We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You HAVE to go to Ngepi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngepi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caprivi Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngepi Camp
Save
You added Ngepi Camp to your Saves list
Bagani Village | Divundu Kavango, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You HAVE to go to Ngepi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had heard of Ngepi a number of times and was really looking forward to experiencing it myself. And even with expectations sky-high I was super impressed. Entertained from the moment you turn onto the road leading to the camp, the owners humor is delightful!

The facilities are very neat and the communal areas are great. Be sure to take a dip in their pool. And don't forget to walk around to have a look at each uniquely themed bathroom.

The only down-side was our solar geyer was not working so we had two days of cold showers before we decided to light up the donkey boiler. In 40 degree heat, this wasn't the worst thing in the world.

I will most certainly be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
27
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a really good campsite that is well run and obviously cared for. Grassy sites; water; electricity …what more can a camper want!! Plus very quirky loos and bathrooms, including "Poopa Falls" and "Lava-tree". All spotless. What a pleasure.

Room Tip: Campsite No 17.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was an absolutely quaint campground. They had treehouses available and they were neat! The washrooms were constructed without roofs and each one was totally unique. Our curiosity sent each one of us in the group to scout out all the washrooms to see what we would find. No 2 were alike.

The pool proved to be equally interesting as it was a platform surrounded by wire within the river.

The signs throughout the campgrounds were humorous and all the little cement decorations throughout the premises were well thought out.

The laundry facilities were adequate and spacious. Hand washing and clothes line yet the sinks were large and plenty of lines.

A thrilling experience. This comes highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Try out the treehouses. Open to the great outdoors and the river. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Was part of a tour group with Bhejane and we stayed at Ngepi for three of the nights. Was great setting, the croc cage swimming pool was really awesome. Would have loved to have stayed inthe tree houses.. next time but really enjoyed the quirky bathroom titles and had a super bath in the zinc bath with the hippos as companions:) Will definitely recommend and the staff in the area that know so much about the phenomenal number of birds were great, thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in Ngepi in May and absolutely loved it. I was slightly apprehensive at first as our camp spot seemed to be quite far through the bush from the bar reception, but with the clever winding path ways and funny signposts my first impression couldnt have been more wrong! We were in one of the further camp spots up the river and felt like we could have been the only ones there (apart from the hippos) Our view over the river was amazing and there was at least one hippo in sight the whole time we were there! The camp spot had a braai site and there was a shared shower and toilet which might bother some people but didnt matter to us, as there was always toilet roll and warm water when we needed it! We did the guided canoe (cant remember the proper word!) trip down the river which took about 2 hours and was very relaxing, our guide was great and we got up close with some hippos which was amazing! We then spent the afternoon relaxing by the caged swimming pool in the river which was a great experience and such a good addition to the campsite! Would definitely recommend staying here, dont expect luxury in terms of the site but it is definite luxury to be that close to nature with the vews this place offers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort-Zuid
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Don't expect luxury, but do make sure you spend a few nights here! It will mellow you and improve your sense of humor! Many overland trucks stop off in this funny place. The signposting alone makes the sandy drive there worthwhile. Once you arrive, you can swim in the river; they have made a 'cage' like swimming pool so that you can swim with hippos and crocs watching you, but safely out of reach. Make sure you have a torch! If you are not camping, treehouse nr 5 and a half is definitely the best 'chalet' (open on one side so that you wake up with a view over the river and the sound of hippos splashing back into the water).

Room Tip: Ask for Treehouse nr 5 1/2! (five and a half)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although on the face of it, this camp site looks great and certainly it is a cut above the average campsite, but I have to admit that the owner's sense of humour is a little too off the wall for me. The obsession with toilets is a little perplexing and it would be great if they all worked but sadly some didn't. Sitting on a loo and being able to see through the reeds to the next toilet is a little disturbing. I also found the showers highly impractical. There were no hooks for towels or clothes, shelves were set at precarious angles so that anything put on them slid off. When you step out of the shower it is onto a piece of concrete that accumulates water so getting a pair of long pants on without wetting them is a feat in itself. One shower I must say is great if scratching your fanny is your prime purpose of taking a shower. The shower head is perched above a tree branch and the water pours directly onto the branch so to get wet you have to straddle the branch - sounds great doesn't it? There was also a very unpleasant incident while we were there where they decided to fire someone in front of a whole lot of guests. Add to that waiting 1,5 hours for a toasted sandwich and you have the recipe that whether you like George Bush or not you wont be going back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngepi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngepi Camp

Address: Bagani Village | Divundu Kavango, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Caprivi Region
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Okavango delta in Namibia!! Well here is the best value for money option there is. Great accommodation, camping and food. Lots of spectacular activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngepi Camp Hotel Caprivi Strip
Ngepi Camp Namibia/Caprivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngepi Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.