We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a long walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trou d'Argent Beach

Trou d'Argent Beach
Mauritius
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike along rocky cliffs to this pristine, uncrowded beach tucked between two jagged cliffs on the eastern side of Rodrigues Island.
Mauritius
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It is a long walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We walked from Cotton Bay Hotel to Trou D'Argent Beach, with our kids. It was a long walk along the beach. It took us about 2 hours. It was worth every step of the way. Enjoyed it

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montagne Longue
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Trou d'argent beach during my stay from 27.10.2013 to 31.10.2013 with my son. The beach is simply the best with its panoramic view, calm atmosphere and crystalline water. A must go place when visiting Rodrigues.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Liked - The wonderful sea view, the cows on the cliffs and on the beaches, the walk along the beaches, the bath at Trou D'argent Beach, mostly everything.
Very long walk - 30 minutes walk from Mourouk to Gravier + 1h30 walk from Gravier to Trou D'Argent and total of 1h30 walk back to Mourouk.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Gaube
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trou d'Argent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Easy walk from St Francois, with a number of interesting bays on the way there. Good place for a picnic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lonely place with a beautiful view and a crystalline sea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spent three days in Rodrigues Island and the last day I went to St. François beach. From there you have to walk maybe 20-30 minutes in order to reach Trou d'Argent! It's well worth!
There wasn't anyone there. So peaceful, relaxing and meditative! The sea was rough, so I preferred not to have a bath. However you have to go there!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trou d'Argent Beach also viewed

Cap Malheureux, Riviere du Rempart District
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 
Blue Bay, Grand Port District
 

Been to Trou d'Argent Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trou d'Argent Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.