We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Rodriguan Charm & Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mourouk Ebony Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rodrigues Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Save Saved
You added Mourouk Ebony Hotel to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mourouk, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Rodriguan Charm & Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the idyllic setting and with our room offering panoramic views of the beach. This hotel does not rely on airs and graces to delivery great hospitality and service. The staff were genuinely warm and helpful. The food provided was delicious and authentic Rodriguan cuisine. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. This is the perfect place to de stress and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
26
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Not my first visit but I was pleasantly surprised with the incredible culinary experience after my recent stay in March 2014 for 4 days .It was the new Chef Thierry that made all the difference. The food was amazingly delicious and unmatched in its authenticity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

People there,are true. Nice sevice and clean rooms. The beach is also very beautiful and i was glad to try kitesurfing session. Forme its the best kiting spot in the world and i had enjoy the kitesurf festival 2103.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtius
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Keep away all attempts to put a star grading to E Mourouk. It is an old hotel which just passed through a violent cyclone, no TV, no telephone, JUST THE BASIC. Wifi only in lobby and quite slow but airconditioned room with ceiling fan. However after the one hour to adapt to this change which brought me 20 years back in time; it was worth the price.
The staff is simply marvellous. Very windy area and the only place where kitesurf is practised. Had the chance to have a real buffet "Rodriguais" with the "Sega Rodriguais" afterwards.
Enjoy and let your stress deplete by driving all over the island in a 4x4. You'll love every bit of it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the horizon, better get one nearer the main lobby- A or B. There is however a VILLA O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Mourouk and found it very enjoyable. Checked in on a Wednesday around eleven and were greeted with the traditional "jus limon" ! They were by far the best we had on the island ( and trust me we had a few ! ). The hotel is quite old and you can tell by looking at the various amenities and the rooms. The latter needs a face lift especially the bathrooms. The swimming pool is nice although this also needs renovation. However and strangely enough for us, these little things didn't really matter at Mourouk. I still ask myself why as I tend to be pedantic about these !!! Food in rodrigues tends to be a lot of seafood and we weren't disappointed with what was offered at Mourouk. We had lunch at the beach bar which I rarely tasted fish that fresh ! Dinner was buffet for 3 nights with very good variety. The barbecue buffet on Wednesday was simply outstanding ! Fish grilled to perfection, local meaty grilled lamb on its bone ! On one of the nights, there was a 3 course menu with soup, fish with a safran source and a chocolate fondant. Again full marks for the food. The chefs are easily approachable and you can request something specific if you can't have what is on the menu. Likewise breakfast is a rodrigues continental style. We used to ask for "crepes" and chocolate sauce and within 5-10 mins you had them made and brought to your table. The "jus limon" was probably best during breakfast. Drinks ( water, soft drinks, beer, wine and local cocktails ) are all affordable for a hotel.

Service in general was 5 star. The staff ( all from rodrigues ) are always smiling and attending to your needs. They are always cool, relaxed and never felt like rushing.

All in all, if you want something with stunning beach views or fancy kite surf, want to enjoy decent local cuisine and aren't fussy the old room / amenties at an affordable price, then I think Mourouk should be top of your list of hotels to consider. Wholeheartedly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is mid way from the main entrance and the reception ( bungalows D or E ). The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black River, Black River, Mauritius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

i went there for the fist time for my birthday in October 2011. I was impressed by the peace and harmony there. The people are soooo kind and friendly. The hotel was very nice and I really liked it there. I then offered 4 days stay for their 25th Anniversary and they too had a memorable time there. Highly recommend you this splendid hotel...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights and 5 days at the hotel. We arrived in the morning in Rodrigues and after a little lost adventure, we finally arrived at Mourouk at noon.
At our arrival, you are immediately taken care of by a smiling staff, a cold towel and of course the best of all the amazing and famous limon juice.We checked in very rapidly and found our room with a beautiful view of the sea.
We had lunch there and were more than satisfied by the tastefulness of the dishes. You really have to try the "salade ourite sec" which is the best of all.
I could write a literature about this hotel but will make it short this time.
* Perfect location - 30 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to Port Mathurin, 10 minutes to Mont Lubin and 5 minutes to Gravier.
*Perfect wind location for windsurfers
*Amazing staff - Always there to help, always smiling, 5 star staff.
Entertainment - Awesome!
*Rooms - Good. No TV but so much do do outside that you don't mind.
*View - Breath-taking
*Food - Wonderful - A good variety for breakfast and dinner - Very tasty! Cocktails also were very good.
*Overall Price - Excellent

Room Tip: Rooms J1, J2, J3 - Best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mourouk Ebony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourouk Ebony Hotel

Address: Mourouk, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mourouk Ebony Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mourouk Ebony is set up facing the vast lagoon, streaked with various shades of blue and turquoise contrasting with the deeper blue of the winding channel and sheltering a number of desert islets. The hotel rests onto a hilly landscape flanked with isolated sandy beaches that is sure to remind one of the African Savanna. The hotel offers an excellent food and is well known for its particular family atmosphere and its land and sea sports activities mainly kite surfing, funboard, diving and deep-sea fishing. The hotel is 30 minutes by car from the airport and also 30 minutes from the capital Port-Mathurin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mourouk Ebony Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourouk Ebony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.