We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appreciation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pointe Venus Hotel to your Saves list
Pointe Venus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mont Venus, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“appreciation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Well located , clean environment. People are charming , help you to plan your visit appropriately guiding you to the island> attractive places. My daughter enjoyed the deepsea diving . while the caves were interesting to me.

Room Tip: A place where time stand still. Captivating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    7
    10
    10
See reviews for
19
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Curepipe, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Checked in in december 2012. At first sight, the room looked great to me and the view of Port Mathurin and the sea were marvellous. Then I noticed that the room was poorly maintained- the divan was unclean with a small amount of hair in one of its corners, the shower's tap did not work and sometimes a foul smell came from the bathroom. Towels were yellowish and were changed only every 3 days! The room had ants which invaded my suitcase. The mini bar was out of order. The AC and fan were in good shape though. The food was average- breakfast was great, I loved the chocolate bread and the french bread too. Dinner was bad... no variety of food. Entertainment was average though. What I liked was the quietness of that place which was excellent for relaxation. Ive also been to the hamam which is quite unclean. The major plus point of this hotel remains its proximity with Port Mathurin. Id prefer looking for another hotel for my next visit to Rodrigues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel location is nice, it is found on Pointe Venus hill, giving a superb view to the sea. Fron the hotel we even have a small door down the restaurant, which gives to a road leading to Port Mathurin. From this door we have a 5 minute walk only to reach the capital of the island, which is Port Mathurin.
Room service is very nice, unfortunately same cannot be said about the receptionist. She does not have the common sense to escalate an issue to the hotel director or manager.

Food at the restaurant is nice, be it breakfast or diner.

The SPA however is not up to the level. The personnel are in fact kids aged between 18 - 20 yrs. I paid Rs 1,000 for a "massage relaxation" and i could not even feel their hands. When i added a remark, they got upset, angry and said "if it is relaxation, its light, if you don't understand, then better choose another massage".

Appalling SPA, receptionist lacks maturity, good venue, nice place, good room service and nice food.

Room Tip: You can close your eyes about the room, but be careful in calling for the director in case of issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quatre Bornes, Mauritius
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Its a very good hotel..service is good...what I've liked the most is the proximity with Port Mathurin and a splendid view of Anse au Anglais for a great sunset!!! Food is good!!! Relaxing place...its clean...a new look from traditional Rodrigues Hotel service.I love its terrace and its pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRENCH IN BERWICK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Arrived with my wife at Pointe Venus Hotel for ours 40 years anniversary.
Charming reception but that all.
Hotel run down window on sliding door spit on room 209.
with dirty bed sheets.
mentionned to staff but nothing was done.
Bar fridge empty no milk or water no coffee or the or sugar.
Booked semi pention very desappointing evening meal . poor choices.
decided to go in town restaurants the next evening.
This hotel needs a lot of personal care to compete for international travelers and not worth for a 4 stars clacification.as mention on your internet site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis, Mauritius
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good and clean hotel. Rooms clean. Room service everyday when a rock is placed on the bed. I was on holiday there in August 2012. Interesting swimming pool. Gym also was good. Everywhere was clean. Food was good for me as I am vegetarian. They prepare special vegetarian food for us. I heard others said non-vegetarian food was also good. Good Entertainment at night. We could see a lovely sea view from the balcony. Hotel Staff and administration was friendly and ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Baie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I think its the perfect place for a peaceful and unforgetable holiday. The food is so delicious, the rooms very beautifully set. And it is very well situated in Port Mathurin. I have been there in January 2012, i had booked a five day trip with my travel agency. They had arranged everything perfectly. I tried to contact the hotel directly but i think they sell their packages via registered Tour Operators. So i had to book mine with my agent. if you wish to have a quote you may wish to contact a reliable Tour Operator in Mauritius. Skyfly Travel & Tours it is situated in Pamplemousses contact no. 2438456 / 9497815. Or type skyflytravel.net on google you will get their website. i hope that this will help.

Room Tip: Exellent for Honeymooners, lovers, families and friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodrigues Island
5.0 mi away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
385.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cotton Bay Hotel
Cotton Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
4.6 mi away
Auberge St Francois
Auberge St Francois
#6 of 30 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Venus Hotel

Address: Mont Venus, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Venus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Pointe Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pointe Venus
Pointe Venus Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Venus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.