We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing surroundings, basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yasmina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tinerhir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yasmina Hotel
Save Saved
You added Yasmina Hotel to your Saves list
B.P. 29 | Todra Gorge, Tinerhir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Tinerhir
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing surroundings, basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Can not fault the location, but the accommodation was basic e.g no air conditioning. The bathroom was dark/dingy and not very appealing, but as it was only for one night it was ok. The staff were welcoming though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel is simple, but location is amazing for a few precious hours of morning sun (with delicious egg tagine and fresh OJ) before your very worthwhile hike up the mountain - just ask for a map to the Village to not get lost.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hengelo (ov)
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The best part of the hotel is that most of the people leave the gorge in the evening and you have the gorge all to yourself. There is another (more luxurious) hotel further down the road, but it seemed very quiet. It didn't have the athmosphere the hotels in the Gorge seemed to have. Hotel Yasmina itself isn't very impressive, but it could be! It is quite rundown and if it would be refurbished, painted and done up it would be worth a lot more! My hands were itching.
Having said all of this, our room was clean, we did have electricity as promised from 18:00-noon and in the morning and we had hot water. We paid DH 400 for 2 for halfboard, so nothing to complain about. The dinner was OK, it was 3-course and breakfast was OK too ... the staff in the hotel were not as friendly as Moroccon people usually are, but friendly enough. So, if you're expectations are not very high and you want to stay in an amazing part of the Gorge, I wouldn recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The location is very unique as it sits between the gorges. We were forewarned as part of our organized tour that electricity is shut off at night, there is no air conditioning and washroom facilities are very basic. Despite the basic facilities the staff were very pleasent. The staff were all from a nearby Kasbah and were very friendly. They got to know our group and created a nice experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Was due to stay here for 2 nights as part of an organised tour. In the end it was for only 1 night as the place was not good. Although the location is unique being in the gorge, apart from the standard 3 hour loop walk, there is not a lot else to do in the area. I spent a very uncomfortable night here. The rooms were not clean, the carpet looked like it had never seen a cleaner, also there is no electricity during the day, only 6pm until 10pm. So I could not sit in the room as it wasn't clean and it was dark, however it was raining out, so I could not sit on the patio but there was knowhere to sit inside the hotel to just relax and enjoy the location. I ended up in the hotel next door for a coffee. There was also no hot water. When it did stop raining, I did manage to sit outside, however I sat there for 30 mins and at no point was asked if I wanted a drink, so again ended up in the hotel next door yet again

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
|Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Visited the Yasmina Hotel recently while touring Morocco. While the hotel is set in a stunning location and looks nice from the outside, the accommodations are very basic. It is fine for a night, just don't expect anything fancy. The rooms are cramped, bathroom is functional, but stark and the plumbing is leaky. (The toilet leaked after every flush, creating a stream that flowed into the shower drain.) The breakfast was okay, but the local cats being allowed to wander through through the restaurant and climb on the tables to lick the plates after guests got up from their meals was nauseating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here one night whilst on an overland trip in our Land Rover across Morocco. We'd been sleeping in the Land Rover for a week and needed a hot shower. Hot water is not a strong point of this hotel. It took 15 mins to get luke warm water through the pipes. Barely warm enough.

Room was basically furnished with a western toilet, Bath with shower. Double bed and a single, Air con unit (off season in winter so switched off). Room got very cold over night but there are blankets a plenty. We would have had a better (warmer) night in the Land Rover to be honest. Bed linen was clean but would recomend a sleeping bag liner anyhow. Under the bed was a dirty so there may be bugs.

The accomodation was half board at 400DH with an excellent evening meal consisting of soup and a Tagine with fruit to finish. The water was 15DH for 1 litre. The breakfast was bread, jam and omlette with coffee or tea. There were 12 people staying in the Hotel on the night of our visit. The staff speak multiple languages. We witnessed Japanese, French and English being spoken by the manager and one would presume he speaks Spanish and Arabic also.

Parking off the main road is available and recommended.

Would I stay there again....maybe not. Arrive early to get the most of the sun on the terrace, have a mint tea and decide if you want to stay. The Market in the adjacent Gorge is worth a browse.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yasmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasmina Hotel

Address: B.P. 29 | Todra Gorge, Tinerhir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Tinerhir
Also Known As:
Yasmina Hotel Tinerhir
Yasmina Hotel Morocco/Tinerhir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yasmina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.