a humble B&B-style accommodation, however it turned out to be quite a surprise packet. We decided to stay in Cilaos and at the Tsilaosa based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

We were greeted by some very friendly staff who spoke some English (which was appreciated, as we do struggle with our French) and the staff members were amazingly helpful throughout our trip.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite different to what one might normally expect. The range of food was quite limited, BUT each and every part of the meal was unbelievable. There were some local made conserves so fresh they still had the stones of the fruit in them, the ham was a deep, red colour and was still in the whole piece so you could carve some off yourself, there was beautiful crusty baguettes and fresh croissants and some delicious ementel cheese.

The room was quite spacious and comfortable and we had a beautiful balcony area on the corner of the 2nd floor (room 15 - worth requesting this one!). There was a stunning view of the surrounding mountains for 270 degrees around our room.

The location was also very good, with a couple of very good restaurants nearby. Chez Noe directly across the road had a very nice vibe, with some very fresh authentic local cuisine (and a generous owner who treated us to some of his own Rhum Arranje) and the pizzeria a few doors down (where the owner also treated us to some of his own Rhum Arranje). There are some stunning sites around the hotel, including a drive to nearby villages with beautiful winding roads as well as the lake at the bottom end of town.

All in all, we loved our stay at Hotel Tsilaosa and Cilaos!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Tsilaosa has cozy but spacious rooms; there was sufficient room for our suitcase and the crib they provided, which was very much appreciated. Located in the center of Cilaos, it also boasts a tea salon which delicious crêpes. The bathroom also had a large bathtub with air jets, perfect for a relaxing soak! The staff was also very friendly and helpful, and their restroom in the lobby had a great baby changing station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor for a great view of the surrounding mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benahavis, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Tsilaosa has nicely furnished rooms and excellent service. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of town, across from Chez Noé and vey close to Le Platane. The rooms are certainly not cheap, but still very much worth the price charged - do not hesitate to pick the breakfast-included option. Also very much appreciated is the Salon de Thé (opened only in the afternoon), which serves succulent crêpes!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I don't find any words to describe the pleasure of staying in that beautiful family hotel. Try it and you will see why it's mostly full booked. Very friendly owners. Tankx. You 'll see us back.

Room Tip: Try the pancakes and the tea in the afternoon. It's a lot better as the pictures can show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tsilaosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tsilaosa

Address: Rue du Pere Boiteau, Cilaos 97413, Reunion Island
Phone Number:
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Pierre > Cilaos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Cilaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tsilaosa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Tsilaosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tsilaosa Reunion Island/Cilaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tsilaosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.