We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patio dos Quintalinhos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mozambique Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patio dos Quintalinhos
Save
You added Patio dos Quintalinhos to your Saves list
Rua do Celeiro 17, Mozambique Island, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Mocambique is usually known for its Bazaruto and Quirimbas islands destinations, but a hidden gem awaits smart travelers: Ilha de Mocambique.
The poetry of this place can only be discovered in person and my hint is not to plan it as a quick visit. Ilha sums up in itself, some of the best African beauty. Cozy people, beaches, and cultural heritage from the portuguese colonial era. Add a pinch of light Muslim culture, a fishing village and few smart expats that can usefully help you in sorting out any kind of problem, and you will have a full picture of what to expect.
If you plan a visit to Mocambique you can not miss a relaxing week in Ilha.
And the place to be is definetly Patio dos Quintalinhos. especially if you are traveling with your own car, but also for its charming neighbourood and the nice, refrigerant swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Gabriele has lived in Mozambique since 2000 and is an expert on the unique architecture of Ilha. He has restored this beautiful house with great sensitivity and originality, and it is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are large and cool - ours had its own skylight and private roof terrace which was fantastic. The location is great and Gabriele can tell you anything you need to know about the island, as well as arrange transfers from Nampula Airport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

For us, there is only one place really to stay in Ilha and this is it. You cannot beat the location which is directly in front of the town beach and on the edge between stone town and makuti town. It is diagonally opposite the mosque so be warned. The muezzin’s call can be loud and it can be early. For us, this was part of the whole experience and we would not have changed it. As soon as you step through the front door, you step inside to a secret inner courtyard with a central palm tree which feels like an oasis of calm and cool after the heat and the hustle and bustle of the outside. The place is old and is beautifully restored with lots of tasteful, aesthetic appeal. Our bedroom was simply gorgeous. High ceilings, light, airy with generous proportions. It was simply and beautifully furnished. The perfect place to spend a week (as we did). It had its own inner courtyard and roof terrace but we actually preferred the views from the communal roof terrace. It did remind me of the roof terraces in Lamu town. Easily the best place to watch the sun go down on the island and to catch drifts of conversation up from the street. The breakfasts were ordinary but the roof top setting and the fresh mangoes in season were superb. We spent three incredible weeks in Mozambique and this place was by far the best value for money. Gabriele, the owner, has an easygoing charm and is incredibly helpful. He manages to combine attention to detail whilst maintaining a laid back attitude. He is very energetic and seems quite busy with all his building projects but if you can catch him, he is a mine of local information and has lots of local anecdotes. Meeting him was a highlight of our stay in Ilha and we loved his place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful rooms with interesting details and funny new ways of putting them together! We had two rooms with AC which was needed in November. One of the rooms had its own roof top.

The location is good wherever you stay on the island and this is on the middle of it.

Breakfast was only okay but the nice roof top and the fresh mango made up for it. The employees help to book dhowtrips to other islands without any problems.

Room Tip: There is only one room with AC so you'll have to book it before hand to be able to get it. (They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patio dos Quintalinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio dos Quintalinhos

Address: Rua do Celeiro 17, Mozambique Island, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Mozambique Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mozambique Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Patio Dos Quintalinhos Mozambique/Mozambique Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patio dos Quintalinhos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.