We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saghro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Saghro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Saghro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP46, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Tinerhir
Leeds
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour of Morocco with Explore. We stayed for two nights in late November 2012. The setting for the hotel is excellent with great views from the terrace around the swimming pool over the town and valley below..... we also used this hotel as the base for walking in the Todghra gorge, which is just round the corner.
Room was fine and typical of what we had found in Morocco. The beds are quite hard, but we prefer them that way. The lighting in the rooms subdued, and heating is required at this time of year, provided by the A/C unit.
The restaurant was a disappointment. We arrived for our evening meal (which was not included in our package) and were asked which group we were with, and then told what we would be having. As this meal was not included in our package we found this somewhat surprising. We were offered a three course meal, soup, chicken tangine and dessert...... but by this stage we were tangined out.... and so asked for the menu. This simple request seemed to fall down a language gap..... the offered meal was repeated, and the request for the menu also repeated. This time the waiter wrote down the offered meal and told me this was the menu! We then asked if they could do an Omelette.... "oh yes, no problem"..... By this time, attempts to discover what further delights their kitchen could produce had exhausted us.... so we had Omelettes. We were not able to have any fillings in the Omelettes, so they were plain and served with well over cooked carrots and courgettes. We did have a dessert, my wife a passable creme caramel, and I an orange salad (cut up orange on a plate)....... The next night we ate out at Restaurant Inass, just up the road towards the gorge, and had the best meal we had on the whole trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here whilst on tour with encounters....and boy was it interesting!

The hotel is standard and that's ok....we didn't expect luxury. But the beds were rock hard! I barely slept and my body was a bit sore the next day. Others complained as well. The aircon worked, barely, but it tried!

At this hotel you get served dinner, it's not buffet style. The food was ok, the dessert was horrible. Breakfast the next morning was even more dismal with old bread and croissants! I ate nothing!

We went to the city for a walk, which is not far away. There's a hotel there with a cute terrace and we stopped for some drinks. Twelve of us ordered various items...and the price cam to 120 dh. Much better than the overpriced hotel!

I was glad to get outta there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our tour with Encounters Travel. The AC in our room wasn't working, the hotel tried to fix it immediately and when they were unsuccessful they gave us a new room with working AC. Full marks for sorting the problem efficiently with no fuss.

The pool area could do with an update, the loungers were past their best.

Decent but compact rooms and the reception and restaurant were pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We came to Tineghir from tents on the Sahara, so this hotel seemed relatively luxurious. The hotel is built at the top of the highest hill in the city. Many rooms, mine included, offer a terrace with terrific views of the city center below and the oasis created by water flowing down from the High Atlas Mountains. My room was medium sized with functioning power, light, television and plumbing. The hotel was clean and the dining room good for breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floors have a terrace with fine views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel had a good location up a small hill about 5 min from the main street. The rooms were quite basic but very clean with great balconies giving great views. The pool area was also great but March is a bit chilly to be swimming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel reminded me of the good old days Rusia was still the USSR. All that can be broken, was broken, such as toilet, bath, curtains, television, doors etcetera. And the furniture and decoration was exactly like in the fifties. No problem, but don't call yourself a four star hotel, when you can't meet that standard. And worse, instead of everywhere else in Morocco, the food was just bad. Never take the days menu in this hotel!
And all is so sad, because it is so unnecessary. The hotel has everything to be a great place: a good location, a good building, great surroundings and great views. It only seems to miss a good management, that can inspire it's staff to make it a great place for their guests.

The only good things about Saghro are the beds. These are firm, clean and good. And as promised, they gave us two connected rooms, one with a kingsize bed and one with a double bed. We only had to pay twice the price they confirmed us by e-mail. So be sure to check and double check before you book here. Anyhow, there have to be better places near Tinghir to stay for a view nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The rooms were the usual Moroccan clean-meaning they don't bother with walls and corners, places you don't touch directly. The beds were ok. I had a nice view out of my room of the deserted kasbah next door.
The main people were not that friendly, but the guy that does all the work, like getting a light bulb, carrying luggage etc, was VERY friendly and helpful.
Great views from the 3rd floor, great for sunrise and sunset photos, of the surronding area, from High Atlas to Anti Atlas Mtns.
Wifi in the lobby only.
They made fresh Berber Bread for breakfast, which was a nice touch. Perhaps what makes it 5 star. The lobby was really nice, and I am sure the pool, which was gorgeous, would be great in the summer.
It was a 5 minute walk down the hill to town, or taxis to Todra Gorge.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Saghro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saghro

Address: BP46, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Tinerhir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saghro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property holds the name of one of the famous mountains in the region. Located in the touristic zone of Tinghir, Kenzi Hotel Saghro is only 15 kms far from the Todgha Canyons, and with a beautiful wiew over the Todgha Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Saghro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saghro Hotel Tinerhir
Hotel Saghro Morocco/Tinerhir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saghro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.