We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique and cozy~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot No. 166/5 - Limuru Road, Limuru, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Limuru
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Antique and cozy~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Compare to the price, the service and facilities are very satisfying. Especially the place is very calm and clean. You can also enjoy swimming pool and gym for exercise. Dont worry about eating too much :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
11
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Everything about the Sovereign Suites was amazing.

The rooms were gorgeous and so unique. Our suite was perched right above the forest. We watched the sheep and listened to exotic birds.
The food and service was outstanding. Our room was spotless.
We loved that manager and staff. Highly recommend for conference and wedding.
I would recommend The Sovereign Suites to anyone who wants to find something fabulous and unique.

Thank you.

Kenneth Jang From Zambia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My fiance and I booked well in advance to try out this hotel for our dream honeymoon the evening of our wedding. The hotel was paid for in advance. They were also notified of our plans to marry earlier that day. While I was at the alter, I received a call from Sovereign Suites explaining they were cancelling our reservation for the opportunity to make more money hosting Kenyan government officials. After explaining that I was in the process of getting married and asking Sovereign Suites to contact me via SMS or email, the hotel proceed to call me several times.

Sovereign Suites offered to switch my wife and I to the Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi. As an apology, we were told we were being given the honeymoon suite. When we arrived at the Intercontinental, we were informed that Sovereign Suites never made the booking. After two hours of being "sorted" we were led to a standard room. Although Intercontinental hotel staff were helpful, they apologized and explained that Sovereign Suites does not want to offer the upgrade we were promised. Upgrading rooms at our own expense was however an option.

We wasted another hour or two talking with Sovereign Suites on the telephone. Their only other solution was to put us up in some of their hotels in Naivasha that were less expensive than Sovereign Suites and much less luxurious "at no additional cost to us." To make a long story short, my wife spent a good portion of the day crying and we slept in our own bed on our wedding night (with the cousins in the next room). We were told to expect a refund in 10-30 days "at no additional cost to us." This hotel was a major disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had our conference(total 30pax) in the Sovereign Suit during 7days. All of our participants were satisfied with the Sovereign Suit(Food and Service). In particular, Lunch and Dinner Buffets are really delicious. Conference Rms and Hotel Rms(Junior Suit, Presidential Suit, Penta House,Family Suit) are so classic. You never regret to select the sovereign Hotel.

Room Tip: The sovereign suit is near to the village market. It takes 10-15mins by taxi. You can shop in the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel building is amazing. The staff at the hotel are really friendly. The hotel is the former house of the head of the secret service and feels like a European castle. I really wanted to give this place five stars, but I think they are trying to over promise and they are under-delivering.

The food and wine menu look amazing, (it talked of foams, lemon grass brulees, bottles of bordeaux however much of it is was not available and our eggs at breakfast were not cooked and inedible. There was no hot water on the first night, and the television didn't work. We booked and paid through Agoda then got to the hotel and were told we had an extra charge that was unexpected. We asked for directions from the hotel, but they were misleading and it was extremely difficult to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was probably one of the most splendid hotels I have ever been too. It truly is palatial!!!
The hotel is magnificent, just breathtaking to look at, the suites are gorgeous, clean and massive you feel like royalty. The food is also sublime; our breakfast was just exquisite, well cooked and a fantastic selection. The service was also very good; the hotel staff were attentive and eager to please. There is nothing i can say that will do it justice, for the price you pay, you get an amazing experience, and the experience felt like I was living in my very own palace. Extremely serene, the ambiance is perfect and situated in gorgeous grounds. A must is having breakfast outside on the balcony and taking in the view.

There is very little you can fault Sovereign Suites with, for me it is the only place I would stay in Nairobi, but the only negative thing is that it is far from the city centre. About a 30- 40 minute drive by taxi, and for anyone who has stayed in Nairobi you will find for a tourist, taxis do not come cheap. It is also difficult for taxi's to find the place, as it is situated on a very long road which caused a lot of confusion for the drivers. Feedback I would give to the hotel is to try and get the destination more referenced to local taxis.

Other than this- absolutely fantastic, please don’t hesitate to book this hotel it truly is gorgeous and honestly worth what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel provides a serene environment for a business trip! The suites are cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels starched meticulously. The artistry in the hotel, no words can describe it. The rooms are warm and are equipped with everything one can require. The food is amazing! Never had any discomfort. Thanks. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels

Address: Plot No. 166/5 - Limuru Road, Limuru, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Limuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Limuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury and relaxation in the heart of Africa at Sovereign Suites. This five-star Kenya boutique hotel features just 14 suites, ensuring that each guest will have personalized service and feel completely at home. Set on six private, well-manicured acres of land, the property features a large lake and possible animal sightings in the morning. Sovereign Suites is an aristocratic Colonial Building on 6 acre land with two acre private fish dam surrounded by lush Tea and flower farms. The hotel marks the debut of a new luxury hotel under the Preferred Hotels - Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.