We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road,, Limuru, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limuru
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long way out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a great looking hotel . But way too far out
Difficult to find out what makes it 5 star as the food was fair to average
The place is clean and the staff is not well trained
Not really a place I would recommend - unless you want to be far out of town and want some fresh air
We were there only one night - but it was safe and gardens were well kept

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
10
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

if you need a quiet time to spend with the people you love ,try out this place...i really cannot explain how i felt when we got there ..but it was magical...The rooms are very big ,loved loved the bathroom,i actually loved everything about this place ...the staff are very professional and very kind...One morning,I didn't go down for breakfast and one of the waiter brought juice for me...I mean what else can you ask for??The first few hours someone may feel like the place is haunted (at least that is how I felt :) but it is an amazing amazing place....One thing we did not like is how it is located on Google maps,we thought it was after The Village market,but it is not the case,we searched for it for like one hour or so..but then again,when you find it you are just taken away by everything

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The price is great and the hotel is beautiful, the only problem was I slept on a box spring, rather didn't sleep. Wifi didn't work in the room, only the lobby. We were to have breakfast early in the morning because of a needed 7am departure. We just request coffee and fruit. We were told the night before when we made the request that they could accommodate that. When I asked about it at 6:30 they asked if they could do tea instead. That was fine after about 10 minutes I asked about it and they asked me to go to the patio area, I waited for 10 minutes and no one ever showed up. By 7:15 we drove away hungry and unhappy. Although our group has used this place before because of the location and convenience, I'm not sure I would want to return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for a reasonably priced property with a lot of history, Sovereign Suites is a good suggestion.

It is a ways out of the city center, though worth the drive.

I had a team of colleagues traveling with me and was responsible for their travel plans. We checked in and asked the clerk if we could please have a simple breakfast precisely at 7:00 a.m. We were on a very tight schedule. I was assured that we would have it ready prior to 7:00 a.m.


Though the rooms are amazingly spacious, beds are hard and can be uncomfortable.

When we awoke the next morning and gathered in the lobby at 6:45, we found that not only had breakfast not been started, we were told to "sit and wait ten minutes" and it would be ready. Fifteen minutes later, we heard lots of clanking in the kitchen with continued promises that it would be ready soon.

At 7:15 we walked out the door of the hotel having expressed our frustrations to the front desk clerk. They all just stood there looking shocked that we were leaving.

Tip to management: when client says they have to eat at 7 and you promise it at that time, have it ready at 6:45, not starting it at 7:15.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I pass by Sovereign Suites quite often and it has always intrigued. Looks so grand from outside so I have always wanted to visit. I finally got a chance to visit the place for an event on 10th January.

The llok and feel of the place failed to meet my expectations. It had this "deserted" look. The pool for example looked so uninviting. Like no one has been swimming there lately...

I never saw the rooms , maybe they are better. Maybe.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Sovereign Suites, Limuru is a Gorgeous place. Unfortunately, that's the only good thing I have to say about it. Never have I ever seen or received such horrible service. My darling friend just had her gorgeous wedding there this past weekend. All reservations and confirmation for the premises, rooms etc were done months in advance. The bride and groom made sure that they followed up with management and all parties concerned regarding the same. This included numerous site visits. It was infuriating, to say the least that the bride and groom only found out after the wedding was over that their guests had no rooms to go to. Some of the rooms had been allocated to other guests.
I checked in at 12pm but was not given my key card. At 7pm, the bride and groom had to sit down and figure out where their guests would stay. This resulted in me giving up my room for the other guests. I was not made aware of the fact that my room was already allocated to them when I checked in.
What was worse was that the manager in charge of the bride and grooms account was no where to be seen or found. She was out of reach all weekend and couldn't even be bothered to hand over the days events to a capable colleague.
Things got from bad to worse. The food that was supposed to be served at the dinner party was served late, with some dishes being served well after the guests were done eating or given up waiting. At some point, my friend and I had to go to the kitchen and ask for cutlery and hand them out to the guests ourselves because no one seemed to care that guests waited so long that they started eating with their hands.
The room my great friend and I shared had a filthy, dirt stained carpet and no hot water. My friends got a room that had a leaking bathroom that flooded most of the space.
At breakfast, all orders were wrong and it took a minimum of an hour to get anything. Our breakfast table was cleared at 3.30 pm and only after the bride requested for lunch to be served.
I could go on and on about our horrible experience with them, especially after such a BEAUTIFUL wedding day but I'm sure you get the picture.
I WOULD NOT, in NO CIRCUMSTANCE, recommend this place especially if the management isn't changed.
Oh. Please triple check all orders and payments. They tend to double charge and are very convincing.

Room Tip: ask them to show you the rooms available. Pick for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of tea and flower plantations on Limuru road. Fresh air is in abundant supply. The view is breathtaking. The service was excellent and the overall size of the place elevates it way above other boutique hotels. I plan to keep going back!

Room Tip: Dress warm especially if planning for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels

Address: Limuru Road,, Limuru, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Limuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury and relaxation in the heart of Africa at Sovereign Suites. This five-star Kenya boutique hotel features just 14 suites, ensuring that each guest will have personalized service and feel completely at home. Set on six private, well-manicured acres of land, the property features a large lake and possible animal sightings in the morning. Sovereign Suites is an aristocratic Colonial Building on 6 acre land with two acre private fish dam surrounded by lush Tea and flower farms. The hotel marks the debut of a new luxury hotel under the Preferred Hotels - Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.