We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place HORRIBLE service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road,, Limuru, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limuru
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place HORRIBLE service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Sovereign Suites, Limuru is a Gorgeous place. Unfortunately, that's the only good thing I have to say about it. Never have I ever seen or received such horrible service. My darling friend just had her gorgeous wedding there this past weekend. All reservations and confirmation for the premises, rooms etc were done months in advance. The bride and groom made sure that they followed up with management and all parties concerned regarding the same. This included numerous site visits. It was infuriating, to say the least that the bride and groom only found out after the wedding was over that their guests had no rooms to go to. Some of the rooms had been allocated to other guests.
I checked in at 12pm but was not given my key card. At 7pm, the bride and groom had to sit down and figure out where their guests would stay. This resulted in me giving up my room for the other guests. I was not made aware of the fact that my room was already allocated to them when I checked in.
What was worse was that the manager in charge of the bride and grooms account was no where to be seen or found. She was out of reach all weekend and couldn't even be bothered to hand over the days events to a capable colleague.
Things got from bad to worse. The food that was supposed to be served at the dinner party was served late, with some dishes being served well after the guests were done eating or given up waiting. At some point, my friend and I had to go to the kitchen and ask for cutlery and hand them out to the guests ourselves because no one seemed to care that guests waited so long that they started eating with their hands.
The room my great friend and I shared had a filthy, dirt stained carpet and no hot water. My friends got a room that had a leaking bathroom that flooded most of the space.
At breakfast, all orders were wrong and it took a minimum of an hour to get anything. Our breakfast table was cleared at 3.30 pm and only after the bride requested for lunch to be served.
I could go on and on about our horrible experience with them, especially after such a BEAUTIFUL wedding day but I'm sure you get the picture.
I WOULD NOT, in NO CIRCUMSTANCE, recommend this place especially if the management isn't changed.
Oh. Please triple check all orders and payments. They tend to double charge and are very convincing.

Room Tip: ask them to show you the rooms available. Pick for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
9
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of tea and flower plantations on Limuru road. Fresh air is in abundant supply. The view is breathtaking. The service was excellent and the overall size of the place elevates it way above other boutique hotels. I plan to keep going back!

Room Tip: Dress warm especially if planning for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbackville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I just spent two nights/days at this hotel just north of Nairobi's central district.
I think it was formerly a country club and has only 16 rooms/apartments.
It provides a very comfortable and relaxed environment and the staff are all professional, courteous and helpful. It is well appointed with a full bar and very adequate restaurant.
It's about 45-60 mins taxi drive to/from Nairobi centre so you need to build that time into a journey to town but the relaxed environment at the hotel more than compensates..
I will certainly return to Sovereign Suites on my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Amazing place to stay. When we turned up we thought we were in the wrong place as we were supposed to be staying in budget hotels for our safari. It is a fair drive from the airport, but well worth it. Our room was fantastic. Food excellent. The hotel has a real wow factor. Because we were leaving early before breakfast was to be served, they provided us with a packed breakfast for us to take with us which had far more in than we could eat.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This was the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. The location is quite far from the airport, about an hour and a half's drive, but the beauty of the building, the wooden interiors, the bedroom and whole area truly makes up for it! It is perfect for a romantic trip for a few nights. The bathroom and beds were extremely luxurious and large and up to all the standards of a five star boutique hotel. The staff were all amazingly warm and hospitable people. They were attentive and kind to answer all our questions about the building and the art as well as to give us helpful advise and tips regarding what to see and do while in Kenya. Would love to visit them all again soon!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This hotel was very quiet when we arrived, we had worked out that the google map was wrong (before we set off) and were greatful for it's peaceful location. (Great for getting into that side of town but not near).
The old colonial style building is well looked after and has a charm of it's own. Especially the bar with indoor fountain. Lovely rooms we were upgraded to a suite when we found ourselves able to smell the restaurant cooking.
Staff were very helpful and gently spoken. The suite was just lovely. A few odd basics were missing, toothbrush/vanity shelf above the sink, facial tissues and bin in the bathroom. But otherwise the rooms were utterly luxurious and charming. We had a lovely romantic night off from the kids!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel is excellent, so is the service and the breakfast is amazing. The only issue I had is that the location on Google map (I booked through Agoda) showed it is in Gigiri, when in fact it is at least a 20 minute drive from that location. This needs to be rectified.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels

Address: Limuru Road,, Limuru, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Limuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury and relaxation in the heart of Africa at Sovereign Suites. This five-star Kenya boutique hotel features just 14 suites, ensuring that each guest will have personalized service and feel completely at home. Set on six private, well-manicured acres of land, the property features a large lake and possible animal sightings in the morning. Sovereign Suites is an aristocratic Colonial Building on 6 acre land with two acre private fish dam surrounded by lush Tea and flower farms. The hotel marks the debut of a new luxury hotel under the Preferred Hotels - Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.