We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, and even greater people looking after you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ravenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rodrigues Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Ravenal
Save Saved
You added Le Ravenal to your Saves list
Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, and even greater people looking after you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant ten day stay at Le Ravenal, being well looked after by JeaMarc, Margarette, Jenny, Pierot and all the team. The accomadation was very clean and spacious, with gorgeous sea views, everthing you could ask for. Every day we woke up to a tasty breakfast of fresh bread, fruit, juices, coffee and eggs and every evening we felt spoilt with a three course dinner which was always freshly cooked and preceded with a rum and lemon aperitif as well as accompanied by wine. The onsite pool was a real pleasure in the hotter parts of the day, as well as the beautifully maintained gardens, which were bursting with many plants and flowers. JeaMarc organised great days out visiting the local islands, as well as taking us out on his boat for some squid fishing, and was always there to give recomendations on what to do and where to go. We would not hesitate to rebook, if we' re lucky enough to return to the beautiful island of Rodrigues.

Room Tip: All the rooms were spacious, and came with an equally generous ensuite bathroom, as well as balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mauritius
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent a week at this place and just got back. Already missing this lovely place run by a lovely couple, who really makes you feel at home. I surely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for authenticity and to learn about the hospitality of the Rodrigues people. The owners Margareth and Jean Marc are humble host. The food is excellent and the rooms are simple and clean. Thank you to the Pierrot who every evening will welcome you with his home made punch and so proud of it. Once again THANK YOU and sure will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We booked our accommodation on Rodriques using the internet. The pictures were enticing and the emails we received from the B & B welcoming. We were not disappointed. Our host, Jean-Marc met us at the airport and drove us to his home. The B & B is on a hill, two kilometres from the main town of Port Mathurin, with stunning views over the turquoise sea. Our room contained a very comfortable double bed, two chairs and a small table, and a good sized ensuite bathroom with shower and basin. All clean and tidy and opening out on to a balcony with that beautiful view of the ocean. There was a pool but being winter we did not venture in. Our hosts provided simple uncooked breakfastsof bread and fruit. A vehicle and scooter was available for hire, and Jean Marc offered tours to the island's sights. On our return at the end of each day, our hostess, Margarette cooked up simple but delicious meals, including the local dish of octopus. This is not a sophisticated destination but offers rest and relaxation and a warm welcome.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Room was a bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

As my friend and I checked in, we were immediately pleased by the peaceful and beautiful environment of the Guest house Ravenal.

The rooms are clean, air conditioned, equipped with TV and fridge, bathroom, wc, and are quite spacious too.

The swimming pool is small but nice. And from the swimming pool you have a beautiful view on the sea.

Daily room service is offered and guests also have at their disposal a fully equipped kitchen, even though half board is offered. The owner also kindly prepared fish we caught during a fishing parties.

Diner is of 'family type'. The food is excellent and mostly sea food is served.

The beach, shops and public transport are at 5 minutes walking from the guest house.

The owners also organise outings and excursions for the guests.

The rates are very competitive and the service is above expectations.

  • Liked — Peaceful environment and kindness of owners
  • Tips/Secrets — Book well in advance (2/3 months)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Ravenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ravenal

Address: Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Number of rooms: 122
Also Known As:
Le Ravenal Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ravenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.